Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy Country Stay

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Loved the home feeling, very friendly staff. Rooms were cozy and loved the jacuzzi bath tub.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view!

Posted Jul 15, 2016
We stayed in the Medina room and had a beautiful view! The free breakfast was one I would have paid for. I did not seem like a "free" breakfast b/c it was great! Wide variety of a light breakfast! Room was comfortable with cold AC which comes in very handy in the summer. Beds very comfy with plenty of pillows. Great location just a few blocks from eating and shopping in old town Gruene. Only one small problem, be sure and wear shoes on the balcony. I got a splinter in my foot from being barefoot. Overall, great place! We would stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from College Station TX

Great place!

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Great views, convenient location, excellent breakfast!
Cons: The creaking floor and bed, but I don't know how that can happen.
Location: It's a ten minute walk to Gruene Hall on Gruene Road.
This hotel has a great location for visiting historic Gruene! It's within easy walking distance to restaurants, Gruene Hall,etc. There is a river view in each room and a path that leads from the hotel to the river. There are complimentary snacks available in the lobby 24/7 and a lovely continental breakfast that included delicious breakfast tacos. Our only complaint was the noise in the room. The floor in the room creaked horribly and every time I took a step, I was worried that the people under us were being kept awake. In addition, the bed, while lovely, also creaked horribly with every turn. There is simply no way that one person can move in the bed without waking the other one. All in all, I would stay here again. It is a terrific place that the owners take great pride in making very comfortable and hospitable.
4 out of 5
by James from CYPRESS, TX

GRUENE RIVER INN

Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
JUST A NIGHT'S GETAWAY FOR MY WIFE AND ME IN AN HISTORIC LITTLE TOWN. HOTEL STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. SIMILAR TO A BED AND BREAKFAST.
5 out of 5
by Darcie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Darla

Perfect River Getaway

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was excellent. The staff was welcoming and our room was ready early. Our room was so cute and met our needs completely. The location was perfect. Beautiful view of the river and half a mile from Gruene Hall and all the shops. Snacks were set up in the main room 24/7. Breakfast was set up buffet style with 3 different kinds of breakfast tacos. Just what we needed to start our day. Would return to this hotel for sure.
5 out of 5
by Julie from Leander, TX

All the comforts of Home..

Posted Jul 4, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time in Gruene. There is plenty to see and do. This hotel was very clean and they put out a terrific breakfast buffet with breakfast tacos, fresh waffles, cereal, yogurt and pastry. They even provided cake and fruit for snacks. We were made to feel very welcome in their home. They are about a 15 minute walk from the center of Gruene.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Granbury, Texas

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was good and room was clean.
Cons: Mattress!!!!!!
Location: All activities were close.
Need to update mattress's. Spent two horrible nights trying to sleep.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Nice hotel neare the river.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Fond of the balcony.
Location: Close to Gruene Hall and a bit in the other direction – a wonderful bar called "The Gruene Cricket Pub".
Wasn't there much, but the staff was super friendly.
5 out of 5
by Carol from Texas

Wonderful

Posted Jan 2, 2014