Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Great stay. Easy walking to the streetcar line. Close to all downtown amenities and resturants
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany NY

Great location, good value

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Overall, decent hotel. Bathroom was tiny, just a toilet and tub,sink was in the main part of the room. Odd. Tub was worn and tired. But the bed was excellent and room was clean. Right on streetcar line with good pubs and restaurants close by. Coffee and a little breakfast included in lobby. Just don't expect 4 or 5 star accommodations and you'll be fine.
5 out of 5
by Mary Anne from Florence

Great Location

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
Great location if you have children and don't want to stay in the French Quarter. The streetcar stop is located right outside of the hotel and you can be downtown in about 10 minutes. Our children loved this hotel and the rooms are larger than a standard hotel room. The only thing missing that they would have liked was a swimming pool. This was our second time to stay at this hotel and it will always be our go-to when visiting New Orleans.
4 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Claudia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Michael from Southport, NC

Garden District deal

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Receptionist very helpful and resolved wifi problem first day. Good location close to several restaurants, right on street car line. Continental breakfast better than average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2015 by Geoffrey, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking your time to post a review about your stay at our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose us for your future trips to New Orleans! Sincerely, Brandon Hernandez Assistant General Manager 504-558-9966
5 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2015 by Geoffrey, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking your time to post a review about your stay at our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose us for your future trips to New Orleans! Sincerely, Brandon Hernandez Assistant General Manager 504-558-9966
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close enough, yet away from party scene.

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: This hotel was in a nice area with the streetcar right out front. Far enough away from noise downtown and the party crowd.
Garden district is really a nice area. Quite, quaint. Hotel staff were knowledgeable about the city and had good recommendations for restaurants and activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2015 by Ken Jenkins , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I do hope you will come back and visit with us again soon. Sincerely,Ken Jenkins GM Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
4 out of 5
by Jose Luis from Houston, TX

Good but not perfect

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
We were mostly pleased, but a few things will keep us from staying here again. Pros: -Perfect location on St. Charles, with streetcar stops right there. -Walking distance to restaurants (Commander's, Magazine St), bars, Walgreens & more. -Very friendly staff. -Clean, relatively updated rooms (albeit not "modern"). Cons -Very loud! We had a room overlooking St. Charles: great for the view, but bad because it meant we could hear the streetcar all night. We were also next to the elevator, & we could hear every ding & every person, including the loud/drunk ones at 3am. Not as bad as in the Quarter, but still bad. -The room was very loud on the inside. The AC clicked on & off loudly (as if someone were opening/closing a door), & there were repeated clicks & taps coming from the walls/ceilings that we couldn't ID. Made it hard to go back to sleep. -Awful Wifi. Despite there being 3+ different options, none were reliable. I used my phone's data connection instead; my wife's iPad was useless. -No channel guide on the TV & no numbers/names for the channels. Took forever to find something, & then took forever to get back to it. -Despite being told we could order room service from the restaurant downstairs, we were denied when we tried to order a slice of cheesecake. All in all, more positives than negatives, & at a good price. But we'll try a different hotel in the same general area/price range on our next trip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel California

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
Can you say "Hotel California"? This was the strangest hotel I have ever stayed in. Yes it had some art-deco features but it was weird, old & beat up. The carpet was as nasty as the carpet in the New Orleans airport & not as clean. The rooms were funky (lamp mirror & picture all crammed on top of each other in a corner). No one else appeared to be staying there. The walls need paint really badly. The corners of the bathroom need to be cleaned. they need a shower curtain that doesn't rest on the bottom of the tub getting slimy. the fully mirrored elevator is disorienting & adds to the Hotel California feel. "you can never leave.." The sheets & towels were very clean & the beds comfortable. But get rid of the nasty stained bed-skirts! Don't count on eating at the Cheesecake Restaurant next door if you have a peanut allergy. As three employees there told us "everything has peanuts in it". Parking was not an issue at all. There is a free valet service manned by the nicest staff.