Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dog friendly

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Cons: Cleanliness of all rooms
Location: Boats to look at, at the bottom of the garden area.
I went with a dog. We were put in a room in the dog part of the hotel. The room looked like a typical double bedroom hotel room. Cleanliness was disappointing with filthy room door, dirty toilet lid, toothpaste left in sink and rubbish left under the bed. The view was part of a brick wall. Having a dog, we were put in different room for breakfast. Unfortunately, the room was filthy and tatty. cobwebs covered the windows and the carpet was covered in hairs and food, yet we were there early so first in the room. Breakfast was disappointing with only half an egg, half a tomato, one mushroom, one sausage, two pieces of bacon on fried bread. Staff managed to get two choices wrong to the two questions that were asked (e.g. tea and scrambled egg but got coffee and fried egg). There was some scrambled egg brought, but it took so long that we had eaten the rest of the breakfast. What you are getting for price is nothing special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel perfect location

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Staff, location. Beautiful old part of the hotel,gardens immaculate and led straight onto river walk,
Cons: Only 3 coffee pods for 2 people, and not enough milk ,mug overflowed with Americano No hygiene bags
Location: Excellent location to catch the Isle of Wight ferry next morning. Fascinating museum,history of Bucklers hard. Lovely river boat trip.
Staff very helpful, gave us a choice of eating places for breakfast so our dog could sit with us.
5 out of 5
by M J

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very happy with this hotel - good service great rooms. The only fault was the fact that breakfast is included in the room rate and this does not start until 8.00am - Not of help if you are on business and your first meeting is at 8.00am!!!
4 out of 5
by Graham

Great setting

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic setting, rooms in the modern extension very comfortable if a little on the small side. Dinner in the main restaurant first night - good but not cheap. Second night we had dinner in the bar which was disappointing. The moral of the story is bite the bullet and go for the restaurant. The breakfasts are excellent, by the way.
3 out of 5
by Shoko

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here as friends + kid in a family room over Easter. Pros: Service at any parts of the hotel was excellent and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent. Setting of the hotel/bar/restaurant is very pleasant, perfect for weekend getaway and family break. Building is old but kept it so clean and comfortable. Dinner was excellent too, but on a pricey side for being the country restaurant. (London price) Room facility is great with night cap, water, nespresso and Bose speaker. Cons: Despite the name of the room being Luxury, the bathroom was small with no bath tub, room size was ok but the extra bed was uncomfortable with the smallest and most compact type of folding bed. I felt this was a standard double size room in a country hotel, for the reason the price per room at £240 was a bit too hefty. As it's an old building, we could hear the squeak on the upper floor when guests walk which woke us up in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short break in the new forest

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Good hotel in a great location. Let down slightly by some of the staff. Very dog friendly!
4 out of 5
by Aubrey

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
We could only fault the Hotel on one area of cleanliness and that was the tables to eat off in the bar area.They are sticky and need stripping off and refurbing, If you put a swab of the surface under a microscope it would be alive. Apart from that its an enchanting place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Potten End

Excellent Hotel & Restaurant

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: can't see how you can improve on perfect
Location: The location is wonderful. it's quiet with lovely scenery to hand. The terrace overlooks the Beaulieu River - it's beautiful
A truly first class experience. We were holding a 70th birthday lunch for 18 people; the staff was absolutely superb. We (not them) had, shall we say some timing issues and overall sat down just about an hour later than booked -, entirely down to us. The staff coped with this so well - we were not rushed at all even though we overran the official end of lunch service time by way over an hour. Nothing was too much trouble - it was just so perfect; the sort of experience you hope for, but don't realistically expect. Well, at the Master Builder's expect it - they deliver it. I should add that the food was really excellent as well. Some of the group stayed at the hotel after lunch. The rooms are supremely comfortable and well appointed, and spotlessly clean. In summary, this is a really top rate venue in a glorious location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good hotel by the river

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Excellent breakfasts
Cons: Lighting in the rooms was poor. Food only ok in the bar
Location: Lovely walks
Relaxing location quiet in early March but I guess will be really busy later in the year.
1 out of 5
by Andrew

Not the place not to be a Wedding Guest

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
On arrival we were told the restaurant was closed and we would have to eat in the bar. This was due to a wedding at the hotel. There are no other places to eat in the village. Had we been told by Hotels.com at the time of booking there was a wedding we would not have booked. So for £175 we had the use of our room and the bar. When we ate in the bar it had a limited menu, the service was slow they were a "little bit busy". This was presumably because the one waiter was serving 2 tables. The fire was not lit in the eating area making the unattractive area even more miserable. Breakfast service was appalling, nobody to greet, long delay in receiving food and buffet was small and not replenished quickly enough. The attraction of this hotel is its historic setting and character. There are a limited number of rooms which meet fulfil this expectation. There is a block of rooms behind the main hotel. The room we had was in that block with a view of a grass bank below a raised driveway. The room itself was compact, decorated to a good standard with a comfortable bed similar to a Premier Inn. No hot water for a shower at 0930 on Sunday morning, having checked with reception there was no fault with the system. After complaining at check out some discounting was allowed. Overall not worth the money and a clear lack of custom care and concern by hotels.com and hotel.