Ratings based on 1,136 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and ambiance

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Wonderful place to stay for a New haven downtown experience. Close to everything.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Outdated hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2017
When you arrive it seems a traditional hotel in the beautiful New Haven. In fact it is, but it is outdated and all bed linen where old and full of stains. We asked to change the linens but when we arrived it was the same stained pieces. Great staff on the arrival and departure.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albania

So not worth it

Posted Jul 27, 2017
The above title says it all. Rooms are tiny and was assigned in the least attractive rooms, lots of power outlets which is a good thing unfortunately most of them are just cosmetics and don't actually work. Ugh! Unfriendly staff (really blah and unwelcoming and not very forthcoming -- you gotta ask the right questions). Place is quite close to Yale (very convenient but next time I'd rather pay for a taxi and sleep in a comfortable hotel than stay in this one. Lobby is really nice but that's all there is to the hotel. Never just a book by how it looks lol.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Ok hotel. Very basic but clean. They added charges to the bill that were not incurred by me
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Very convenient, close to Yale and restaurants

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location.
Easy to get to from freeway, parking right across the street (a bit pricy, you can find cheaper parking if you look around). Room was good enough for a one night stay. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Walking to Little Italy and to Yale College and many coffee places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kyiv

Great comfort at an excellent price.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: convenient location, good price, parking, pleasant service, comfortable bed, spacious room, good selection of TV channels, many restauranrs close by
Cons: Bottles of water in the room, bathtub
Location: Great location near university, restaurants, theaters
This hotel is perfect for a short stay near Yale. Convenient location, good price, parking, pleasant service, comfortable bed, spacious room, good selection of TV channels, many restauranrs close by, iron, fridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good hotel in New Haven

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The New Haven Hotel was conveniently located in downtown New Haven. It is close to restaurants and Yale University. We stayed for one night and were able to walk to a great restaurant for dinner. In the morning, we again walked to Yale for the admissions tour. Because we were able to walk, we got a great overview of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Lobby is beautiful. Rooms are spacious, clean and beds are comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Overpriced, overpriced, overpriced

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: A lot of things. Better maid service, bigger rooms, more comfortable beds/pillows, more reasonable parking rates.
Location: Right in the middle of town. You can walk to a lot of restaurants.
I would not recommend this hotel in the New Haven area. It has convenience going for it and that's about it.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Location, Quality and Quietness.

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel's location just two blocks from the New Haven Green makes it central location to restaurants, the Schubert Theater and Yale University. You can walk to all. If you come by train there is a free shuttle bus stop a couple of blocks away to and from Union Station.