Ratings based on 1,281 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, Virginia

Older hotel, needs upgrading

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Very Little
Cons: Much could be improved
Location: It is near a major highway and there is traffic noise all night .
My reservation was for a handicapped accessible room with 2 beds. When we arrived we were told there was only one handicapped room available with 1 queen bed. We decided to put up with it for 1 night. The light fixture in the bathroom did not work properly. We called for help and a worker told us it was all right we just had to wait 5 or 10 minutes for the old bulbs to work. When they did come on we left them on all night rather than take a chance on more problems. In the morning the temperature handle in the shower fell off and we could not control the temperature. The shower had a very slippery floor with a slippery tilted ramp to get into the shower. Not good for a handicapped person. The breakfast bar ran out of decaf coffee and were unable to supply more. We tried to use the coffee maker in the room but that was broken. Based on this experience we will never stay in a La Quinta Inn again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Robert I apologize for what happened during your recent stay. This is not the service that I expect from my team and will be reviewing your concerns with them so that we can offer the service you and all our guests expect from La Quinta. Please reconsider your decision to not return and allow me to correct the problems you encountered during your stay. Sean G. General Manager.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Nothing special, OK for the price Not sure if I would return next time I am in the area, pretty rundown
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are currently reviewing plans to upgrade the hotel. I hope that you return to see our improvements. Sean G. General Manager.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Unprofessional staff and a bloody door

Posted Jul 25, 2017
I reserved a room for two nights for my daughters who were in Ct for business. They were told the shutttle service ran every hour. After being given a sketchy excuse by the front desk clerk for why the driver was running late(and waiting for an hour), a man who had been standing behind the front desk the whole time suddenly introduced himself as the driver. He gave a week apology then loaded them on with another group who had just come along. In keeping with the unprofessional and weird behavior, he then proceeds to drop off the other group first after my daughters had been waiting over an hour. To round off this horrible experience, the next day there was blood on the bathroom door after the cleaning staff had come in to "clean". I've never written a bad review about a hotel. I understand that nothing is perfect and things can happen. But this was beyond belief. I've never used La Quinta before and I won't again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Tonisha P, AGM, Hotel Management
I’ve received your review of La Quinta New Haven. I appreciate your feedback; this is definitely not the experience we want you to have when staying with us! If you may please contact me at the property so we may discuss.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Good for one night

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Free breakfast, Free Parking
Cons: Everything is dated: a refresh on the decor is needed.
Location: Nothing at all to do nearby unless you have a car and drive.
We stayed one night at this hotel and it was fine. The hotel/rooms are dated, but everything was very clean. There was a free simple breakfast which was good for us. The hotel is walking distance to Yale, but the neighbourhood has nothing special to see not to mention this isn't the kind of place where people walk: car is king in this neighbourhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Claudia thank you for your review of La Quinta. I am happy to hear you had a nice stay with us. So you don't have to walk too much, we do offer a shuttle that can take you anywhere within five miles of the hotel. I hope on your next trip you are able to take advantage of this amenity that we offer. Thank you for choosing La Quinta. Sean G. Gerneral Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Creepy hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Strange people and bad part of town. Hotel was disgusting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I know the Food Terminal behind the hotel can look scary. However, I have found it to be safe with very few issues in my almost two years working at La Quinta New Haven. We have plans in progress to enhance the hotel. I hope you return to see the progress we are making. Sean G. General Manager.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worst customer service experience

Posted Jul 4, 2017
We were on a 7 night college visiting trip and had to stay in different hotels.One night happened to be at laquinta . We have stayed in this hotel from 2010 several times as my son was at new heven fr 5 years . We arrived at hotel around 9 pm . My husband went to the counter no one was at the counter then this lady walked in . My husband said I have a reservation. She spoke in a rude tone without your name how can I check. Then my husband told you never greeted or ask me for the name .we went to our room and TV was not working we called she said there is a problem with the tv you need to reboot press 3 times start button. We tried it did not work then we called her again she said no one to repair at this time if we want we can change rooms . Then my daughter fixed the tv it was one cord plugged to a wrong box . Out of all the hotels we stayed customer service was a 0 for this hotel . I would appreciate management will take proper action as no matter the facility been nice if the initial reception service is bad .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time out of your travels to review the hotel. It is upsetting to hear that you received this type of service. This is certainly not how I expect my staff to interact with out guests. I will be reviewing your comments with them and I will make sure this type of experience does not happen in the future. I sincerely apologize and I hope you decide to stay with La Quinta again to see this is not how we normally operate. Sean G. General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
The location is convenient for downtown attractions, great museums and restaurant..The hotel staff were helpful and very kind...Upon arrival my room looked, felt, and smelled very clean.The bed was great..Plent of USB ports.Smart TV technology...Easy parking..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities we offer. Sean G. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017
Hotel needs updating focus on cleaness amimites better breakfast choices
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. At this time we offer a continental breakfast but I will consider your feedback when we decide to make changes. Sean G. General Manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
OK Stay. Rooms a bit dreary and out dated. Not much space in the Bathrooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. When the time comes to make improvements I will certainly keep your feedback in mind. Sean G. General Manager.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Hotel needs structural improvement better amenities cleanness better breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I will consider your remarks when we look to upgrade the hotel. Sean G. General Manager.