Ratings based on 453 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Genuine top class hotel. Helpful, professional staff. Would recommend and return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel, really close to everything!

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Lovely hotel and the staff couldn't do enough to help us. They photo copied some of the walks we wanted to do whist we were there. Breakfast was really nice and there was so much choice! We booked a comfort room, which was snug but completely fine for what we needed. The only issue I had was squeezing past the shower screen to get out of the shower.. but I'm 6 months pregnant so in hindsight maybe a bigger bathroom would have been handy! The hotel is central to pretty much everything in the the town... Lovely pub across the road & Great Thai restaurant. Both of which we visited whilst we we're there & "Alice in Wonderland" grave was in the church yard opposite. Would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

Hotel base in New Forest

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Good location at the top of the town with adequate car parking. Breakfast taken in dining area was well cooked and presented. Didn't use hotel bar.
Location: Pleasant small town with Italian restaurant and pleasant pub both of which we ate at.
Used the hotel as a base in the New Forest. Very pleasant small town. Bedroom itself was rather small but functional.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could have been better

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Nice clean hotel in centre of town, staff friendly and a good breakfast, nice and quiet when we stayed. Room was in the attic and poor air quality, very cramped and felt closed in and a view of a roof!! Shouldn't be that greedy and making inadequate rooms in attic space! Overall 5/10.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey,England

Nice hotel, close to town centre

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Excellent breakfast. Walking distance to town centre and close to New Forest.
Cons: Bigger beds
Location: Good location although traffic noise can be a nuisance to rooms overlooking the main road
I had booked 3 rooms on the same rating for three nights. Discovered that my room was significantly smaller than the other two rooms. The bathroom .TV and bed were all smaller than the other rooms. When I pointed this out to the staff they stated that the 3 rooms were all graded the same which I was surprised about. I would suggest that a guest check the rooms and ratings as they differ greatly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Dear Dodge, I am pleased that you liked the Full English Breakfast, which is included in the rates. Rooms booked via a third party site are automatically entered into the system, as such due to the historic nature of the hotel, room sizes will vary. However, please be assured that had you contacted a member of the team, a room move could have been arranged. Alison Guest Relations
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aylesbury, UK

Noise from road

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Hotel had character (but unfortunately staff didn't!). Easy walking distance to small amount of boutique shops and restaurants.
Cons: Proper double or triple glazing at the front rooms imperative to provide a quiet sleep. Some training in manners/service for the staff.
Location: A few boutique shops and cafe's.
Hotel not very welcoming, staff (either Polish or Romanian) didn't speak very clear English. Parking at rear with only steps to take luggage up - no ramps or lift from carpark to reception level. There was a lift from reception to upper levels, but this only catered for 1 person and 1 suitcase at a time. Main issue was lake of sleep as the noise of heavy traffic from the road outside was from 5:45am - large lorries, diesel tractors, etc., then late evening from 10pm, revving cars echoed in the high street of which the hotel is adjacent to. Noise made old windows rattle, secondary glazing had no effect - staff were not interested to know about this. Breakfast was typical self serve, basic, poorly cooked food (greasy/fatty bacon).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Dear Russell, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as all feedback is greatly valued. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the team members, as if you look at previous reviews on various sites, many guests return due to the excellent service received. I hope you can appreciate that the hotel cannot control the traffic in the Village, however, the triple glazing should prevent any residual noise. Alison Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sevenoaks

Comfortable hotel with excellent buffet breakfast

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: It's situation.
Location: Lyndhurst is a traffic nightmare during the day. The hotel is situated at the beginning of the high street so it is best to arrive from the west.
The bedroom was fairly small but quiet at the back of the building. The dinner was enjoyable and reasonably priced. Really friendly manager and staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Dear Woody, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased that you liked the location of the hotel, and enjoyed your dining experience in the bar&grill. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Alison Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Nice hotel with garden , in the centre of town with a good restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Very enjoyable overnight stay

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Improve the soundproofing to the front of the building.
Location: The Car Museum at Beaulieu - just a short distance away.
Allocated a quiet room at the back of the hotel which was very comfortable and beautifully decorated though one of our party were given a room at the front of the hotel and suffered an early wake-up call from the heavy traffic that passed. Breakfast was very good too and we would be happy to stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by Mick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels