Ratings based on 1,128 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not kept up very well

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Not kept up or repairs to any damage/wear and tear. Not exactly all that clean either. The heat didn’t work in our room and when we plugged up the little heater that was provided the cord got so hot you couldn’t touch it and when asked for another they didn’t have one, so we froze all night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toledo ohio

you get MORE than you pay for!!

Posted Feb 8, 2018
Pros: location and friendly staff
Cons: more coffee
Location: right next door you have voodoo bbq, and a half block down you have the blind pelican which has the best happy hour in the whole city
The place is what it is...at these prices what more can you expect?? It's an old building..the floors are uneven...the steps creak...and thats what we EXPECTED, AND WE LOVED IT!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and definitely BE BACK!!! The location is 2nd to none, with everything you need within walking distance, and the staff was wonderful, including Brandy, who with her hard work and great friendly personality, had us smiling from the minute we walked in!! We have been to N'orleans the past 6 years, and have stayed at 6 different hotels in 6 different areas, but not any more, we will always return to the Streetcar Inn!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Good location and very friendly staff

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: Good location in a very traditional New Orleans building.
Cons: The bed was a little too soft for me.
Location: Trolley car right outside so easy to get around - Zoo, aquarium, IMAX theatre, Steamboat trip on the Mississippi, French Quarter.
Good for getting around New Orleans right on the trolley car route but quiet for sleeping at night. The staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. The hotel did not provide breakfast as advertised and haven't done for a while despite advising Expedia and Booking.com but the Trolley Stop Café was only a short walk away and an excellent place to eat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location But

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Pros: Location. It is right on the streetcar route
This is a great location and the staff are very nice however the overall condition needs some improvement
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Great location to get everywhere on the street car.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, cold and run down old Shack

Posted Jan 31, 2018
Pros: The bed was comfortable and the staff tried to help where they could.
Cons: Mostly everything
Location: Good location for the street car on St. Charles Avenue
This place is very old and had no heat or hot water. We had to get another room as the one we were in was so poor. Nothing worked and no phone. The TV was a joke. Don't waste your money on this run down shack of a hotel. I was not impressed with the staff leaving our door open after they cleaned the room. We arrived back from being away for hours and the door that was just off the street was open for anyone to get in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lafayette

Close to everything

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Change the ad Expedia!
New Orleans style building. Misleading ad by Expedia (staff claims they requested changes) check in is 4pm and there is no free breakfast, just walk a block to the Trolley restaurant for an excellent breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new orleans

Bad experience except for great help from Brandy!

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Bad experience with holes blood and hair in bed sheet. Tried changing thrice with bad bed sheets not cleaned properly. Finally brandy found a good replacement. She helped a lot though maintanence people screwed it up. Claiming for a refund!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapoli

Dirty, Disappointing and Needs Updating

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: It was conveniently located to the streetcar. And there were quite a few nice restaurants close by: Slice, next door, Mr. Ed's, and b'fast places
Cons: Everything!!! Especially training for the front office/desk staff. The rooms we stayed in definitely could have been cleaned better!!
The only good thing about this hotel is they're close to the streetcar.We wanted to stay at a "historic" hotel and get more of the New Orleans experience. What a huge mistake!Our toilet overflowed the very first flush and feces were floating on the bathroom floor!!! They had to shut down the room (the room right over the office-do not stay in that room! I don't think they ever sterilized it).And they moved us to a similar room n said we "may"have to move us? After 2 days, and not hearing from them about any "move", we were pretty settled in our room and luggage completely unpacked.Only to come through the front door on the 3rd night and be told quite directly that "you need to move immediately!!"No forewarning.Very harsh. We had a dinner reservation and moving wasn't even an option for us.We were told an"Asian Man" requested/booked the room and we needed to be out NOW so the house-keepers could clean first thing in the morning."Check-in"is at 3 and housekeeping starts at 8am. Why the rush. What horrible treatment of guests! It was so extremely unprofessional! I asked if we could at least stay in our room until 8am and not have to move after we got back from our dinner that night.They agreed but said we absolutely needed to be out BY 8. Well, at 8AM they did't even have a clean room to put us in! So we had to wait and take even more of our vacation time to deal with this. Turns out 3 women checked into the room. Lies. Good luck if you stay here. You've been warned.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Left me wanting more.

Posted Dec 12, 2017
I picked this Inn because I wanted a more personal touch than the big chains and I thought it would be more authentic NOLA experience. I was disappointed. While the buildings look really romantic from the outside, our room wasn’t. The furniture seemed randomly placed in the room, the decor was lacking, and the refrigerator was noisy. Our room had a very high window that you couldn’t see out of. We tried checking in at 3pm and we were turned away until 4pm. Luckily there’s a great pizza place next door that we hung out in. While the staff was polite, they didn’t really get the southern hospitality. So I would say, it’s fine to stay here but lower your expectations and you’ll be good.