Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Creaky bed

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Very nice lounge and dineing room , excellent food , pleasing staff .
Location: Close to amenities, nice view from hotel , lyndhurst close by .
Our room was quite basic , the bed looked very nice , but creaked getting in and out , complained to reception, was upgraded to a very nice room .otherwise all went well .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Andrew Foote FOH Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kitty Thank you for posting a review of your stay, your feedback allows us to improve the guests experience we offer our guests. The creaky bed will be being replaced soon and I am pleased that you enjoyed a better room. I apologise for the inconvenience of having to change rooms during your stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Over priced, would rather go back to The Pig hotel

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was decent, great selection of freshly cooked dishes & even my friend who requires a gluten free menu was happy with what was on offer.
Cons: ladies toilets/changing room area of the spa was disgusting! Towels left piled on the benches/floor, the bins overflowing used contents onto the floor
Location: Brockenhurst is a lovely village and central location to travel around the New Forest or down to the coast.
Stayed at the Balmer Lawn hotel this weekend, although it wasn't entirely a bad stay there are improvements that could be made for the price you pay. I had booked three standard rooms and we found one of the rooms that had been allocated was tiny in comparison to the other two rooms we had, we found it was actually priced online as a budget room. Went to the front desk to talk to the lady at reception and we were told my friends could not be moved to another room as the hotel was now full and the room had recently been renovated so had now been graded as a standard room and was no longer a budget room. The receptionist made no offer of any kind of refund, to refund the difference between the cost of the budget room and standard room or no gesture of maybe a free breakfast the next day. All we got was a cold, stand offish response of, 'you'll have to speak to my manager.' My friends had to call down to reception twice asking to speak to the manager and an hour later they finally spoke to him. He agreed to refund the difference and offered free breakfast too. With regards to my room, if you're paying almost £200 per night you don't expect to find a gaping hole in the window frame when the window is actually closed and locked. Had it been the height of winter or a stormy, windy night it would've been freezing in the room and the wind would be howling through the gap between the window frame and window. Also,there was a notice saying the air conditioning unit was out of order.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice area short walk to village Reception

Posted May 6, 2017
Reception staff very helpful and polite, drinks rather expensive, breakfast first day lukewarm but improved after informing staff the next day
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Andrew Foote FOH Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay and we have looked at how we can improve the breakfast service. I am delighted that the Reception Team could share their knowledge with you. We look forward to welcome you back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017
I am delighted you had a great stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back. Andrew Foote FOH Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portsmouth

Tired hotel.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Premium prices for an average hotel. Food was not exceptional!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Andrew Foote FOH Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jeremy Thank you for your feedback. I am slightly surprised that you chose to describe us as a tired hotel as all the public areas have been refurbished in the past two years, as have several guest rooms. Our balcony rooms are the next rooms to be refurbished, starting in June. I regret that the style of food we prepare was not too your taste, we have recently received a second rosette from the AA.
3 out of 5
by phil

Over priced

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
The bed was uncomfortable about 20 yrs old. The bathroom needed redoing and the size of the room was tiny. Breakfast wasn't included and we we're going to pay £15 each for it! This is a great location, but very over priced. Won't stop there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017
Dear Phil As a family owned business we always welcome hearing from our guests and never fail to acknowledge where we need to improve. However, it is essential that reviews are factual. The opening sentence is entirely without merit and we proudly publish pictures of all rooms on our website. We appreciate the enviable position we have achieved on this and other review forums due to our guests feedback. It is correct that we do not include breakfast on third party sites, but our partners do make this clear within their terms and conditions. I regret that you did not enjoy your stay, but remain confident that our hotel is a fantastic place to stay. Andrew Foote FOH Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Staff couldn't have been more helpful

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: None of my party had any complaint over the hotel!
The hotel itself has a lot of character and the staff went out of their way to assist.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic weekend away, at Balmer Lawns!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
We arrived on the Friday afternoon, they let us check in at 2.30pm even though check in isn't until 3pm as our room was ready! The room was great, very clean and we brought our dog with us, they even provided a dog bowl and food mat for him- which we where very impressed with.. the whole weekend was just suburb, all the staff where great and nothing was to much trouble, they even let us have breakfast in the lounge area so that our dog could sit with us. We would defiantly go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend cycling venue

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Excellent hotel, very convenient for cycle tracks and village. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good. Did not dine in evening but lunchtime bar snacks good. Have rebooked for a return visit next May.