Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Good hotel close to town centre

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Cons: Stairs narrow and steep. Not satisfactory for elderly or disabled users.
Location: Good centre for lots to do and see in the New Forest.
Generally good location but traffic into and through Lyndhurst is bad for much of the day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Not much, see review! Convenient location.
Cons: Almost everything! Too many bedrooms squashed into available space in a nutshell!
Location: Convenient town location, easy to find, parking on site. Easy access for New Forest and coast at Lymington.
Hotel facilities and rooms disappointing in spite of looking at reviews before booking.Scruffy leather settees in reception not good first impression. Wi-fi not working in bedrooms, first night in cramped bedroom in eaves overlooking garage next door, with smallest ensuite ever, not even room for wash basin, which was placed literally right next to bed. Asked for another room for second night which they provided without question, though even this one only marginally bigger and stlll with an ensuite fitted into a cupboard size space! Breakfast only average, and even table for 2 not big enough to have all the plates on. Very poor coffee! Staff pleasant and helpful however.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worthing

Very close to centre of Lydhurst

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Reception and dining area all very nice.When you go onto the accommodation corridor its like going back in time. Old pine furniture and decor. Our room was a family room all though we ask for a twin room. The bathroom was very small and needs a big update. Toilet bowl was stained and a mixer tap for a shower ? The breakfast was very nice and the free parking was good. The wi fi kept dropping out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Lovely stay at Penny Farthing Cottages

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and helpful, and being in the New Forest and close to the lovely surrounding villages was the perfect break for us.
Location: Lyndhurst is lovely, very busy, and is surrounded by many pretty villages, including Beaulieu - a must to visit. We particularly liked Brockenhurst.
We had booked a double room for a three night bed and breakfast stay, and requested one which would be easily accessible as my husband has difficulty in negotiating lots of stairs. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who told us we had been allocated a cottage as this was available and possibly more suitable regarding access. We were very happy with this, and couldn't have been more comfortable, as we were also able to do some catering for ourselves in this well equipped cottage. The breakfasts were freshly cooked and plentiful, no small portions served here! Altogether a very enjoyable, and much too short a stay. We must make a return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maidstone, kent.

Lovely hotel close to Lyndhurst.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff is everything!!
Cons: We was right up top so access was a bit tight so if you have dodgy knees make sure you book a room lower down!! Needs a chair in the room!
Location: Very handy base for visiting new forest, Lyndhurst being the centre of everything you Will probably need to see.
Very nice hotel and very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble for them, easy to find hotel and a nice walk into Lyndhurst with some good pubs. also breakfast was very good. Happy to recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from weston super mare

Lovely family friendly hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Stayed with my 6 year old and we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Friendly and courteous staff willing to help. Lovely room, clean and spacious. Great breakfast tailored to individual preferences nice menu for lunch and evening, we ate here on our second night. within walking distance of high Street. Only negative was it's on the main road which was busier than I expected so a bit noisy. I would stay again though but ask for a room at the rear. Overall though a lovely hotel and we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Full of character!

Posted Jun 1, 2017
The staff were very friendly and the bicycle theme made the hotel unique. Our family room on the top floor suited us perfectly, although the sloping ceilings might be difficult for taller guests! Breakfasts were yummy; nice to have a full vegetarian cooked breakfast as an option. Plenty of parking; great location with 5 min walk to Lyndhurst. A great base for attractions in the New Forest.
4 out of 5
by Linda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Nice place

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were outstanding couldn't do enough to help. Hotel clean comfortable and close to high st