Ratings based on 1,139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas tx

Good location

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Staff and location were good but our room smelled of smoke and so did the hallway!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the smoke smell in the hallway. We do have a minimal amount of smoking rooms in the hotel and do not usually have problems keeping the hallways smelling fresh. However, there are times when guest do not comply. When this happens we do our best to locate and stop these guests from smoking and then deep clean the affected rooms. I apologize that your room was not up to expectations. I will work with my staff to make sure these rooms are not sold until they are perfect for all guests. Again, thank you for our review. It does help us continue to improve and take care of our guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great cheap place to stay!

Posted Sep 12, 2016
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The free shuttle is also great! Can't go wrong with free juice,bagels and coffee in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It is always nice to hear that my staff is taking good care of the guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington ZdZc

Convenient but noisy.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Staff.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Great location next to Ikea, Longwharf Theater, close to downtown.
Staff was very welcoming, accommodating and helpful. Room very dingy ... Definitely needs updating. Clean but left you wondering about the ingrained dirt underneath. Door difficult to close, noise from highway kept me awake most of the night, despite earplugs and a pillow over my head. Hotel was inexpensive, but others we've stayed at in the same kind of category and price felt much cleaner. Would not stay again unless they update.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I was happy to hear that my staff was able to take care of you during your stay with us. I want to apologize for the quality of your stay. As the new General Manager I am certainly going to take your comments to my staff so that we may improve upon our service. Thank you again for your information. Sean G. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rundown hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2016
First, we had no issues with the staff, so I don't blame them. But the condition of the hotel was quite poor. The beds were sagging and uncomfortable. The paint was in poor shape, and the bathroom was very run down with things chipping in various places. My daughter also found a piece of broken glass on the floor. We didn't really have choices on where to stay on a busy night in New Haven, but next time I would pick outside the city rather than stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel. As the new General Manager I am working diligently with my staff to make the necessary corrections to assure a more comfortable stay for you and all our guests. I apologize that you had this experience. I am sure if you give us another try you will see that we are making positive progress toward our goals. Again, accept my apologies and I do hope you stay with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Yale

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Stayed several days to move my child into Yale. Very convenient to the college and right next door to Ikea. Also the rooms were huge. It's an older hotel and shows its age. AC was not adjustable. Also plenty of highway noise due to location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Yale University

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Price and close to Yale
Cons: A little updating in Bathroom. The paint was peeling.
Very pleasant staff everyone we encountered was very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Clean, Pleasant, but Concerns

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Employees
Cons: Pool and gym
Location: New Haven is a great city. The hotel provided free shuttle service downtown.
Hotel staff were exceptionally pleasant, helpful, and courteous. My only complaint is that the hotel pool and gym is much smaller than it appeared on the web site. The pool was too small to swim and the gym had no weights--just one elliptical machine, one bike and one treadmill.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Very relaxing Clean Nice staff Continental breakfast And laundry facilities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pour une nuit

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Le prix Proche du centre ville à pied A proximité de l'autoroute Le personnel
Cons: La piscine (à l'extérieur, pas très agréable à utiliser)
Location: Il est possible de visiter le centre de New Haven, de découvrir l'université Yale.
Venant de Cape Cod et allant à Philadelphie, nous avons choisi de nous arrêter pour une nuit à New Haven. L'établissement proposait un prix correcte et était situé à proximité de l'autoroute. De plus, nous étions à environ 30 minutes à pied du centre ville et de l'université Yale. L'hôtel est situé dans une zone en construction (donc pas intéressant à voir), la chambre est correcte. Nous avons été bien accueilli par le personnel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Hotel staff has no passion and is careless. The breakfast is too simple.