Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Funky heritage hotel interesting furniture and scu

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Good quiet location pretty hotel lots of paintings and statues we stayed here twice in a couple of weeks ( flying back to Delhi) room 102 seemed like it hadn't been used and the TV didn't work but room 304 much better cleaner - not sure if this is correct but was charged an extra 3% over Expedia price on my confirmation email for paying by credit card overall though good place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from sydney

Charming and heaps of character!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The rooftop terrace!
Cons: It was a little dirty in places and a little noisy.
Location: The shopping and eateries were great if you are cool with it being a little rough and tumble.
I love this hotel due to the character of the hotel and the excellent rooftop terrace. Neighbourhood was cool with lots of interesting food and shops.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Please ignore my ratings

Posted Dec 9, 2015
We booked but did not stay as we felt uncomfortable in the area which the hotel was located.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

right in the center of Delhi

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: quiet, good access to shopping / restaurants pleasant people run this place, polite, courteous I felt safe and we were 2 women travelling alond
Cons: comfortable beds, I found in India the beds were all pretty hard
Location: great location to experience the true India, easy access to anything you want to do
a good location to experience the real Delhi, right in the center of it. For the price, it is a good option The staff do a good job of accommodating your needs the food is good and reasonably priced I overall enjoyed my stay here and would come back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable...

Posted Jan 16, 2015
But as usual, indian forget there are clients and use to make noise all the time. They also should think.about replacing tv screen by flat ones....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Oasis in Delhi madness

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Two female travelers first time in India ....airport pick up ,very helpful staff ,traditional hotel with colourful rooms clean comfy bed,tasty meals up on rooftop more than happy with this hotel choice we even arranged a driver guide over our stay to see the sights reasonable price ...do not be put off by the back street situation please or you will miss out !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Small oasis in centre of city a total surprise !!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Do not be put off by the street where this little traditional hotel lies you will miss a treat ....the Jyoti has tradition and a staff who are genuinely helpful .Clean room all you need in it the price is fair and meals on the roof area tasty .....nothing ever was an effort .We two women travellers felt safe here and completely recommend it :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good downtown location

Posted Mar 11, 2013
Pros: style
Location: quite backstreet
very intersting and pleasant furniture and architecture style; nice rooftop restaurant staff very helpful but sometimes a bit disorganized
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful oasis in delhi

Posted Dec 6, 2012
Pros: beautiful oasis!
Cons: A"travel agent" of dubious honesty sent to "help us"
Location: intense! Lots of dust, hustlers , cows.
An oasis in the Delhi craziness. As a first visit to India, touched down at airport and was relieved that arrangements to pick us up were reliably done. Hotel had good safe food both Indian and western. Good advice was given when needed. The hotel is a 20 minute walk to train station or less by motor. The train station is the only, only, only place to buy tickets. Accept none of the many street offers for travel service. Proximity to station helps with next leg of journey. The hotel makes for a good stop for rest of journey.also the hotel is beautiful, with graceful arches around a courtyard, antique lanterns and a pretty rooftop lounge with colorful cushions and chill vibe. .
2 out of 5
by Pamela from Minneapolis, MN, USA

Cultural reality check

Posted Feb 14, 2012
Pros: Staff were kind and welcoming
Cons: Could use some updating. To the bathrooms, window slats open to the cold air made for a cold shower. To the doors, a better locking system.
Location: Fresh off the plane...frightening. People and horses sleeping in the street. The garbage and dirt road was dirty...but again, not untypical for Delhi
The hotel is in the heart of Delhi in an area that a typical american tourist will find frightening when fresh off the plane. That was our initial reaction. Upon further experience, it is not all that different than most streets in Delhi. I chose this hotel for location, as Mapquest determined it's location was blocks from the Nizamuddin train station. This in fact was not correct. The hotel itself is old and, again, not up to usual american standards. The rooms and linen were clean.The bathroom was open style with shower over a drain in the floor, open to sink and toilet. The staff was very kind and helpful with our needs. They tried to help when my electrical adapter did not work with the outlets and were a good resource for information. Rooms are locked from the inside with bolts, and outside with a beautiful padlock. It was fine for the one night stay for us, but if you are looking for something at least as good as say a Motel 6 level, this isn't the place. But if you're willing to take on a cultural adventure...a welcome to Delhi cultural reality check, this is a good start.