Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Lovely Inn

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Location, staff and food were great. Shower in bathroom was too small and low water pressure for our liking. Internet was spotty in the hotel, and no cell service. We have become accustomed to hotels that have phone service, TVs and mini refrigerators in the rooms. (I realize this is an Inn not a hotel) If you are looking to "unplug" for a few days its a lovely place. Lake and beach are beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by SMR/ Owner, Hotel Management
So glad you enjoyed our location, food and staff, and thanks for your review. We appreciate your recommendation and that you felt we have a lovely spot! We are always striving to upgrade our facilities, so your feedback is very helpful. Thanks. For future guest reference, a few data points: - Verison is the cell carrier works well in this area. Others do not. We also have an Inn supplied land line for guest convenience if you are having trouble with your carrier. - We have full WIFI coverage throughout the inn. From time to time, a router may have issues, and if these are brought to our attention they can be immediately remedied. - We choose not to have TV's in most rooms, and most guests appreciate being able to unplug, as Dee noted here. Rm#12 does has a TV and there is a TV in the common room for guest convenience. - We do not have mini fridges in the rooms, but can provide one if requested. Most guests are happy using the shared fridges available in the common room or the kitchen. - The shower in Room #1 is 35"x35", which may be a slightly smaller than the standard 36"x36" some folks may be used to. We do have rooms with larger showers, full tub size showers, and Jacuzzi tubs, so I think room selection is the key here if this is important to you. - Not sure about the water pressure, if this was a temporary issue or guest preference. We rarely have complaints on water pressure, but we are sorry this was a drawback for Dee. We have not been able to replicate the issue. We are on a well system. We want our guests to know we are happy to address any concerns to the best of our ability during your stay. Please don't hesitate to let us know if something is not to your expectations, so we can make your stay comfortatble and memorable.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Early Breakfast

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
There was no TV in the room so just be aware that you may not get to watch that special show or sporting event. We had to leave early to get to a ski race so the innkeeper made us an early and very delicious breakfast before the regular time which was very much appreciated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breathtaking views

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful inn. Super friendly innkeepers and staff. We had a very quick stay but would love to go back again and enjoy the area in the warmer weather. It's breathtaking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dartmouth, MA

Great location on the lake.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Colby-Sawyer and everything else I mentioned above!
We were in New London to visit Colby-Sawyer. So happy to have found this place. Right on lake - boats, kayaks, paddleboards available. Breakfast was amazing - and I hear that dinner was too but we did not partake. Very comfy room - we each got our own bed! Everything was great and we will return!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Inn Owner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. So glad you enjoyed your room and the amenities the property has to offer. Perhaps plan on dinner for your next trip? You won't be disappointed. We hope you enjoyed Colby as well. We enjoy supporting the school and the kids who attend. Many of our guests join us on that basis. Good Luck!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ct

25th anniversary

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Location: Lots to do.
Inn was very beautiful and very well kept. Food was great and family owned staff made us feel at home and like one of the family. Our only regret was that we did not book the room for a 3rd night. The owner recommended The Inn at Manchester because we were heading that way. Well it was another place that we cannot say enough about. Room , owners/staff and cleanliness were all outstanding. Thank you to Scott and family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Inn Owner, Hotel Management
Thanks for posting your review here, Ben. We look forward to having you back when you can get another night away. July was a great month in New London and summer on Pleasant Lake is wonderful. Winter brings in the skiing and winter activities, not far away now! Hope to see you back soon.
5 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Michael from Monterey, CA

Beautiful, quiet, friendly get-away

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
The owner, Scott, made it a point to speak with his guests and make sure everything was OK. The building itself is old and creaky, but ultimately comfortable, with ample space downstairs for relaxing, beautiful views outside from the dining room. The continental breakfast is quite adequate, with fresh fruit, mini-muffins, granola, cereal, juice, milk, and coffee; they also offer a hot breakfast with pancakes, eggs, and such if the continental is not enough. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful without being intrusive. This is a real "country" B&B type place - the building is quite old but beautiful - floors are uneven and the staircase is quite steep - not sure if there was an elevator or not. The room was very comfortable, with a great bed and some amazing microfiber linens that felt like silk! If you are looking for all the "modern" amenities like TV, cable, big rooms, luxurious bathroom, you will not find these - this is real "get away"-type of place to relax and not be bothered by noise and gadgets. I enjoyed my stay there and would definitely stay again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our staff is very pleased you found them helpful and friendly! Most importantly we are so glad you were comfortable in all aspects. Regarding modern amenities, we'd like to update readers with some key facts. Our rooms vary in size and character given the historic nature of our inn. Our larger rooms are multi-room suites and junior suites that this guest may not have experienced. We also do have certain rooms with luxurious baths in our suites, others are quite adequate. There is cable TV in some rooms (not all) and in the common room on the first floor. We also have WiFi throughout the Inn and many guests choose to stream entertainment when desired. The reviewer is absolutely correct that we promote a relaxing 'get-away' feel of an authentic country inn. While modern amenities are available, we try to keep these subtle for our guests' experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
wish had more time to enjoy...was there for a graduation
4 out of 5
by Megan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels