Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My review.

Posted Nov 25, 2012
This hotel was very comfortable and had a home away from home feel to it. I would definately stay there again and I would recommend it to a friend. My only complaint, perhaps was that I was up much earlier than the staff expects most people to rise and I had to adjust (delay) my schedule in order to take advantage of the breakfast service. On the last day, I simply had to skip it.
5 out of 5
by mike

next time im getting cookies.

Posted Nov 21, 2012 on Hotels
We enjoyed ourselves so much. The hospitality was perfect. I wholeheartedly regret not eating the fresh backed goods or breakfast. also, next time we will bring swimming suits and get a Jacuzzi. *there are wild deer and foxes in the area,which is awesome. Pretty big change from the wild Chihuahuas of san Antonio.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Neat Little Place

Posted Nov 21, 2012 on Hotels
I didn't spend much time in the area, but it seemed like this would be the perfect place to bring the family. We've got it penciled in for next spring.
5 out of 5
by Relocating to TX

Friendly people - Nice place

Posted Nov 18, 2012 on Hotels
Good food for breakfast. Easy to get around. No food at the tavern on the property so if you want to eat other than breakfast, you'll have to go out. Internet access is a real problem. We went to the Starbucks. Fold out couch is very uncomfortable so don't count on using it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fall Getaway!

Posted Nov 7, 2012
We had a very private relaxing room, a shower and a little more lighting would have made it perfect. Breakfast was great every morning. Beautiful grounds and close to everything, just outside of town, very quite. We would visit again!
2 out of 5
by Bonnie & Linda from Dallas, TX, USA

Disappointing

Posted Oct 30, 2012
We were disappointed with the cabin. There was no shower in the room and that was not disclosed in the description. The cabin had a window unit for A/C and heat and it was out of reach to adjust and missing nobs on the controls. The front desk sold wine but there were no wine glasses in the rooms. The TV was the size of a postage stamp and about a 1985 vintage. I will give management credit that they upgraded us to a two bedroom condo across the street after we voiced our disappointment in the amenities, especially at the price we paid. Breakfast was also the equivalent of a Holiday Inn Express buffet - uninspiring. We definitely will be back to visit Gruene but will find somewhere else to stay - very disappointing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steph & Tony from Katy, TX

Immaculate grounds and lovely room.

Posted Oct 8, 2012
Great location just a bit down the road from downtown Gruene. We stayed in the garden room. It was very cozy and quiet. The grounds were immaculate. The hot breakfast buffet was delicious! We will be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Sep 11, 2012 on Hotels
Homestead Inn is a great place to stay. I have stayed here twice and both times was a great experience. The service and free breakfast is awesome. Eggs, potatoes, bacon, fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, toast, home made biscuits, and coffee. Seconds is a must!! The tavern on premises is very convenient. Live music and great drinks. Homestead Inn is close to everything. I will continue to stay here when in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chrissy from Texas

A little piece of heaven

Posted Aug 20, 2012
Pros: Room was great,food was very good,landscape wonderful.
Cons: tavern was not smoke free,and butted up to pool.
Location: peaceful
This place was very nice and relaxing,it was nice that it was smoke free. The only problem was the tavern that was on the grounds,was not smoke free,and the swimming pool was right there so when the door opened the smoke was strong around the pool. I would recommend the inn to anyone,the owners were very nice and pleasant people.
5 out of 5
by Scott & Kathy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2012 on Hotels