Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting and beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Really enjoyed our 1 night, felt luxurious. Pool was great. Family Room was a good size. Was very family orientated when we went (which was great for us) so was lots of kids noise and kids crying at dinner. Only slight issue was bathroom in our room was a little grubby round the edges. Otherwise good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel close to Paultons Park

Posted May 28, 2017
Hotel with lots of character, family room we stayed in was spacious with high ceiling, air conditioning, making our stay v comfortable given a very warm day (26 degrees). Furnitures were basic but the entire room was very clean and bed was very comfortable. The power shower was just what I needed after the hours drive from London!
4 out of 5
by Ruth

Room with a view

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic view from room and excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Lovely hotel with very helpful staff.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff and surroundings.
Location: Quiet and peaceful location.
I enjoyed my overnight stay at the hotel. However Expedia did not inform me that there was a wedding being held. I received an email immediately after booking on the Expedia website from the hotel informing me of this fact. I did check in to the hotel on the following day and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and I had a very enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
by Timothy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Simon

Business trip

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is in lovely surroundings. Lady on reception was extremely friendly and helpful. Quick check in. My room was a little small but spotlessly clean. Needs some money spending on it though. Bathroom was tired, with an old shower. Hot and cold symbols had worn off the basin taps. Bar staff very friendly. Nice hotel but needs modernising.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ENGLAND

Worst experience of my life, will never go back

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Room was OK
Cons: Sack the manager and re-train the staff in customer care , how rude they were
Location: N/a
Rude, unbelievably slow service and ignorant management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel, too small bathroom

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: garden view, breakfast
Cons: cold swimming pool, so old blanket, very small bathroom
Location: good location near Lyndhurst city, Great for cycling around
The hotel is so nice, the garden is very well maintained, good breakfast for good price, the swimming pool was just a bit lukewarm (almost cold). The room (double small) was OK but the bathroom is too small as I never seem before, impossible to move inside.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Friendly hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Lovely hotel and very clean. Only problem was the guest beds in the family room kept on breaking and the room was a bit dated with paint flaking from the ceilings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern England

Pleasant overnight stay

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Staff very good and helpful. Intersting character... old country home, in private woods. Geologist Lyell spent much of his childhood here, we are told
Cons: Breakfast could have been a bit warmer.... DRIVEWAY... don't let it put you off! Watch bumps!
Location: Wonderful situation for anyone wanting to enjoy the New Forest. Winchester and Salisbury not far away. Choirs in term time. Beaulieu. SeaCity.
We went to Billy Elliot in Southampton and this was a perfect way to ease the journey home