Ratings based on 1,035 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Satisfactory....but mattresses could be firmer.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Room too spartan.....a picture or two would help......and the New York Times should be available for purchase.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yokohama


Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: 朝のロビーのコーヒー
Cons: フロントの対応が横柄でした。
Location: 良いロケーションです。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Super comfortable spacious

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: the bed, the space, and the breakfast !
Cons: nothing really
The hotel room was huge. the bed huge and is the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in in my whole life. with lovely soft sheets and blankets and overlay.. it was an incredible bed. The hotel is like an old fashioned club. nothing fancy, maybe the decor even a little dated. but just soooooooo comfortable due to all the space ! its a really solid hotel that does not try to be anything pretentious. its solid and real. and the breakfast is a well cooked buffet choice which is good value for all you can eat only $15.00.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A pleasant stay. Clean, Friendly, Close to Yale.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Met all my needs easily. Hotel staff was kind and knowledgeable. My room was clean and it was very close to Yale. Of the hotels very close to Yale, this one was affordably priced and definitely met my needs. An important note - prior to arriving I did too much research and scared myself about the safety of the area. I was wrong. The area around New Haven Hotel was safe and when I needed to stop by the CVS three blocks away at Midnight, it was perfectly fine. SUMMARY: Clean, safe, not luxurious, good location, nice staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Kept up late and woken up early by the banging and treadmill in fitness center. No room service/restaurant other than breakfast that was terrible. The pancakes and french toast were hard as a rock
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Just wish there was room service for light meals. Otherwise, excellent!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Good central hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Enjoyed our one night stay. Room was large and clean, as was bathroom
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Great location and good value

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Location. Value for money.
Location: All downtown is walkable. Visit to Yale University is very interesting.
Stayed here after an absence of a few years and the experience was as good as I remember. Located only a few minutes' walk from downtown and the main campus of Yale University. Rooms are quiet, spacious and comfortable. Good WiFi connections. Taxi to main railroad station is only a few minutes' ride. Will definitely return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2016
it is a nice hotel at a great location. however, there are two problems. 1) the mattress is far too soft, so soft that my husband had to sleep on the floor. 2) the shower is poorly designed so that shower water swamps the bathroom. if you like soft mattresses, then it is fine. nice wine and cheese in the late afternoon. coffee at the lobby in the morning. friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Convenient Location, Comfortable and Clean

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Clean hotel and comfortable rooms. Our room was ready upon check-in and housekeeping made up our rooms promptly every day. Also, large elevators.
Cons: For a better guest experience, should offer free breakfast to better serve guests that have busy schedules and just simply for the convenience,
Location: Convenient location and close to eateries, transportation, Yale and a movie theater.
Got into New Haven from NY at about 4:30 PM and checked into to our hotel. Although the line was long since a group was checking in at the same time, our room was thankfully ready. We were overall please with our room - clean, roomy, comfortable and had the basic needed amenities. The workout room was conveniently located on our floor and was used by our son daily. Although located in the core of our floor, we experienced no disturbance from its proximity to our room. The elevators were surprisingly large and well lit, a nice change and feature. The hotel's offering of free cheese, crackers, fruits and wine in the afternoon is a nice touch; however, the hotel should add a free breakfast offering for the convenience of its guests instead of charging an additional fee on top of other fees.