Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Dan

Beautiful old property

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful property, rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Did not get to use the pool as it was school vacation week and it was filled with kids making it tough to relax there. Minor issues-walls are fairly thin so anyone in next room holding a conversation is like they are right there with you, same with people in the halls. Beyond that, the hotel is beautiful, great bar and restaurant, grounds are very nice and the area is incredible.
5 out of 5
by Roger

Nice weekend winter getaway in Portsmouth

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Went to Wentworth when it was worth it (ie during the half priced winter season). Would give it 5 stars for everything (except maybe value). The room was excellent and the views SPECTACULAR. Very comfortable bed, quiet room, digital climate control, great/friendly service, great food (great local seafood, and great lower priced flatbread), nice pool and fitness center. Fun to wander around the historic hotel and see the old photos and postcards. Can walk to the nearby marina and also over to the Fort Stark State Historic Site and its stone jetty. Other sights worth visiting on the island include Great Island Common, and Fort Constitution/lighthouse. Sights off the island include Odiorne State park and the Urban Forestry Center (which has some cross country skiing trails along salt marsh flats and an arboretum with an amazing Witch-Hazel tree that blooms in the mid-late February snow.) If you like shopping then be sure to visit the myriad of yuppie shops in nearby Portsmouth (but be prepared for slow driving on the narrow city roads and lack of available parking spots). While your wife shops, check out the USS Albacore museum, the Thirsty Moose Tap House with its 116 beers on tap, and the amazing mineral/fossil collections at “Scallops” and “the Village Silversmith” (the latter if you are allergic to incense.)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prestigious property

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Extraordinary! Beautiful property full of history.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Great, hotel with a great staff. Definitely suggest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
We loved our stay and would stay again! The only downside is that both times we have stayed here through Hotels.com we were given a room with a view of the roof with exhaust fans and mechanicals! Terrible for the cost of rooms st the property! They did move us but said " someone has to get those rooms" and only moved us to a slightly better room with an it was an awkward layout for a room!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel/ OK rooms

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Orbitz
Hotel was beautiful as was location. Hotel rooms were just OK. Was given a terrible room by elevators (hotel was clearly barely occupied so it's not like they didn't have other rooms). Was too tired to complain or ask to be relocated since we arrived late. One pull down shade was broken and didn't hang properly but even the working one did not block out all the bright lights shinning into hotel. Hotel needs to install drapes to pull over shades - very difficult to sleep in a room that was SO bright all night. Beds were comfortable and room was in decent condition overall. staff was pleasant and breakfast was nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Directions to Hotel could be I.proved

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was great.. considering age and wonderful refurbishing it was very comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, great location, room was small.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We only stayed 2 nights so we didn't need much for the room, but our room was tiny.
5 out of 5
by Daryl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Old world charm with modern amenities.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
The property is beautiful with gardened grounds and water views all around the property. Spa was small but nicely appointed with an outdoor enclosed hot tub exclusive to the spa, a sauna and access to the indoor pool. The service and massage were excellent with a lot of options to choose from. The outdoor pool overlooks a stunning bay. The area had food and drink service, a hot tub and an adult only lounge space. My young son had a blast in the pool! We stayed in a 4th floor room at the front of the hotel with lovely water views. Latitudes the restaurant overlooking the bay was good but our service was slow. The breakfast was well worth it! We had a voucher for the buffet but we chose to skip it and applied the $41 value to order from the menu. Portsmouth is close by so I would recommend grabbing dinner off campus. We also traveled to North Hampton State Beach which was not too busy and had great waves - it's a surfers destination. Overall great visit - our first and we'll be back!