Ratings based on 1,302 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel near high way with a lot of noise

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Breakfast is not good. You hear noise from the high way all night
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank your for your review. I will look into your concerns about breakfast. For future stays, please let us know that you would like to be facing away from the highway and we will find you a room that fits your needs. Sean G. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant and comfortable

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathrooms
Location: Restaurants , downtown
Great location for what I needed. Close to Yale, close to downtown
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 Star rating. I am happy to hear we accommodated your needs. I look forward to your next stay with us here in New Haven. Sean G. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The hotel is at a convenient location next to IKEA, Bank, Gas Station, and only 5 mins driving to Yale. The staffs are very nice. However, the air-condition is very noisy. I cannot have AC on while having meetings or phone calls. The breakfast is just very minimum. The facilities and the rooms are a bit old. Overall, it was a smooth stay if you don't expect a luxury hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize that the AC was noisy. I am happy to hear that my staff offered you memorable service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Noisy heating/cooling units

Posted Sep 3, 2017
The rooms are equipped with individual heating/cooling units. Unfortunately, the unit in my room was really noisy (was heating), and every time it kicked it, I was woken up. I had one of the worst night's sleep ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that the AC kept you awake. I will inform my team to focus on making sure the units are maintained if they hear them making loud noises. Sean G. General Manager.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rosendale, NY

I would not stay at this hotel ever again!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing, it appears to be a high crime area and the taxi drivers concurred my opinion.
Cons: The customer service of the staff should be trained to treat customers with respect. The hotel should be renovated and kept clean.
Location: New Haven Conneticut
This was the worst experience with a hotel stay. The overall condition of the hotel was bleak. The entire site was dirty from the outside grounds with garbage thrown about the flower beds and shrubs, to the halls and stairwells leading to the rooms. There were empty liquor bottles and cigarette butts in the stairwells, stained hallway carpets with a smell of mildew. Inside of the room was terrible, there is an apparent water or moisture problem that you can see by the way the carpet is rippled, the bathroom ceiling has been patched very poorly and the tiles are falling off of the wall. Then there is the smell of 200 year old pine-sol or something trying to cover the odor of mold. Gross! To top off all of the disgusting facts about the cleanliness and comfort a gentleman advised when we were approaching our door the our card had been deactivated due to a suspicious smell of marijauna (do not smoke that, nor do my 2 miniature dogs that they had locked in my room.) Well after a room inspection the room had no problem and I confirmed with the woman inspecting the room "nope just the nasty old smell of mold and pine-sol" and she laughed. The night time front desk reception representatives sleep at their job and most of the rest are down right nasty to their customers. Only a handful of helpful pleasant people that we dealt with.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am deeply sorry for the experience you had with my staff. This is not the experience I want you or any of my guests to encounter when staying here. I will certainly review your comments with my staff. I also apologize for the condition of your room we currently have a plan in place to correct those issues. I hope you give us another chance to see the progress we make. Sean G. General Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

A good simple hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
The room was simple and clean, it had everything that was in the description. Water pressure was good, temperature of the water was from really hot to cold, which is good, too. We got soaps for each and a tiny hotel-size bottle of shampoo/conditioner. Sometimes in the evening you could hear pipes and liquids being flushed down the drain in, supposedly, neighbouring rooms, not very loud though but I guess if the neighbour was doing it constantly that would be annoying, but he wasn't. We didn't perceive it as a problem. The breakfast was free and simple, too, we had boiled eggs, flakes with milk, muffins, American bread, prepacked Philadelphia cheese and salted butter and coffee; the only surprise was that it was served until approx. 9:30 as opposes to 10:00 as we were told upon arrival it was supposed to. I would have something else, like that waffle from the waffle machine, but that wasn't ment to happen. The parking is spacious and busy at the same time, but one definitely finds a spot there. It was just a 9-minute drive to the Peabody Museum. Remember, some of the parking spots in the town have only one hour meters. The hotel parking is free. The front desk lady was nice and preformed the check in quickly. A good simple hotel. You don't want to bring there the Queen, but it's fine for a person who isn't used to living in the Buckingham Palace.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback about your stay. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us. Not only is our parking free, we do offer a complimentary shuttle service down town so you can avoid those meters. I look forward to your next stay with us. Sean G. General Manager.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Just ok. A place to sleep for the night, breakfast could have been better. All the staff was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and rating. I will see what I can do to spice-up our breakfast selection. I hope to see you at LQ again soon. Sean G. General Manager.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

It's a safe place to stay.....

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I have stayed in many New Haven hotels. This is not my favorite. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful. So were the cleaning staff except for one who was exceptionally rude and left a waft of body odor trailing behind her. Really wish they provided room safes. Had a corner room with 2 views - perfect view of Ikea's blue sign on one side and I95 in front of us which was noisy as trucks downshifted for the curve. But - attached restaurant was pretty good. Parking lot was free and safer than most of New Haven. Breakfast was ok. Towels were thick and supplied toiletries were fine. So yes - safe place to rest your head when you need to but would not vacation here. Not the best of New Haven but is absolutely fine. And location is super convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear my desk staff took good care of you during your stay. I apologize for the housekeepers behavior. That is not like my staff to act that way. During future stays please note that although we do not have safes in the room we do offer safety deposit boxes at the front desk if you need to lock away your items. Thank you and I look forward to your next stay with La Quinta. Sean G. General Manager.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, Virginia

Older hotel, needs upgrading

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Very Little
Cons: Much could be improved
Location: It is near a major highway and there is traffic noise all night .
My reservation was for a handicapped accessible room with 2 beds. When we arrived we were told there was only one handicapped room available with 1 queen bed. We decided to put up with it for 1 night. The light fixture in the bathroom did not work properly. We called for help and a worker told us it was all right we just had to wait 5 or 10 minutes for the old bulbs to work. When they did come on we left them on all night rather than take a chance on more problems. In the morning the temperature handle in the shower fell off and we could not control the temperature. The shower had a very slippery floor with a slippery tilted ramp to get into the shower. Not good for a handicapped person. The breakfast bar ran out of decaf coffee and were unable to supply more. We tried to use the coffee maker in the room but that was broken. Based on this experience we will never stay in a La Quinta Inn again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Robert I apologize for what happened during your recent stay. This is not the service that I expect from my team and will be reviewing your concerns with them so that we can offer the service you and all our guests expect from La Quinta. Please reconsider your decision to not return and allow me to correct the problems you encountered during your stay. Sean G. General Manager.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Nothing special, OK for the price Not sure if I would return next time I am in the area, pretty rundown
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are currently reviewing plans to upgrade the hotel. I hope that you return to see our improvements. Sean G. General Manager.