Ratings based on 1,537 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Great location! We were able to get around by walking or using the trolley and the hotel was a perfect location! Had some trouble with the water temperature in the shower and the carpet was not very clean. Didn't say anything since we were only staying one night. The staff at the front desk was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon, Ohio

the total N'Awlins experience

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: It was just cool. The perfect place close to the Quarter. Nuff said.
Cons: The toilet paper.
Location: Cmon three blocks from the Quarter, great food everywhere. People anytime. Trolleys, music, history. More fun than you could ask for. Miss my city/
I had the best time at night and in the morning. Sam and Jordan and co. did a great job out front. very helpful. My morning walks thru the city were amazing. I talked to a lot of interesting people and got some great pictures. Put on 10 lbs. so the food was great. Swamp tour was a blast. Coops dinner fantastic. Muffalotta... yum. I need more words.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
the phone did not work, and they would not fin it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Val, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I am sorry to hear of your phone not working. I have shared your comments with our Engineering Team to ensure these issues are handled quickly and effectively so it does not negatively impact our guests' stays. We appreciate you staying with us and do hope the next time you are in the area, you will let us treat you to a much improved visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Surprised.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
We called Expedia to tell them we had an emergency and weren't able to show up on April 12, first night of our five night stay. Expedia assured us we will have room for April 13 to 17. We showed up at the hotel only to find our reservation was cancelled. We were surprised and confused, We had to reserve again through Expedia for a room. Now, we are being charged full price for the five nights originally and another four nights when we showed up. We request that Expedia please cancel our first booking reservation total charge.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by val, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share this review. I am sorry to hear of the issue you had with Expedia. Unfortunately, we can not help directly in this case, but if you contact Expedia I am sure they can assist you. When they contact us, we will share your account with them as well. We do hope that the issue will be resolved for you soon. Thank you very much for visiting with us and we would be honored to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel friendly staff and great location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Our first time in New Orleans! Loved this hotels location on the streetcar line and within walking distance of the French quarter. Staff were accommodating and friendly. Would stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Val, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share this wonderful review. I am also happy to hear our staff was accommodating and friendly. Thank you very much for visiting with us and we would be honored to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Perfect location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
The only downside I would say is the shower head didn't have good pressure and I needed extra pillows and blankets and it was an hour before we got them and it was so late already that we didn't get to sleep until midnight. But it was perfect location.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by val, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share this wonderful review. I am truly sorry to hear of the shower head and pillow issues you had, Thank you very much for visiting with us and we would be honored to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel walking distance to major attractions

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness
We stayed in this hotel 2 nights after a cruise. The hotel is within walking distance to major attractions, such as Bourbon Street, French Market, and Cafe Du Monde. There are also many restaurants nearby that deliver food if needed. Our second night we had a noise complaint for the room next door that was quickly addressed by hotel staff, which was also appreciated. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by val, Hotel Management
Thanks you for taking a moment to share this wonderful review. We are truly thrilled that both our location and our guest service catered to you. We pride ourselves in providing top-notch service surrounded by a fun and exciting downtown area. We appreciate the recommendation very much and would be honored to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

View of a brick wall

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Our room was dark and noise was a problem. We faced a brick wall 2 feet from our windows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Velda, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry about the room type and the lighting in the room. Thanks to your feedback we are taking care of the lights in the room. We would be honored to have you back again to provide you with the great hospitality that you are accustomed to.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No more pool after 8

Posted Apr 14, 2017
We really used to enjoy playing pool on the concierge level. New mgmt closes it at 8:00 which is very lame. Need to provide this as a service to your business customers!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by VAL, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share this review. We are truly sorry about the Executive Lounge closing at 8pm. I will be sharing your concerns with our management team to assess a new plan for the Executive Lounge, so every guest can enjoy this perk at their own pleasure. We appreciate you letting us accommodate you and would be honored to welcome you back for a much improved stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

Great Hotel with Great Location

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The room was very spacious (it was a handicap room) and it was quiet for how central the location is. We also really enjoyed the restaurant Luke insi
Cons: The only negative we had was that the water pressure was very low and the temperature was all over the place.
Location: Walking distance to the French Quarter!
We really enjoyed our stay at this Hilton property! The room was very spacious (it was a handicap room) and it was quiet for how central the location is. We also really enjoyed the restaurant Luke inside the property. You can't beat their happy hour deal on drinks and oysters! The only negative we had was that the water pressure was very low and the temperature was all over the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by val, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share this wonderful review, we are truly thrilled that you had a great time with us. We would be honored to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.