Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FLORIDA

Authentic old New Orleans B & B

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: It reminded me of my grandmother's house with antiques and substantial construction. Huge floor to ceiling windows!
Cons: We had the king room with a day bed in a adjoining room. It would have been nice to have a standard pillow readily available for our 3rd person.
Location: There are restaurants and other points of interest but we were there only 2 1/2 days so I cannot list them.
Perfect location just outside of French Quarter. Easy trolley ride in, with a stop just one block away. This is an old house with character, not a boutique hotel. The breakfast in the morning was made in house by owner Beatriz. No issue with parking and the staff was helpful in making suggestions during our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Historic B&B in the lower Garden District

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Breakfast fare was excellent, offering a good selection. Friendly atmosphere for the guests, and the owner was most helpful with information.
Cons: Although clean, a freshening up of the room would make a difference, especially shampooing the carpets and rug.
Quaint buildings and rear garden on a quiet street, but with easy access to transit, neighborhood stores and within walking distance to downtown. A friendly welcome on arrival and we looked forward to breakfast in the large, cheerful dining room. The owner was most helpful with tour advice and suggestions for activities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Piece of history by the trolley line

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Old world charm, excellent large bed and nice courtyard. Great location away from the French Quarter, Quiet, safe, free on street parking
Cons: The window unit did not sufficiently cool the room. The maids never made up our room even after we made a specific request at the front desk
Location: Commander's Palace restaurant, historic old homes. French Quarter is one mile away.
The window unit did not sufficiently cool the room. The maids never made up our room even after we made a specific request at the front desk. Old world charm, excellent large bed and nice courtyard.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama City FL

Exceeds Expectations

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of staff
Cons: Beds are full size and I sleep on a queen size.
Location: Location is safe and quiet with nearby restaurants and trolley for transportation. Driving in New Orleans tourist attraction seem challenging.
From the first minute of the visit my wife and I were greeted and checked in. The desk person gave us a map of the area and took time to explain different areas of interest on the map along with transportation options. The desk person walked us to the room and went in the room with us. Also we had options on parking with no cost. It was nice after seeing the sites to sit on the front porch and talk with other guests. Area is safe, quiet, and short walking distance to nearby restaurants and trolley system. Breakfast is continental and good. First time in a bed and breakfast and experience was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, cozy & close to trolley

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Everything!!!! Large bathroom. Incredibly comfortable bed!! Staff beyond accommodating!!
Cons: Nothing!!!
Location: Perfect location,1 block from the trolley.Lots of wonderful restaurants, shops & a delectable praline bakery within a block!
We had such a great time!! Perfect location! A block from the trolley & maybe 10 minutes to Bourbon Street! The staff was beyond accommodating & our room was spotless! We parked our car in their parking & never used it until we checked out 2 1/2 days later! The bed was so comfortable we slept in every single morning! We were too late for breakfast but when we poked our head in an hour after the buffet breakfast, they stopped putting everything up for us! How awesome is that?!!! They have a beautiful, relaxing courtyard to read, chill, nap, whatever! We My husband & I would recommend Fairchild House to everyone we know & will certainly stay here on our next holiday, get-away to New Orleans!!!
4 out of 5
by Kyle

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Nice quiet B&B
4 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very old historic building - really wows you from the outside. Inside needs much improvement. Room was clean, but paint chipping off the walls, furniture was old (not as in antique) and shabby and arranged in a disarray. TV was the size of a small computer monitor (needed binoculars to see screen from across the room!!).
3 out of 5
by Michael from Illinois

Good location, but lacking in comfort

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
The location is the selling point - only a block from the St. Charles trolley line and many excellent restaurants. Naturally, there are some privations in a building that is 175 years old. Plaster peeling, low water pressure, creaking floorboards, etc. That didn't really bother us, as we went in expecting that. But our room was uncomfortable and lacking in modern touches. The television was so tiny I could barely see it, and it was at a right angle to the bed, making watching it almost an Olympic sport. Of course, we weren't in New Orleans to watch TV all day. The bathroom is laid out awkwardly, with nowhere to put soap, etc. Our biggest complaint was the breakfast. It is pretty much the same continental fare one would find in a budget motel. The first couple of days, we were offered freshly made hot entrees including egg streudel and sausage (delicious). But after those first two days, nothing but the basics: bagels, cold cereal and some fruit. I will say that the dining area is very nice, evoking tea parties in the Golden Era. No elevator in the building housing the rooms, by the way, so if you're on the second floor expect some climbing. The courtyard is nice and the entire place is gated, so it is very safe. Guests are given a key to the gate. Free parking is also a plus. Service is good.
3 out of 5
by Randy from Independence, LA

OK place.

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Overall it was a good experience. Friendly staff. Clean and adequate room. Old New Orleans charm. Safe neighborhood (as safe as you get in the Big Easy). Short walk to numerous restaurants and trolley stops. However, no desk or anything to use as a desk in room, no refrigerator in room or ice available, and outlets were all 2-prong (except one in the bathroom) so I couldn't use my c-pap machine or plug-in my laptop.