Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good service at a first class hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
You have to pay a lot but you will find everything you need as a tourist. It is close to CP for easy walking downtown and you can hire a car and driver for extended trips. We hired a car for 4 days with a driver to see the Golden Triangle, it was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by VWanchoo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am delighted to read your wonderful review of your recent stay at the Imperial! We value your patronage and look forward to welcome you back soon! Warm regards, Vijay Wanchoo Sr. EVP & GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful colonial hotel in the centre of New Delh

Posted May 2, 2017
Elegant blast back into the past, beautifully restored and extremely comfortable. One of the best hotels I have stayed in in the world. Only down side food & drink a bit on the pricey side for India! Overall fantastic!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by vwanchoo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am delighted to read your wonderful review of your recent stay at the Imperial! We value your patronage and look forward to welcome you back soon! Warm regards, Vijay Wanchoo Sr. EVP & GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Ambience and staff

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Great location after having spent several days away from Delhi and now starting Golden triangle Odyssey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond Va

Over the top

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The staff and ambience make the Imperial a truly unique and special place in a city of over 25 million
5 out of 5
by John

A very happy returning guest.....

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
I have always regarded the Imperial as an outstanding hotel, and this was my sixth visit from New Zealand since 2003. Truly one of the best hotels in the world. Just look at the photos on their website. The interior decoration, the restaurant, the staff and their uniforms, breakfast on the terrace, and the service provided by the staff is always outstanding. One negative is the cost of ancillary services. I got a quote for a car and driver for 8 days from conceirage, and it was prohibitively expensive. I subsequently booked a car and driver from another travel agent in the nearby Connaught Place commercial area for less than half the price. I would thoroughly recommend The Imperial to anyone going to Delhi, and I will certainly be returning. Furnishings and décor from the old English colonial era. it cant be beaten.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel excellent location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and attitude of the staff (-other than those in the restaurants).
Cons: Food quality, presentation, service need a serious uplift.
Location: Excellent location with lots to see and do.
Very clean and efficient hotel. Convenient for main sites in Delhi. Service and food quality not up to the exceptional standards of the rest of the hotel. I ate in the Spice Route and Indian restaurants. Food taste, presentation and service levels poor for a hotel of this standard. Not only was my main dish in the Indian restaurant poor they forgot to deliver the yogurt I asked for with my meal. Breakfast buffet was ok. Refresh / refills in the indian section was not always up to scratch. Waiting staff did not ask if the available choices were ok or they there is anything else they could get for me. I did ask specially as for aloo partha one morning and this was delivered. By contract at the Oberoi I was asked about my preferences and needs the first day I went in and asked if I had any specific requests for the following days (-I stayed there 4 days). I also has a Spa treatment. Average experience at best. I asked for a massage treatment. The routine / experience was not explained and I was left wondering at the offset what the etiquette was. Treatment itself was average at best.
5 out of 5
by Svetlana

Classic.

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is absolutely epic. When you are within these walls, you feel like a character from an Agatha Christie book. Absolute luxury and quiet dignity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Quiet, relaxing, beautiful.
Cons: The hairdryer provided in the room was weak.
This hotel is incredible - beautifully designed and maintained, wonderful staff, absolute paradise. We stayed here for 2 nights as a relaxing end to our India trip and we were not disappointed. The hotel is set away from the roads so it is quiet and peaceful. The staff is very helpful and attentive - they let us check in early without hassle and the waitstaff in the restaurants are all excellent. Food is great, but it is expensive, so plan for that. High tea should not be missed. The Thai place in the hotel (The Spice Route) is supposedly one of the best restaurants in the world, but I thought it was just okay. That being said, I've spent time in Thailand so my standards for Thai food are pretty high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Imperial Hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: everything else about the hotel is fantastic
Cons: Booking information. Expedia need to make sure they have up to date information.
Disappointed. I booked a room for 4, but the room only had 3 beds. The hotel said they would charge to place a 4th bed in the room. This was not indicated at time of booking, a booking for 4 people expects 4 beds! The fabulous swimming pool, a feature of the hotel and main reason for booking, was closed for maintenance. This was not indicated on Expedia at time of booking, despite being a regular yearly occurrence. No compensation or other service was offered to make up missing bed or closed pool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels