Ratings based on 464 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hunstanton, Norfolk

Anniversary break

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Staff, food & public areas were great.
Cons: It is fine as it is.
Location: Great location, easy access to Isle of Wight ferry if needed. Also short drive to the coast & the fantastic New forest is all around you.
We had seen many great reviews for this hotel & decided to book a 3 night break for our wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived we were delighted with the friendliness & professionalism of all the staff we met.. Although we had a "cosy" room, it had all that we required for our stay. When we come back to this area in the future we will use this hotel again if they have a vacancy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional Victorian style, well modernised

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Traditional Victorian style, well modernised for comfort. Adequate free parking. Step out of hotel into Lyndhurst High Street and range of shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable traditional hotel with high standards

Posted Nov 4, 2017
We had a lovely birthday break and the hotel lived up to expectations. The service was generally attentive and friendly, the hotel was clean and comfortable and the room was very nice. For a traditional hotel, the interior and rooms are well lit, which is not always the case. Our room was quiet. The car park in the grounds was convenient and the garden was nice. The lounges are very pleasant spaces. Aspects which could be improved include the decor - although recently decorated the designs were bold but not aligned. Improving this would help to create a more luxurious appearance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Genuine top class hotel. Helpful, professional staff. Would recommend and return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel, really close to everything!

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Lovely hotel and the staff couldn't do enough to help us. They photo copied some of the walks we wanted to do whist we were there. Breakfast was really nice and there was so much choice! We booked a comfort room, which was snug but completely fine for what we needed. The only issue I had was squeezing past the shower screen to get out of the shower.. but I'm 6 months pregnant so in hindsight maybe a bigger bathroom would have been handy! The hotel is central to pretty much everything in the the town... Lovely pub across the road & Great Thai restaurant. Both of which we visited whilst we we're there & "Alice in Wonderland" grave was in the church yard opposite. Would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

Hotel base in New Forest

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Good location at the top of the town with adequate car parking. Breakfast taken in dining area was well cooked and presented. Didn't use hotel bar.
Location: Pleasant small town with Italian restaurant and pleasant pub both of which we ate at.
Used the hotel as a base in the New Forest. Very pleasant small town. Bedroom itself was rather small but functional.
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Very nice hotel & staff

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel with very friendly and attentive staff. Great location for the New Forest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017
Dear Kevin, Thank you for your five star rating, which is very much appreciated by all members of the team. Hoping to welcome you back on a future occasion. Alison Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calne

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Ebookers
Very friendly staff. Great customer service. We were made to feel very welcome. Facilities were clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Dear Emma, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and found the team members to be friendly. Hoping to welcome you back on a future occasion. Alison Guest Relations
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could have been better

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Nice clean hotel in centre of town, staff friendly and a good breakfast, nice and quiet when we stayed. Room was in the attic and poor air quality, very cramped and felt closed in and a view of a roof!! Shouldn't be that greedy and making inadequate rooms in attic space! Overall 5/10.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey,England

Nice hotel, close to town centre

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Excellent breakfast. Walking distance to town centre and close to New Forest.
Cons: Bigger beds
Location: Good location although traffic noise can be a nuisance to rooms overlooking the main road
I had booked 3 rooms on the same rating for three nights. Discovered that my room was significantly smaller than the other two rooms. The bathroom .TV and bed were all smaller than the other rooms. When I pointed this out to the staff they stated that the 3 rooms were all graded the same which I was surprised about. I would suggest that a guest check the rooms and ratings as they differ greatly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Alison, Hotel Management
Dear Dodge, I am pleased that you liked the Full English Breakfast, which is included in the rates. Rooms booked via a third party site are automatically entered into the system, as such due to the historic nature of the hotel, room sizes will vary. However, please be assured that had you contacted a member of the team, a room move could have been arranged. Alison Guest Relations