Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Cons: Bathroom. Soundproofing rooms and general decor in separate block.
Unfortunately there when they had weddings so unable to access all areas and staff seemed uninterested in us as guests. Had expected to be in the actual hotel not in separate block which was noisy and needs attention. Breakfast self-service and quite poor. Cleaner still in room when we got there but was the friendliest member of staff we came across.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice on the surface.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Great location, rooms nice but could do with an update. Parts of the hotel are not up to 4 star standard in my opinion. This said we would stay again for the views and pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for New Forest and IoW

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Stayed 3 nights with a 4 year old and baby. The grounds are lovely with two great pools that children can use at set times. However it is a bit of an odd set up. The rooms in the main Manor House appear to all be time share only, so hotel guests have to stay in small chalet type rooms in blocks behind the main house. A bit like an up market Hiydehi. Travelling solo with small children always involves a bit of sacrifice where evening meals are concerned, but the only option here was the Steak House which is located in the leisure centre. The food was fine, but it does feel a bit like a food court. Have to say the staff are brilliant- so helpful with every request. Especially the lady who helped me get rid of a large hornet in our room. The room we stayed in was really hot with only a fan, and there's no view. The TVs seem really cheap and there's not much on offer from the free view package- I couldn't find ceebeebies. Overall I would say it's a nice place to stay but not as luxurious as initial appearances suggest. I booked very last minute so probably paid much more than if I'd booked in advance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Quite

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The Building .
Cons: Give value for money ,
Sadly not quite what we expected for the money we paid , over priced , tired rooms , uncomfortable bed and basic food . not one i would recommend , main building is imposing and magnificent which is the lure of the website photos other accommodation is motorway chalet style at main building prices , feel conned .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lost our booking. Ruined our trip.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
This hotel is farcical, night staff couldn't find our booking and sent us packing late at night to find b&bs. Having since investigated with booking.com who we made the booking with, this was entirely the hotels error. Totally rude, incompetent and lazy. Dont bother.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too disjointed to described as a hotel.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Cons: Sound proofing through locked doors that connect rooms in separate occupation.
Remote restaurant facilities and much trekking in open air is not conducive to quality accommodation suggested by high charge rates.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Not all facilities available, although advertised, with one restaurant closed early for the hotels convenience, and without advanced notice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bucks uk

perfect

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Beautiful hotel in gorgeous grounds seeping down to the sea. Photos don't do it justice. Cannot wait to go back, totally relaxed!
5 out of 5
by Gemma

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful character hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Beautiful building and lovely room. Breakfast was good.
Cons: Leisure facilities could be better maintained and cleaner. As spa breaks are offered we would expect a higher standard and an area to sit and relax.
Location: The area was beautiful, right on the edge of the New Forest and the sea.
Stayed for 2 nights with a friend for a relaxing break and found the hotel to be lovely. The staff were friendly and personal and the room facilities were good, with plenty of space and some extra touches like a Nespresso machine as well as kettle, or an ice bucket for our bottle of fizz! The rooms were away from the main building with the doors opening onto a courtyard so we did have to dodge the rain whenever we went out the door, but it wasn't far and the paths were well maintained. Main disappointment were the leisure facilities, which were ok but nothing luxurious, only 3 chairs around the pool and various things not working.