Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced, Low Quality B&B

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
The B&B is located in a nice area, but it is way overpriced for what it is. The rooms have tiny TVs, no desk in the rooms, breakfast is from 8:30-9:30 AM - only 1 hour! which is ridiculous. The breakfast food is low quality. In fact, you get a better breakfast at the Super 8 which is a low quality chain hotel. I would expect more from a B&B in New Orleans. Nicole, the girl who checked me in, was very nice, but the lady who operated the breakfast area was not friendly or welcoming at all. Not sure if she is the owner, but she really should not be working at a B&B. I travel a lot, and stay at a lot of B&Bs and this is the worst B&B I have ever stayed in. To expensive for what you get. I will not stay at this place again, and I would recommend that you pay a little more for a better experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
It was our first time for bed and breakfast accomodations for our several trips. This was a pleasant and excellent experience. My daughter had gymnastics competions in New Orleans.The place was clean and organize .It feels like you are at your own house with services. Ross was so nice to wait for us till 2 am to open the gate because of our flight delayed twice. Thank you. Excelent Staff and services . Affordable and I will recommend this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Friendly staff, Excellent location.

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Location, one block off Saint Charles.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Location is excellent, I walked to Couchon and many other attractions. I also walked to the French Quarter where there are many places to eat and man
Overall, I was very satisfied with my stay at Fairchild B&B.
5 out of 5
by Mia

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Had a wonderful stay at the Fairchild! Great location- friendly staff!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Aurora, CO

Not a fan of antique, so bit disappointed

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Easy walk to street car service to all of New Orleans (we went only to French Quarter & Mississippi riverfront). Experienced New Orleans 1841.
Cons: Managing shower/tub use could be a bit challenging ... its a huge step up and into the old bathtub (the shower curtain refused to stay out ofthe drain
Location: 1 1/2 blocks to public trans. 4-5 block walk to National WWII museum (a must see). Very nice restaurants 2-3 blocks.
Arrived at locked front gate to property (noting iron plate on gate "Fairchild House circa 1841") ... Oh, oh. A summons button at gate quickly brought hostess to open the gate and escorted us to the "front desk" to check in. Stowed our gear (room wouldn't be ready until 2p). Began our trek to the French Quarter riding public trans street car (RTD stop 1 1/2 blocks from Fairchild House, 15 minute ride, $.40! Senior, $1.25 full fare, $3.00 24hr pass), a unique and fun experience for us. Returned to the Fairchild House B n B early evening to find our luggage still in the reception area ... attending young man said he "was going to take our luggage to our room" ... gathered up our hefty 3 bags and headed up a very narrow staircase of some 18 steps (uffda!) to our room ... voila! ... our room for 2 days. Comfortable bed, creaky! creaky! 1841 wooden floor, 19 inch tv (but who goes to New Orleans to watch television), bathroom door necessary to coax to close, bear-claw style tub and retro'd shower curtain on suspended circular rod/frame. Nice, quaint breakfast room in adjacent house. Typical continental style breakfast of dry cereal, bagels/muffins, juice, coffee. Very, very congenial and gracious property manager Beatrice hosted the breakfast room.
4 out of 5
by Russell

Affordable and nice place to stay

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay. Quiet, clean, comfortable and near lots of things to do in the garden district. Not a fancy hotel but affordable and nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location to Bourbon St & French Quarter

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at the Fairchild House from 12/31/16 to 1/1/17 - I have always wanted to stay at a Bed and Breakfast and the location was ideal, being very close to Bourbon Street and the French Quarter. We were also within walking distance to the famous Layfette Cemetery (about 10 blks away on the same street and Washington Street). The room could use some updating though - fresh paint and the TV updated to a more current model (very old). The room was very clean when we arrived. The service was very good - when we checked in, the owner's granddaughter was very helpful providing us with a printed map of Bourbon Street and the French Quarter highlighting all of the hot spots to see and do. The breakfast each morning was wonderful - the owner actually made my eggs herself!! I felt very at home and comfortable during my stay and would recommend it to future visitors.
5 out of 5
by Silia

Great vacation stay

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Because of the holiday season, at first we were into a tiny but still very cozy room. After 2 days, the adorable tenant, Beatriz, changed us to another room when we decided to extend our stay : king size bed, chimney and wonderful decor. The staff at Fairchild house is absolutely wonderful and the neighborhood is great. I highly recommend it !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Bed was difficult to sleep in. Any movement caused the headboard to slam the wall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and worth the price

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Cute but old and worn down, our curtains were singed and theyou don't have an elevator. Nice simple breakfast but only one hour from 8:30 to 9:30. Easy walk to the trolley. Quiet neighborhood but thin walls.