Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tonbridge kent.

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Very nice hotel. Only problem was our room was above t v in bar. So all could hear was t v. Apart from that would stay again but not in room 19. Staff very helpful and polite.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Lovely location but not worth the money

Posted Jan 3, 2018
We arrived with great expectations after reading the reviews. The room, first of all, was a great disappointment: it was at the very end of the long corridor, the carpet looked 20 years old, the fresh flowers had died 3 days before, the mattress was too soft on a tiniest double bed I've seen, and there were no coffee machine or any minibar/fridge, very little storage for clothes and small tv. We booked a Superior Room so hate to think what the Standard Rooms were like - inhabitable? Breakfast Buffet was very limited (I would expect three times more choice from the hotel of this standard) so the only option was to eat the cooked breakfast (which was delicious, but expensive!). Staff were very attentive and professional, so there is potential, but perhaps management needs to double check the standards and invest into the basics.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful room food staff excellent

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Traditional Food good Very posh
Cons: Nothing
Location: Horses
We enjoyed the senspa and food at hotel. Stayed in the suite very good condition Staff very attentive welcoming
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south Wales UK

Very central to all attractions.

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Attended 80th birthday celebration lunch. Beautifully executed but alas the food should have been hotter.
5 out of 5
by John

Great stay

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic service in a lovely hotel. Room was a little tired, could do with a refresh, but would not let that stop us making another visit. Fantastic meal had in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
by Anthony

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent 2 day break. Hotel, food, location, customer service - all as we expected. Have recommend it to my friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New Forest gem

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Quaint little hotel. Good service but maybe a little over the top for its location. Monty's Inn had a good atmosphere, nice pub, some excellent food (not so sure about the burger) and wonderfully entertaining wait staff.
4 out of 5
by Edward

Pleasant saty at the Montagu

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
Traditional and enjoyable hotel, in a nice area.
5 out of 5
by Terry

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here for our wedding anniversary and could not fault the service provided and the helpfulness of the staff
5 out of 5
by Kim

A country "gem"

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Well the saying goes "leave the best to last"!! We were SO happy when we arrived (rather late) to be upgraded to a suite and only wished we could have stayed longer. However, we have every intention of returning. Hotel in beautiful village with glorious water and countryside views - everything natural and authentic and Picture perfect with a beautiful garden delightfully designed. We had found an injured baby bird and hotel gardener and staff could not have been kinder and that little bird will have every chance to recover and thrive. Genuinely caring and efficient staff - how fortunate for our last night and so spoilt in our suite! We also thoroughly enjoyed a delicious breakfast overlooking terrace and garden. If you enjoy walking and stunning countryside and delicious food and of course kind caring management then you will love this hotel. I can't wait to return (all the way from Australia) and spend several days in this very special place. Such a great pleasure to give a very positive genuine review. We travel for over 14 weeks a year and know a "gen" when we see it! And if you love cars - an added bonus - Beaulieu Motor Museum and grounds a few minutes away!!