Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Historic B&B in the lower Garden District

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Breakfast fare was excellent, offering a good selection. Friendly atmosphere for the guests, and the owner was most helpful with information.
Cons: Although clean, a freshening up of the room would make a difference, especially shampooing the carpets and rug.
Quaint buildings and rear garden on a quiet street, but with easy access to transit, neighborhood stores and within walking distance to downtown. A friendly welcome on arrival and we looked forward to breakfast in the large, cheerful dining room. The owner was most helpful with tour advice and suggestions for activities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Piece of history by the trolley line

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Old world charm, excellent large bed and nice courtyard. Great location away from the French Quarter, Quiet, safe, free on street parking
Cons: The window unit did not sufficiently cool the room. The maids never made up our room even after we made a specific request at the front desk
Location: Commander's Palace restaurant, historic old homes. French Quarter is one mile away.
The window unit did not sufficiently cool the room. The maids never made up our room even after we made a specific request at the front desk. Old world charm, excellent large bed and nice courtyard.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama City FL

Exceeds Expectations

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of staff
Cons: Beds are full size and I sleep on a queen size.
Location: Location is safe and quiet with nearby restaurants and trolley for transportation. Driving in New Orleans tourist attraction seem challenging.
From the first minute of the visit my wife and I were greeted and checked in. The desk person gave us a map of the area and took time to explain different areas of interest on the map along with transportation options. The desk person walked us to the room and went in the room with us. Also we had options on parking with no cost. It was nice after seeing the sites to sit on the front porch and talk with other guests. Area is safe, quiet, and short walking distance to nearby restaurants and trolley system. Breakfast is continental and good. First time in a bed and breakfast and experience was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, cozy & close to trolley

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Everything!!!! Large bathroom. Incredibly comfortable bed!! Staff beyond accommodating!!
Cons: Nothing!!!
Location: Perfect location,1 block from the trolley.Lots of wonderful restaurants, shops & a delectable praline bakery within a block!
We had such a great time!! Perfect location! A block from the trolley & maybe 10 minutes to Bourbon Street! The staff was beyond accommodating & our room was spotless! We parked our car in their parking & never used it until we checked out 2 1/2 days later! The bed was so comfortable we slept in every single morning! We were too late for breakfast but when we poked our head in an hour after the buffet breakfast, they stopped putting everything up for us! How awesome is that?!!! They have a beautiful, relaxing courtyard to read, chill, nap, whatever! We My husband & I would recommend Fairchild House to everyone we know & will certainly stay here on our next holiday, get-away to New Orleans!!!
3 out of 5
by Randy from Independence, LA

OK place.

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Overall it was a good experience. Friendly staff. Clean and adequate room. Old New Orleans charm. Safe neighborhood (as safe as you get in the Big Easy). Short walk to numerous restaurants and trolley stops. However, no desk or anything to use as a desk in room, no refrigerator in room or ice available, and outlets were all 2-prong (except one in the bathroom) so I couldn't use my c-pap machine or plug-in my laptop.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Nice innkeepers, who were very helpful. The property is a bit run down, however. The breakfast is nothing special.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted May 7, 2016
The staff were welcoming and the hotel was in a convenient location. Close to public transport and restaurants. The hotel also provided onsite parking and a nice breakfast. We enjoyed our 2 night stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by myki

Lovely jazz fest vacation

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
This location is great I'd you're looking to,spend time strolling down magazine street, which is exactly what we did. Also the st Charles street car is a short walk away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming, classy place in a great location!

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed at the Fairchild House while I was at a conference at the Convention Center. The Fairchild House was a short walk from my conference, less than 15 minutes away. The hotel was beautiful, classy and charming. The location was great - exactly where I'd like to live if I lived in New Orleans! It's a small, family-run place, so it doesn't have the around-the-clock desk staff of a larger hotel, but I'd say that's a small trade-off for what it offers.