Ratings based on 3,889 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel but valet service is HORRIBLE!!!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Cons: Valet service.
After a very nice experience with our stay at Astor Crowne Hotel, the departure ruined it all. Everything went smoothly until valet service was to retrieve my vehicle. I gave the valet my ticket at 10:21 am. After being told several times that they were getting my vehicle, I finally became very frustrated and demanded that they either give me my keys or get my vehicle - at 12:20 the valet manager brought my vehicle. 2 hours to retrieve a vehicle from valet - UNACCEPTABLE. He told me that my parking expense ($58.89) would be refunded. We will see!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Never Staying Here Again...

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: The hotel appearance and location.
Cons: The level of customer service. I have experienced much higher customer service and smoother transactions at much cheaper hotels.
Location: The location is nice because it is within walking distance of everything. Be sure to get a higher floor if you can't sleep through noise.
We arrived at the hotel and had to sit in a line of cars blocking an entire lane of Canal Street for about 20 minutes before anyone came and gave us a valet ticket and took our keys. By the time we got to the desk to check in, it was 4:45. We were told our room was not ready even though check in was supposed to be at 4:00, but we could leave our luggage with the bell hop and would receive a text message once our room was ready. We walked over to the bell desk and there were people waiting with no bellman in site. We decided to just wait so I walked back up to the desk at 5:00 to get a time estimate and the girl informed that our room was ready (even though I never received a text message). We had a little trouble finding our room because the front desk person did not write "M" behind our room # to indicate we were supposed to get off on floor "3M" instead of the regular 3rd floor. The next morning, we checked out early (around 9:30/9:45). I went to hand in my valet ticket, and they informed me I needed to bring them the copy of my receipt. No one at the front desk ever asked me about parking or gave me any sort of receipt, so I had to go back inside and wait in line again to get a receipt. We then waited 30 minutes for our car. Parking ended up being $48 per day (after taxes). I am fine paying that, but I would expect a better experience. It was just very frustrating that not ONE experience at this hotel went smoothly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Kistewart, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am deeply troubled to hear of your recent experience. We understand that your time is valuable, and we are truly sorry for time it took to retrieve your vehicle. We appreciate our guests’ patience and understanding of the fact that traffic and parking is incredibly difficult in any city, with New Orleans being no exception. We do our absolute best to provide the quickest and most efficient service possible given our circumstances, and we are constantly working within our team to improve our processes even further. I hope that you enjoyed your time in New Orleans overall, and we would be so thrilled for another chance to welcome you back for a more positive experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USa

On the corner of canal and Burton streets. Great l

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Had a great visit in new Orleans. Mostly sightseeing. Rode the red and green lines went on cemetery tour. Hotel was in a great location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fredericksburg, United States of America

Posted Nov 18, 2016
We have stayed at this hotel several times and the experience has always been great. We visit NO each year and will make this place our first choice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis

Great place for Burbon St.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Wasn't the room I asked for, I asked for a room with a view. The beds were very comfortable, great night sleep. No outside noise.
Cons: I didn't like the fact that I left my makeup bag behind but they told me they didn't find it. A lady needs her makeup! $300 in makeup; wear it well.
Location: Everything is nearby.
Only there for 1 night stay before Cruise. If you want to be close to the in crowd, this is the place to stay. Hotel and staff was nice and friendly. Price was excellent but you will makeup the rest by paying for parking. No continental breakfast though!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Kistewart, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. Your comfort and convenience are important to us, and I am disappointed to hear of our missteps during your stay. Your comments have been shared with our management teams to ensure that these issues are avoided in the future. I hope that if you’re ever in the city again, we have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Kelowna, BC Canada

Staff is amazing, but...

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Staff was great and location being on Canal was convenient
Cons: too many partiers from Bourbon street up and down the elevator which was loud
Room was comfortable, but did smell smoke in the hallways from one of the other non-smoking rooms. The traffic up and down the hallways was annoying, but that's my fault for booking so close to Bourbon St. Location to Bourbon would have been perfect if it was at the beginning of our vacation, but with a 3am wake up to get to the airport it was not great. Plus the elevator was quite loud and heard it constantly. Staff was great, but we wont be back due to location which is good and bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Kistewart, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you suffered. I understand how frustrating this must have been for you, and will pass your comments along to our management team for further discussion. Please know that what you describe is not the norm at our hotel. We appreciate your compliments on the kindness of our staff and our wonderful location! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon for an exceptional stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Only ok--ants

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: good attached restaurant, friendly bell hops
Cons: ants in my room, front desk staff, room comfort and cleanliness
Location: great location, everything in the French Quarter is within walking distance
The greeting by the front-desk staff was lukewarm. Didn't feel like she wanted to answer questions. The hotel room could have definitely been cleaner. A lot of the surfaces were dusty. The bed was not very comfortable at all. They need a place to hang your handtowels, as the bathroom only had a back of the door hook for bathtowels. On my very last night, I saw that there were a whole bunch of tiny ants crawling all over the desk and chair in that part of the room. It was disgusting. I would have requested a new room if I hadn't been right about to go to sleep on my last night--it didn't seem like it was worth changing at that point. The only solidly good things I can say are that the attached restaurant is good (food and staff) and the bell hops who helped with my luggage were super nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Kistewart, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your experience with us. We appreciate your compliments on the kindness of our staff and our wonderful location! We would like to apologize for the less-than-perfect experience you had during your visit. Please know that we have already called our professional pest control company in to swiftly investigate and address this highly unusual issue after hearing about your experience. We hope for the opportunity to better serve you in the future, and we would really appreciate another chance to make this up to you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay in New Orleans

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Location of the hotel is perfect, it puts you right in the action of Bourbon Street.
Cons: The Bathroom in my hotel room was dated, But functional.
Location: Things to do: 1. Bar Hopping on Bourbon street. 2. The City tour 3 The Mississippi river tour 4. The many restaurants in the french quarter
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016
The first room although comfortable very noisey, asked to be moved which they accommodated. The second room although not as nice as the first was quite so all was good as I could sleep. Great location, would stay here again for sure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Room and location was great. Very close to everything
Cons: Too cold room. Had to turn on heat everyday. Also too many weird people in front of the hotel. But that's the way new orleans is.