Ratings based on 359 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville NC

Close to 70.3 ironman

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Name changed after we booked. Comfortable clean bed. Bathroom needed some repair. Pleasant staff. Good hot breakfast. Building a bit tired. Better than some of the other hotels in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Kept having problems with the room key. Nice and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy drive to Bourbon

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Quiet hotel...decent breakfast...close to hwy...the pool was nice. The rooms were clean & comfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Great for the price

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Breakfast had a lot of options, bagels, cereal, eggs, sausage, muffins, yogurt and my favorite- DIY waffles!! Had to get up early for eggs though.
Cons: Hallways and lobby need updating- correct sign on building/street would be less confusing once owner is confirmed.
Location: 20 minutes from quarter/ downtown NOLA. Right beside highway, hospital, gas, waffle house, pizza, bank, and shopping.
Hotel was reasonable price, 20 minutes from French Quarter, had good breakfast as long as you woke up before 8am to get eggs. Definitely needs some updating and dusting. Not even called Clarion, the hotel sign and building says Avalon Hotel and they were just purchased by Marriott I think the staff said. One staff member was great, another blamed me for our key not working one evening when we returned (said I had it in my purse and phone messed it up). I am fairly certain our bedding was never changed but they were made everyday. We basically wanted a place to sleep between touristy stuff in NOLA. It worked, fine for price and felt safe. It is close to the highway, a hospital, gas, food and a Chase bank. Convenient for the price but I am sure it will be much better when the owning company updates. (Had bamboo framing around lights and cobwebs in ironwork in dining area and elevator lined with mirrors).
2 out of 5
by James from Kansas City

No longer the Clairion and no shuttle service

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is no longer the Clarion; it's not the Avalon. There's no shuttle service, which is why we selected it in the first place. Because of this we moved to the Marriot in Metaire, which was great!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Downtown

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: The hotel offered breakfast included in the room rate but it was really disappointing, they did not refill the dishes during breakfast time.
Location: Excellent location
Excellent staff. The Hotel changed his brand from Clarion Inn to Avalon Hotel and did not advice this information, my family and I got lost trying to find the hotel. The hotel offered breakfast included in the room rate but it was really disappointing, they did not refill the dishes during breakfast time. Some guests decided to have their breakfast outside for this situation instead to ask for it. Some food, as cup cakes were not fresh and yogurts were expired.
4 out of 5
by Luis E

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Luis E

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Don't judge a book by its cover

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Didn't look great driving up, but once inside was actually quite nice. Breakfast was excellent. Had bacon sausage and eggs as well as waffles and cereals. Excellent price for location compared to others in the city
2 out of 5
by Myron from Greenwood In

This is not a Clarion,it's something else.

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
we arrived at about 9pm and couldn't find the hotel.Our garmin said we had arrived, but there was no Clarion to be found. so we dug out the paperwork and called the # on the booking sheet.The person picking up the phone said Avalon Inn formally the Clarion. We asked where they were located and the Gal said we are off the service road on I-10, I knew that as I was already there. after about 10 minutes we rolled in to the Avalon not Clarion Inn. The gal at the desk wasnt very sweet,and seemed either new or just didnt know what she was doing. Took us about 20 minutes to get booked in. Room was ok but really should have been better as we booked at a Clarion. Breakfast was good the 1st day. Eggs/Bacon/bagels/cereal etc. 2nd day,we were ready to leave to see the sights,stopped in at 8:30am no eggs/did have 5 pieces of sausage/bagels/cereal. 3rd day no eggs/no bacon or sausage/no syrup for the waffles/no milk for the cereal.One of the reasons I book hotels in for a breakfast as we like to get out and see the sights and not have to stop and get something.I don't complain,I just don't ever go back.The neighborhood looked as though it still was recovering from Katrina,which was neither good or bad.I understand it takes time for these things to turn around and with some business leaving and never coming back it has to be hard on the people living in the area.Places to eat near by are sparce