Ratings based on 541 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
39% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will never stay at a red roof inn again

Posted Oct 13, 2017
I understand this hotel did not have a very high rating but I knew I really just wanted a bed to sleep on in a clean room, I didn't need amenities. Our first room they gave us smelled very musty. We were visiting for a wedding and the bride had also booked a room at this red roof for the band playing the wedding. I asked band if their room smelled strange as well and they said "yes we just got our room switched. You should do the same". I asked the front desk agent for a new room, she asked to come smell the room. She came and smelled said room and proceeded to ask us to wait 1 hour and then come back to her if it still smelled. We went to lunch and came back about 2 hours later and the room was still very musty so I go to the front desk and she gives us the keys to room right next to our first room. I go check it out and it has the same musty smell and I immediately return to the front desk. The agent had to keep calling her manager and ask what to do. I was then told we could pay to upgrade to a different room or get a refund. The front desk agent showed us one more room and it finally had no smell! But I was asked to pay an extra $15.00 a night for this room even though the 2 rooms before were unacceptable. I gave the manager of the hotel a call and he was very rude, saying "you must be used to staying at Hilton's" and he was of no help. I have never had such an awful and rude experience. I work hard for my money and I find a clean room is not too much to ask for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico

cheap hotel, low confort

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Cons: the pool needs to much maintenance
Location: many restaurants, a Walmart store, a HBE store, Starbucs café. the location is rally good
I spent 8 days in this hotel, and is incredible to see a pool with green water, all the hallways smell not good. the towels are a shame. the food is not the best, I think that for the hotel rates is not so bad
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Not Non-Smoking

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: nothing
Location: noisy, near freeway. not too far from the Oktoberfest, landa park, comal river for tubing, etc.
requested non-smoking room, they gave me a room that reeked of smoke, and was in the building with all the other smoking rooms, then refused to move me without an additional fee to a non-smoking room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from beaumont

Awful

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Literally the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Filthy room, unchanged sheets, bugs, awful smell. The lady at the front desk was nice but the overall room condition was miserable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tx

Full of Trash and Not as Advertised

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Horrible and we stayed less than three hours! At 1St everything seemed normal. When given our room, we had to go all the way to the back of the building. Piles of trash everywhere in the parking lot. The room stank of cigarette smoke. We had reserved a NS room, but quickly found that all of the rooms around us were smoking and it was seeping through the walls and into the vents. When I called to the front desk to ask about switching rooms, he gave me the same option - another NS room surrounded by smoking rooms and upstairs, but said he'd try not to rent those tonight. I declined saying that wouldn't be any better and my son is disabled, so we can't do stairs. We decided to try to stick it out, while looking for other rooms locally. There wasn't anything we could afford at that time, but the smoke got so bad, we called back to ask him to find a room nowhere near the Smoking rooms. He began to raise his voice and asked me why I didn't take the first deal. I wasn't going argue with him so we packed the truck back up and went to the front desk hoping for the best. The manager would not help. After only a few minutes of asking him to please give us a true NS room, he kept raising his voice, accused me of wanting a room for free, and then refused to listen anymore saying that they couldn't stop guests from smoking in their rooms and that he didn't want us there anymore. He promised a full refund but after 10 days! So disappointed and angry!
3 out of 5
by Whitney

Pleasant enough but couldn't sleep

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
The young man who assisted in check in was friendly, the room was clean, the stairwell wasn't very clean with trash and debris everywhere. The free breakfast wasn't very appetizing and there were multiple other guests who I assume were intoxicated up all night yelling and making noise
3 out of 5
by Eddie

Okay review.

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Breakfast is very minimal with cereal, bread and rolls. A bowel of oranges or some bananas would add a little touch.
3 out of 5
by jose

Skinny joe

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
I was alright
1 out of 5
by daniel

Mold infested

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
There is black mold on the ceiling shower in room 312. The ac does not blow cold air. The toilet is to close to the wall causing the toilet paper holder to stab into your leg.
4 out of 5
by Justin

Very satisfied

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
It was a one night stay ,but my family and I enjoyed it.we would stay again next time in town.