Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Had a wonderful time Will be return soon very relaxing
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by New Harmony Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Indeed, New Harmony has an ambiance that tends to melt away stress. We are very grateful to have such a beautiful setting in which to host our guests. We look forward to your next trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Floyds Knobs, IN

Eclipse 2017

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: It's quiet reserve.
Cons: A little better attention top the gardens
Staff worked very hard to accommodate all the guests for the eclipse. Even when everyone showed up at 7AM for the breakfast, which started at 7 AM, to head out to their selected sight for viewing the eclipse. They were slammed but remained efficient and hospitable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by New Harmony Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your experience here in New Harmony! The Eclipse was a wonderful event for our region, as it likely introduced many people to an otherwise unknown corner of the Midwest. We look forward to your next visit! (And, don't forget, New Harmony will be in the path of totality for the next Eclipse in 2024!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Peaceful atmosphere in quaint town

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We enjoyed one evening at the inn. Would love to spend more time walking and relaxing on the serene, beautiful grounds. The quaint town was a block away. The room was comfortable, clean, and simply, yet nicely done. Only issue was the air conditioning was noisy. We'd definitely return here...it's a little gem in an off-the-beaten path location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by New Harmony Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review, we love feedback! We are ecstatic that you have enjoyed your stay with us! And, yes, New Harmony is great for walking and relaxation. We seem to sit on the crossroads of historic charm and modern convenience. We will have our Facilities Team look into the air conditioning issue you experienced in your room and have it corrected. Thank you again, we look forward to your next visit to New Harmony!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Needs complete update.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: So much.
Location: Location is the reason we made advance reservations. Metropolis is pretty run down. The Casino next door is most unappealing in every way.
Rooms were not ready by 2:30. Our room was mold filled. The replacement room given us was fine - but TV system did not work properly. No hot water. Problems with the phone to discuss problems with front desk. Tracy, the manager returned our call from a cell somewhere, but was completed unapologetic by rambling on about problems with TV. I finally asked about consideration for problems, She offered to refund our rate and we could go somewhere else. Not an option for us as every room anywhere near was booked. The hotel is long run-down, unattractive, understaffed and certainly not focused on service to their guests. Expedia - I will not use you as a source again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niles, MI

Lovely hotel spread over several buildings

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Peaceful setting, spacious room with all amenities, great service
We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel and greatly enjoyed our visit there on the eve of the Great American Solar Eclipse. Set in a peaceful location in the quaint town of New Harmony, it offers all the comfort and amenities one would expect of a high-end hotel, without excessive costs. We particularly appreciated receiving almond milk at breakfast after discovering that only dairy was available. The manager made a point of sending staff to buy almond milk for us at the neighboring store! Our only regret is not having more time to spend, but we plan to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by New Harmony Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for you review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! Here at the New Harmony Inn, we believe every guest's needs are important and should be tended to. It was truly our pleasure in securing the almond milk so you could have a more enjoyable breakfast experience. We are looking forward to your next stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice. Love the town

Posted Jul 25, 2017
There for the wedding of a friend. The town is very small. Loved it. The only negative I could say is the the free continental breakfast was lacking in protein. It was all carbs. Sweet roils, breads and cereals.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by New Harmony Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Our continental breakfast menu is currently under review and other options are being explored. We are looking forward to your next visit with us!
3 out of 5
by Brandon

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Needs new bedding, mattress's, pillows. Rooms need updates bad. Property leads you to believe rooms would be much nicer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Hotel was good but no place in town to eat. Red geranium was overpriced and food not up to par. Service at resturaunt was terrible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Used the spa across the street. Ate at the restaurant on site. Dinner was meh, breakfast was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Nice resort in a small historic town

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: It was very peaceful and close to everything in the town. Beautiful garden beds down the street and everyone was so friendly.
This resort was very rustic and comfortable. Wooden walls and floors reminded me of a cabin feel but nicer. The room was very clean. The environment was amazing. A beautiful green lake behind the inn and foliage and flowers were abundant. Walking trails were nice with plaques with beautiful quotes. I walked around the town which has 400-800 people with boutiques, art, and restaurants. Very artsy with a lot of history. The locals were very friendly. The swimming pool was in an enclosed glass area that looked like a greenhouse from the outside. Lots of plants around and a nice pool. There is a hot tub but was out of order. There is a restaurant next door but pricey. Overall a wonderful place to stay off the beaten path.