Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Perfect Location, Great Staff

Posted Jan 3, 2017
The location could not be more perfect. You are right in the heart of all the action on Frenchmen St., with the French Market, Cafe Du Monde, and all the excitement of the French Quarter a short (and safe) walk or streetcar ride away. The nearest streetcar station is only a block away toward the river. Warning to all: Frenchmen St is LOUD, quite late into the evening, but the hotel walls are pretty thick and drowned out most of the noise. If you're an early riser and need silence to sleep, requesting a room near the back of the hotel should work perfectly. There is still a communal balcony on both the second and third floors for all to enjoy the music and people watching of some of Frenchmen's greatest music clubs. The staff was wonderful, doing their very best to be accomodating and ensure the safety of their guests. No one gets into this hotel without a key or a guest letting them in personally. There is someone watching the door 24 hours a day. Felt very reassuring. Lastly, the facilities are a bit dated but they are kept very clean. The rooms have a full kitchen and living room with fold out couch, along with a separate bedroom, so it's perfectly laid out for families or groups of friends looking to share a room but also have some privacy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Lonnie C, GM, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Frenchmen Street is indeed in the heart of the Jazz and Blues scene. It can be quite loud at times. It is also good to hear that you felt safe and that our staff took good care of you during your stay. Please come back and visit us again on your next trip to our historic city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location!!!

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Great place to stay in the French quarter. You can hear the jazz bands playing right across the street! Located near many attractions
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Lonnie C, GM, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and time in our historic city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Painting of stairs and railings on a busy Holiday weekend was not appreciated. Tiny bathroom but huge closet with no hangars. It would be great if they could extend the bathroom using some closet space
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and Homey

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
We loved it there it was a great place for our family that includes my 5 yr old to stay. There was 6 of us so at a hotel we would have paid double the price because we would needed 2 rooms. The neighborhood has several jazz/blues clubs so we could hear the live music out on the Terrace but we could barely hear it in the inside the condo. Walking distance to pretty much the whole French quarters. Awesome friendly people working there that helped us with anything we needed if not they found an answer for us. Very secure you need a code to get in the front gate then ur key to get in you room. They also have a security camera system.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome location but needs to be cleaned better

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
There was some confusion with the check in time. I was under the impression that it was 3pm but it was actually 4pm. They only allow one $12 spot per room but there were plenty of spots in that lot where they could have offered 2. The room itself didn't seem too clean. (the floors and tub especially) Be prepared to hear loud music until 4am on the weekend. Saturday night was loud but Sunday wasn't as loud. Of course the loud music may not be an issue depending on your purpose of the trip. We liked the two bedroom apartment set up and the location is great. We were able to walk to Bourbon from the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Would have been nice to use jaqquzi at night, for my tired sore legs and feet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
It was amazing. We could hear live music from the balcony.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
This is the third yr in a row we've had a CHICK VACATION in New Orleans at 519 Frenchman ! One wk a yr away from husbands , children , grandchildren & work . We'll be returning every yr ! Annual Chick trip ! Very safe place to stay in the middle of the action .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Frenchmen find

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is perfect for live music and proximity to everything on frenchmen street. No elevators so request room accordingly. Wifi is super spotty further away from office you get. Needs new pillows in rooms, but rooms are clean, spacious, nice kitchens and bath, although counter space in bathroom could be improved ! Staff is fabulous and very helpful!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the Review! We at the Frenchmen Orleans at 519 are happy that you found your stay with us enjoyable. We strive daily to improve our guests experience and will take your comments into consideration, especially concerning the pillow comfort. Please consider staying with us upon your next visit to our historic city, Sincerely, Lonnie C General Manager