Ratings based on 1,219 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

It was fine. Staff was nice. LOVED the shuttle!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
It was a pleasant stay for a very reasonable price. The wifi was good. TV didn't get network channels and it was never fixed but they said they were having trouble w the cable co who never fixed the issue. Shuttle was great. Called and they picked me up from union Station, brought me to Yale Rep and brought me to Union station when I left. That was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Nice Hotel- Close to Yale University

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: It had amenities we wanted: microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron etc.
Cons: The rooms were clean, however there are some structural issues in the facility which need attention, i.e. ceiling cracks, dust balls coming out of fan
Location: Near to Tale University
My bestie & I visited the Harlem Renaissance exhibition at the Beineke Library at Yale University. We chose La Quinta because it was close & not very expensive & I got a good deal with Expedia points.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from PHX

Quite Good New Haven Hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Staff -- front desk, shuttle service, housekeeping -- all professional and personable
Cons: Difficult to control heat inthe room
Arrived late in heavy snow -- staff was very pleasant -- room exactly as requested
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location, and cleanliness. The room smelled and looked very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was great.
Cons: The heating unit was quite noisy, as is the trucking company next door.
Location: We would definitely recommend the attached restaurant The Greek Olive. Excellent food. College Street Music Hall a good venue for music.
We were in town to see a concert and wanted to stay the night, which worked out great because the weather was terrible. The hotel was located close to the highway and the venue so it was very easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Convenient to Amtrak, decent hotel with restaurant

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Room was comfortable, pillows of different softnesses instead of just some rocks with pillow cases on them. Clean, decent bathroom supplies.
Cons: Attitude of one front desk person.
Location: Near New Haven Amtrak with shuttle, near I-95, downtown New Haven, Yale.
I needed a hotel close to the Amtrak Station. Here it is! Clean, most of the staff were very nice. But one desk person was sullen, didn't listen when I called ahead to see if there was any food nearby for dinner, or was there any delivery. I didn't use the magic words "take out menu" and she insisted I was asking about getting room service billed to my room. And she didn't even mention that there is a restaurant on the premises. She never apologized. Otherwise a nice place. Under renovation, so no gym for the moment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Jonathan, thank you for your review. I will look into your concerns and see what I can do to make your next stay more comfortable. Sean G. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Jan 30, 2017
I stayed here alone for one night. It has some convenient elements - it's close to the train station, there's a mini fridge and a microwave in the room should you need them. The room had a lot of space. Everything else, though, was disappointing. The bed was really uncomfortable - I'd recommend bringing your own pillows if you don't want neck cramps. The door to my room didn't close properly. I kept having to wrestle with it, and before I checked out, it wasn't closing at all. The bathroom was cleaned as much as it could be, but it was really sketchy looking and the outlets in there didn't work. There was one guy on staff who was nice, but the other didn't seem to care that I was there (which, they don't really have to, but customer service rules should apply). When I reported the problems in the room, the person at the desk just said, "Thanks, I'll put it in the maintenance report." As if that report means anything to me when I'm checking out. If the hotel ever comes into some money, I'd highly recommend replacing the doors so they properly fit in the door frames, redoing the bathrooms, and getting better quality food for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Evelyn for your review of LQ New Haven. I apologize for your experience and I will work diligently with my staff to rectify all issues. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Sean G. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oshawa

Sewage line broke no discount

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Told to ask for a manager. None available. Paid full price even though room wasn't cleaned and sewage backup in the sink of the bedroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by General Manger, Hotel Management
I apologize for the experience you had with us. We did try our best to make each guest, directly affected by the bathroom that overflowed, comfortable during their stay. Please accept my apologies that we were not able to do so for you. I will be discussing with my staff the pros and cons of this experience that the hotel endured so if ever it were to happen again we can handle the situation more effectively for our guests. Sean G. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The receptionist is total rude and not friendly

Posted Jan 17, 2017
When I came into the hotel, I need to find the place to change 100 Dollar note to smaller ones as I need to pay the tip for the taxi driver. The receptionist stop me , and ask me to pay deposit by the credit card. I am urgent to go and throw the card to her. She said it's rude, must hand over to her in gentle. Because she stopped me and when I came back with small notes, the taxi driver had gone. I suggest this receptionist to focus customer needs, I do not see any urgency to stop me to use credit card. If receptionist thought she was the rule maker, it's total wrong.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, it is very important to us. We’re sorry the staff didn’t meet your standards. We will share your comments with the General Manager so that similar situations will not occur. We hope you will once again choose us for your lodging needs. Respectfully, LQ Customer Care
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Close to Yale and the water

Posted Jan 8, 2017
The staff was absolutely amazing. They went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. My room was spotless - and very quiet. I didn't hear anyone or any sounds. For the price, how close it was to the downtown, and freeway - I would highly recommend La Quinta in New Haven.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and ample

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect for a quick over night before catching the train!