Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Very nice location, friendly and lay back staff. Strongly recommend this resort/location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Relaxing tropical holiday

Posted Jan 7, 2017
The resort has tranquil gardens and sits on a shallow bay with clear blue waters and white sand. Lots of activities are available and free. We took the kayak a couple of times and went exploring. Paddling straight out and around the left bend we found lots of turtles. We also visited the natural pools and saw fish, coral and a Moray eel. Recommend the boat trip though upi and walk through forest The food is a little pricey (we brought snacks, cheese and wine over with us on the plane Nouméa). Airport transfers were quick and easy. Great staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AMAZING.

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
AMAZING.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palmerston North, NZ

Simply the best

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Wotif
Location: Excellent variety of water and land activities available. Lovely pool to cool off in or simply relax next too.
Wonderful resort, spotlessly clean and tidy with helpful and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing beach holiday

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful 5 nights at this resort. The location is amazing, and in the end we never even left the resort (apart to walk to the Natural Pool, which is stunning)! The breakfast is excellent. The resorts facilities are great and it didn't feel overcrowded. There are a number of beach lounges and pavillions available to the guests, and there were always some available for us to use. Likewise with the beach facilities (sea kayaks, peddle boats, paddle boards, badminton etc). We saw a number of turtles and even dolphins in the bay out the front of the resort. The meals for lunch and dinner aren't cheap, however the quality is excellent. We didn't have a beachfront or riverfront bungalow (just a standard garden-view room); however it was great and we didn't spend a huge amount of time in the room anyway. We would definitely recommend this resort for a relaxing, romantic getaway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Staff very helpful and friendly. So much to do for kids and adults. The most beautiful setting.
Plenty to do at your doorstep in a very beautiful place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Central Coast NSW

The best we saw on the Isle of Pines

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: comfortable and spacious accommodation. Good restaurant and pleasant service.
Cons: Prices of food and drinks are too high and could be moderated
Location: Beautiful location and great for swimming and beach activities and walks.
The Isle of Pines is a quiet place. The Meridian is a most pleasant hotel and beautifully situated. I feel it is the best place to stay on the island. The natural aquarium is a 20 minute walk and is particularly lovely for swimming and snorkeling. The food and drinks are expensive and taxis are very expensive. However, it is a special place and great for swimming and relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, stunning outlook.

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Lovely hotel. Stunning location close to the natural pool and right on the beach.
Cons: Our bath was not as clean as I would have liked on arrival. The restaurant and bar service was quite slow.
Location: Natural pool is one of the most stunning places I have even been.
Lovely hotel. Stunning location close to the natural pool and right on the beach. Meals and drinks were expensive but that was to be expected given the remote location and lack of viable alternatives. A bit of a trek from the Intl Airport in Noumea with all the transfers. Difficult to get good information on what connections work and what don't from the staff via email prior to the trip. That said the staff were great in organizing the transfers between airports and to/from the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

No swimming allowed.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Restaurant food was nice. Bed was very comfortable.
Cons: Tell people in advance if you plan to close the pool. It's a big selling point for most hotels. Make sure all staff know the same information.
My girlfriend and I had planned a relaxing weekend away and booked a last minute trip to New Caledonia. We wanted a place with a great pool as we had planned a photo shoot for a new business. Knowing nothing about the place, we booked flights and this hotel, only to realise the hotel was not on the mainland. I called to see how best to get here, and the staff were helpful and gave me instructions on how to fly down. They offered to transfer one night to Le Meridien Noumea so we could make our international flight home, which was nice. When we got to the hotel, we were notified the pool was closed for maintenance for the entire duration of our stay, and had been closed when we booked. We were thoroughly disappointed. We could no longer do the photoshoot we had planned. Some staff were friendly, and others not so much. Some days we were allowed drinks on the beach and other days we weren't. Before transferring up to Le Meridien Noumea I asked at front desk if the pool was open at the other hotel, which they told me it was. When we arrived I asked again, and was again told the pool was open. We got up the next morning and looked out the window, and the pool had been emptied and now this pool was closed for maintenance. We flew out later that day, disappointed that we couldn't swim for the entire of the trip, especially considering the hotel would have been aware of the maintenance before the trip was booked and didn't think to tell us. Definitely not a 5 star experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Le Méridien Ile des Pins team, Hotel Management
Bonjour Lance, Thank you for sharing your experience with the Expedia community. We are sorry about this misunderstanding. Our pool closures are always noticed early on our websites, online travel agency and booking confirmation. Once again we are sorry about this average experience and please do not hesitate to contact us directly next time you visit our hotels. A bientôt!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Island serenity, stunning location, great resort

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Included use of kayaks, paddle boats, snorkelling gear and even dvd's. Included breakfasts-delicious with variety and great freshly baked french goods
Location: Ile de Pins is stunningly beautiful. The short forest walk to the Piscine Naturalle was lovely and provided good snorkelling.
We had a wonderful family holiday here. It truly is the closest you can get to paradise- peaceful, relaxing, stunning natural location and beautiful resort. We stayed in beach view bungalows that were beautifully appointed and well serviced. Staff looked after us well from the moment of landing on the island, with transfers to the resort to leaving. The resort pool is lovely. Tour of the island was great. Happy hour provided excellent cocktails at good prices, the dinners were good but a little expensive. The overall stay isn't cheap, but well worth it if you want a luxurious, relaxing holiday away from the noise and bustle of city life.