Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FLORIDA

Authentic old New Orleans B & B

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: It reminded me of my grandmother's house with antiques and substantial construction. Huge floor to ceiling windows!
Cons: We had the king room with a day bed in a adjoining room. It would have been nice to have a standard pillow readily available for our 3rd person.
Location: There are restaurants and other points of interest but we were there only 2 1/2 days so I cannot list them.
Perfect location just outside of French Quarter. Easy trolley ride in, with a stop just one block away. This is an old house with character, not a boutique hotel. The breakfast in the morning was made in house by owner Beatriz. No issue with parking and the staff was helpful in making suggestions during our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Historic B&B in the lower Garden District

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Breakfast fare was excellent, offering a good selection. Friendly atmosphere for the guests, and the owner was most helpful with information.
Cons: Although clean, a freshening up of the room would make a difference, especially shampooing the carpets and rug.
Quaint buildings and rear garden on a quiet street, but with easy access to transit, neighborhood stores and within walking distance to downtown. A friendly welcome on arrival and we looked forward to breakfast in the large, cheerful dining room. The owner was most helpful with tour advice and suggestions for activities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Piece of history by the trolley line

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Old world charm, excellent large bed and nice courtyard. Great location away from the French Quarter, Quiet, safe, free on street parking
Cons: The window unit did not sufficiently cool the room. The maids never made up our room even after we made a specific request at the front desk
Location: Commander's Palace restaurant, historic old homes. French Quarter is one mile away.
The window unit did not sufficiently cool the room. The maids never made up our room even after we made a specific request at the front desk. Old world charm, excellent large bed and nice courtyard.
4 out of 5
by Donald from Leesville, La

Perfect for a pre-cruise stay.

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
This was our second stay at Fairchild House. The staff was friendly. Our room was very comfortable. This is a perfect spot for a pre-cruise stay. It is very close to the port. The buildings are a bit dated, but this adds to their charm. We were able to take a stroll to find something to eat, as many good dining options were close by.
4 out of 5
by Gina from Santa Rosa Beach, FL

Awesome Location!

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
The location was perfect for what we wanted to do (only a block and a half from streetcar stop) which was explore and get around New Orleans. Almost everything was no more than a streetcar ride (or 2 or 3) away which was awesome! It is a safe neighborhood and a very cool, historic house. The breakfast was fantastic and the Inn Keepers are really nice! The room could have used some updating, definitely the bed, but overall we'd stay there again in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama City FL

Exceeds Expectations

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of staff
Cons: Beds are full size and I sleep on a queen size.
Location: Location is safe and quiet with nearby restaurants and trolley for transportation. Driving in New Orleans tourist attraction seem challenging.
From the first minute of the visit my wife and I were greeted and checked in. The desk person gave us a map of the area and took time to explain different areas of interest on the map along with transportation options. The desk person walked us to the room and went in the room with us. Also we had options on parking with no cost. It was nice after seeing the sites to sit on the front porch and talk with other guests. Area is safe, quiet, and short walking distance to nearby restaurants and trolley system. Breakfast is continental and good. First time in a bed and breakfast and experience was great.
4 out of 5
by becky from Gilbert AZ

Charming, Vintage stay

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
Fairchild house is a cross between staying at Disneyland's Haunted House and your Grandma's - in a totally good way! The buildings are charming and the room was comfortable, cozy and cool (important for June in NOLA!) Everything looks 50-100 years old, but again, In A Good Way. The bed was comfortable, with a down duvet/ plenty of pillows and the bathroom was spotless. All of the employees were super helpful and friendly - helping us find taxis and a terrific little vegan restaurant right down the street when we arrived late at night. Oh My. The Breakfast. Greek yogurt,fresh fruit & honey. Bagels & several types of bread & jams. Meat & cheese board. Homemade Bread Pudding with candied orange peel & fresh cherries ( this alone was worth the trip) all eaten at an antique table covered with a vintage lace tablecloth while the servers bustle around making sure you have everything you need. Loved it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, cozy & close to trolley

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Everything!!!! Large bathroom. Incredibly comfortable bed!! Staff beyond accommodating!!
Cons: Nothing!!!
Location: Perfect location,1 block from the trolley.Lots of wonderful restaurants, shops & a delectable praline bakery within a block!
We had such a great time!! Perfect location! A block from the trolley & maybe 10 minutes to Bourbon Street! The staff was beyond accommodating & our room was spotless! We parked our car in their parking & never used it until we checked out 2 1/2 days later! The bed was so comfortable we slept in every single morning! We were too late for breakfast but when we poked our head in an hour after the buffet breakfast, they stopped putting everything up for us! How awesome is that?!!! They have a beautiful, relaxing courtyard to read, chill, nap, whatever! We My husband & I would recommend Fairchild House to everyone we know & will certainly stay here on our next holiday, get-away to New Orleans!!!
4 out of 5
by Kyle

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Nice quiet B&B
4 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels