Ratings based on 706 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Good location and good anenities. I enjoyed the stay there!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Had a one nite stay for lax tournament. Would definitely stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Room was dirty and entire hotel smells musty. Couches in lobby area had stains on them. Hotel Is overrated
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Well located, reliable, a great place to stay if you're visiting Yale or downtown New Haven
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Best in town, but past her prime.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Room was so small I couldn't find enough floor space on which to stretch.
Location: There are a large number of restaurants, nearby, and the Yale campus is an easy walk away. but the highlight for me was the ease of access to/from 95.
Can't beat the Omni for location and ease of access to Yale and to/from Rte 95, but the old girl has definitely see better days. The staff is willing and helpful, but there is a sense of tiredness about every aspect of the hotel, from the lobby, to the restaurant, to the room. But, then, I would say that about New Haven, as well!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Great location

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Walking distance to great shopping and there are many restaurants near by. The green space/ park just outside is wonderful too
We stayed one night. Check in was quick and easy. The reception and bell staff were very friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were very clean. The bed comfort was just ok. Davenport's was a huge disappointment but hotel management was quick to respond with a written apology and partial refund. I did not seek out staff to complain about it, I responded to a staff member, Michael, who asked about the meal because he recommended Davenport's. He took it from there which showd they care about their guests. I would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An expensive hotel past its prime

Posted Oct 6, 2016
The hotel charges like a hotel in prime condition. But the rooms and guest floors are tired and clearly past their prime. At some point in the past this was a really nice place... but that time is gone. You would be very pleased if the price was 50% but it isn't.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Needs upgrade of beds
Very friendly staff, however bed was very uncomfortable and walls thin. Noisy neighbors made for poor nights sleep
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Nice staff in a tired hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016
New Haven has never been known for fine hotels so there is apparently little pressure on the Omni to maintain its position as the top full size place in town. For what you get it is overpriced,particularly when the add-ons are added on. Continental breakfast is $15 plus a"room charge " ,tax and18% for coffee,juice and toast. Parking is expensive. All that said, the staff is friendly and helpful,displaying none of the demoralized attitude that might otherwise infect a declining establishment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Mostly OK central hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Good location, on the southern edge of the Yale campus. Nice view from the 18th-floor room.
Cons: The system for wake-up calls needs scrutiny. The décor, particularly in the corridors, is uninspiring.
Location: On the southern edge of the Yale campus, with its two fine art galleries just round the corner, past the good Zinc restaurant in Chapel Street.
The Omni is a large hotel on the southern edge of the Yale campus. The welcoming is almost overwhelming, but our early morning wake-up call didn't happen (of course we set the alarm as well, but still ...). Our room was pretty comfortable, with some inevitable noise from traffic and roadworks. We chose not to eat in the hotel.