Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Very friendly place to stay

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Situation , staff banana bread !!! Food was very good !,
Location: Defence colony is a residential area , quiet and safe and close to metro and local markets etc
Staff and owner Were fantastic and nothing too much trouble!! Several single girls staying and the place felt very safe and welcoming . The ground floor room could be a bit noisy and my father could have done with a bigger bed as both of us had twin rooms. Ask for a double bed !! Great rooftop dining view !,, Not far from lots of places to see !,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Havana, Cuba

A generally positive experience.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: The neighbourhood is residential and not especially close to the centre of the city. But this is really a blessing as the general context is quiet.
The room was not especially spacious but spacious enough for two. The bathroom was very large. But the overall comfort was just delightful as were the staff and the food at the roof top restaurant. The owner is a gentleman of the old school and ensures that one is well treated but it does not seem to take much effort as all the staff are keen to assist with anything. We could basically ask for anything from railway bookings to a taxi and it would be swiftly taken care of. Very pleased indeed and will be heading back there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarajevo, Bosnia

Friendly atmosphere and quality stay

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Convenience, good neighborhood.
Location: This is close to Defence Colony Market, where you can find plenty of good restaurants, dessert shops and regular food shops
Colonel's Retreat is a charming guesthouse. We had a nice, quiet room, fairly basic but it served the purpose. The guesthouse was convenient to our needs and in a good neighborhood. The Colonel was there and was quite a gentleman, as are the owners, his child (daughter?) and spouse. The common areas were comfortable as well as offering good meeting space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Homely Stay

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Personal and homely feeling of the place. Home cooked , Honest food.
Cons: The shared areas/leaving rooms -notices should up asking people to keep loud voices to a minimum in the evenings.People want to sleep,...
Location: Good location, near the metro station .
Very nice , welcoming and homely place. Staff and owners could not do enough for you . Excellent food .Well connected and 5 minutes away from the metro station. The only minor criticism is that there should be a sign in the lounges stating that when arriving late or sitting in the shared leaving rooms,people should be aware others are sleeping /resting ,as to keep loud talking to the minimum... I would go back if I ever go back to Delhi .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean Comfortable B&B

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Colonels Retreat is a small comfortable clean Bed and breakfast located in a quite neighbourhood of Defence colony. I found this property is bit difficult to find especially when you are checking at night, suggest to display at least the hotels name outside. All staffs are very polite and helpful especially Mr. Kamalesh. Breakfast is good fresh but monotonous if you are staying for more than 2-3 days, it would be nice if little more verity can be added. Overall a comfortable stay and like to repeat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice breakfast

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
We were kept up all night by noise from the kitchen next door and staff talking and moving about and loudly closing doors. We moved out the next day and booked another hotel for the rest of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016
great hotel 7 minutes walk from the Lajpat Nagar metro station
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place in Delhi

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
This place is lovely, quaint rooftop dining and bar. Great staff. One in my group dropped her forex envelop with all her cash upon arrival and discovered it only in the morning when she awoke. We asked the staff fearing the worst and to our great surprise, they found it, kept it and returned it intact. Rare.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chennai

subpar

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
A rather subpar place. Just go to an actual hotel.
1 out of 5
by Chris from Toronto

Inconsistent

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
A good place to stay, but the more experience you have with them the more you notice gaps and flaws - the inconsistent and there is one supervisor in particular who drives the other staff nuts and guests as well. He doesn't listen, contradicts what other staff promised & even charged me for extra drinking water. The breakfast menu should also be updated - it's uninteresting and the banana bread on a daily basis is just unhealthy. better Indian flatbread options would also be nice - the oil laden offer now available isn't an option for people with a healthy lifestyle.