Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Lovely Garden District B&B

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Everyone on the staff was very kind and helpful. They gave me a map, directions to the streetcar and nearby restaurants, as well as tips on dealing with the weather. The room was cozy, and the bed was super comfortable. At night, light from the hallway came in through the doorframe, but I like that, because I hate waking up in a pitch black room. The water pressure wasn't very strong and the shower stall is quite small, so it took me longer than usual to wash my long hair and shave my legs. Apart from that, no complaints. Continental breakfast is included, and it was heartier than I thought it would be. There's coffee, tea, milk, cereal, fruit, yogurt, toast, bagels, marmalades, cream cheese, and peanut butter. On the weekends they also have eggs. The available food was good and it's nice to start a touristy day with a full tummy. The location is very convenient, a block away from the St. Charles streetcar. It's very easy to get to the French Quarter on the streetcar. It's about a $10 uber to get there or $1.25 on the streetcar. I highly recommend Fairchild House. I enjoyed my stay there very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location reasonably priced

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Great location, street car is a short walk away. Staff is polite and accommodating, we drove in at 1 am from TX and someone was on duty to get us situated. Wonderful historical building with some original furniture. Room was clean and spacious. Cons: website promised protected parking but we had to park on the street. Advice: check travel sites for discounted pricing. We were able to book for ~20% less than the pricing given to us over the phone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fairchild House

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
We had a lovely downstairs room. The owner, Beatrice, was very helpful each morning at breakfast with suggestions and directions. One block from the trolley line gave access to most of the city. Many restaurants within two blocks.
3 out of 5
by William

So Much Potential...

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
My wife and myself used to live in this area and we were very interested in staying in an old NOLA style house compared to the typical hotel. Get off Bourbon St. and explore the Garden District! We got in fairly late and the desk attendant was extremely friendly and engaging (like many of the residents). As for the good: - Extremely clean - Location, location, location - Quiet - Had no issues watching our bags at the desk even after we checked out and had a day to continue to enjoy the city - Free Wi-Fi - Microfridge Now for the negatives, which I hate to say there were a few - This is an old place (built in the 1870s I believe). It does have the charm of old south living, but it certainly does need some renovations. - I am fairly sure a floor board was completely cracked through and it was covered with a rug (if not cracked, it certainly was bowing an extreme amount). An ordainment on the headboard was broken off (we had no idea before), fell and landed on my head while watching TV. - The bathtub/shower situation HAS to change. Your options were scalding hot water or ice cold water at an extreme low pressure. The shower head was below my eye level (I'm 5'9"). And the SHOWER CURTAINS....the set-up has the curtains about as wide as the tub itself, so you are CONSTANTLY being attacked and stuck to the shower curtains. It made showering extremely difficult We love the city, will return again, but unfortunately will not be at the Fairchild House
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Easton Pa

Nice stay.

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: clean room. Friendly staff.
Staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming !

Posted May 7, 2017
Aside from being friendly, clean and comfortable, it is a beautiful and charming place because of its old Victorian design with an outside porch and table. I would definitely like to come here again.
5 out of 5
by Margaret

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Valencia

It was an okay experience

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was AWESOME!!! Rooms small and furniture outdated. Shower water stayed warm for 5 minutes. Sink had a slow drain as well.
4 out of 5
by James

The price is right !

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at Fairchild. It is a nice old B and B on the seedier end of Prytania St. In NOLA. The rooms are small but comfortable and the price is right. On site parking for all guests would be a plus, but overall it was a good experience with its friendly staff and Audrey the dog!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Sweet and Quaint...must visit again!

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Loved being so close to my favorite Garden District and excellent location for WWII museum