Ratings based on 872 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More Convenient Than You Might Think

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Near the navy base.
Cons: The housekeeping staff lacked enthusiasm. A shuttle to the ferry would be nice.
Although Federal City Inn & Suites is on the west side of the Mississippi it is very conveniently located. You can take the ferry across the river at Algiers point for only $2 each and save a bundle on parking fees. If you don't want to eat in the city for every meal there are lots of restaurants about 2 miles away on General DeGaul Drive. Our suite included a mini-kitchen where we'd prepare our own breakfast. The staff at the front desk were top-notch. We would certainly stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Clean
Cons: run down area
Location: not much to do near by. must drive to get something to eat or entertainment
Room was very clean, Close to bus stop, staff friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Exceeded my expectation. Hotel clean staff curtious. Safe area and close to downtown without the expense of staying downtown.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable stay

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Rooms are spacious with kitchenette - in a quiet neighborhood.
Cons: The air conditioner in our room was a bit noisy and there is no elevator, so those who cannot manage steps should request a room on the first floor.
Location: Just a short drive to Old Algiers shops and restaurants and the ferry to the French Quarter.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SLC

I'm town for a few days

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Nice room for the price. Room was clean and spacious. Area is quiet. No traffic. Not in walking distance to anything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Highly Recommended. Excellent staff.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Located inside the compound of a US Navy Facility, this hotel is excellent. Very clean and the staff were very friendly and warm. None of the usual New Orleans hustle of trying to nickel and dime you to death. The rooms were very clean and huge in size. A fitness facility is located right across the street from the hotel. For $7, you can enjoy the facility for a whole day. With an Olympic size swimming pool, and a theme park environment, the exercise was fun. This hotel gives you New Orleans with a sub urban feel. Hardly any vehicles ply the road it is located on. If you want peace and quite, this is the place for you. The only drawback is the lack of restaurants in the area. The hotel did not have any restaurants and didn't offer the usual continental breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 3, 2016
The hotel is located in a secluded area next to a Naval Base, The hotel looks more rundown than the online pictures would indicate. This is definitely a no frills hotel, including no elevator. We had to haul our luggage up the stairs. The room was large and clean. There were only two pillows on the bed. There was shampoo, but no conditioner for the shower. I picked this hotel because I thought it would be fun to ride the ferry into New Orleans, and it proved to be a great way to get to the French Quarter. If I had to do it again, though, I would not choose this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Clean,and quiet Good price but far from downtown ( must have a car)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OK

This place is a real gem

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Location: While the hotel is tucked away in a quiet area, it's close enough to major streets and highways to access local attractions, restaurants and events.
I travel to New Orleans regularly and this is my favorite place to stay. The rooms are spacious, the staff is friendly, the rates are affordable and I love that they have a kitchenette. That combination is hard to find. Federal City Inn & Suites is my number one choice every time I'm in New Orleans.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kearny nj

no place to eat in the hotel or local area

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: very bad location there is nothing to do in the area you need a cab to go across the river thats where all the places to eat and things to do are
the desk was helpful in getting us a cab which we needed because we are in the middle of nothing