Ratings based on 696 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Less than I expected

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: The old fashion look of the outside and the friendly reception by the employees ( although) no one offered to help with your luggage.
Cons: Up date the rooms.
Location: Great location right on St. Charles Ave, streetcars available right in front of the hotel to take you to the quarter.
The room was very tiny, no room to put your suitcase out. Bath tub had mold all around the caulking. Is not handicap friendly, just stairways to most of the rooms. Price when Dow to almost half from the time I reserved it and 11 days later. I wanted an inexpensive room, but will reconsider that next time. They were very ridged on thier 3 pm check in time, even if it is raining you have to stay on the porch or go somewhere else until it is check in time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

I would go here again!

Posted Jan 16, 2016
I loved it! Glenda the front desk lady was so sweet and very helpful. She was so informational about new orleans and passionate. She told us all the good places and people to ask for and just gave of the inside scoop on new orleans. The hotel was right in front of a streetcar stop and it was very helpful when it came to getting to the French quarter. The room was cute and I love the historical feel of the place. The only downside to the whole place is you have to shower when you think no one else is cause the water got cold fast but it's cool I can't be mad I stayed in a historic place in a very awesome city and I can't wait to go back again! I will stay here everytime I go to new orleans!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to attractions

Posted Jan 16, 2016
No frills, but accommodating. Close to everything, but far enough to be quite
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

RadRoaches oh my!

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Horrible do not stay here. The only good thing about this hotel was that it was close to the convention center. There was giant roaches in the room, no smoke detector, no curtains.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel was old!

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: It was close to the trolley!
Cons: Needs to be remodeled!
Location: location was okay!
We did not have any soap in the room, toilet did not flush good, bed was not comfortable. Room had an odor!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Perfect location. Tasty coffee, fruit, bagels!

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Staff are amazing. Super helpful. Great location. Really good value for the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, NC

Old and Dirty

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Right in front of the street car stop
Cons: Needs updated, cleaned, and repaired.
Location: There is a pizza shop beside the hotel (very good) and there are multiple restaurants and bars within walking distance.
I am a fan of historic homes and can appreciate that some lack of updates, etc are part of the "charm" of a historic building. However, our room was tiny (could barely fit your leg between the wall and bed to get to the other side of the room - we ended up just crossing over the bed most of the time) and dirty (melted ice in the ice container and no liners; hair all over the floor and on our towels). The sheets had holes in them and our sink took hours to drain. We even asked them to work on our sink or volunteered to Draino it if they had any supplies and it was never attended to. The cold water knob on the shower was broken, making it very difficult to shower. Housekeeping only visited our room once, and since we were there (at 5:30 pm), nothing was done. Our bed was never made, etc. Definitely not worth what we were charged. It is right in front of a street car stop and a day pass is only $3.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from home state of Louisiana

Don't ever book this hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: Not very much at all
Cons: They need to lower the prices and clean it up alot
Location: near restaurants, but not very good ones
Great way to sell it, "historic," meaning that it is old, out-of-date in every way, and not clean at all. all desk workers are not very well trained and work strange hours. They are out of touch with customers and do not communicate with each other.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Loved it. .. would stay there again

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Loved it.. very friendly........ ............convenient location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robbin from Fort Worth, Texas

Home for a different view.

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed being a tourist in my city. I moved to Texas after Katrina, and am here for business. Loved the price and the size of the room.