Ratings based on 748 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Don't Fall for the Reviews!

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Location - This is why we chose it.
Cons: Just about everything associated with this place.
I am very shocked that other reviewers gave this hotel a 3.5 rating. I made reservations for our stay over a month in advance for a double room. When checking in I was told that they only had one room left with a more than one bed. The room at three beds. We had to drag our luggage up three flights of stairs to what was essentially an attic. The room had peeling paint and stains on the walls and ceilings. The mattress box springs were stained with what looked like blood. We complained several times to the staff and they were not helpful at all. We paid the same price as everyone else in the hotel to stay in the awful attic space. The staff didn't care about our displeasure as they already had our payment. Needless to say, we will not be staying there again nor would I recommend this discusting place to anyone else. When I let the staff know that my review would be bad, she said "sorry for your unpleasant stay, have a good day." I will also not be using Expedia again if this is the kind of hotel that they recommend to their customers. Very disappointing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Very close to trolly pick up. Clean. Nice breakfast. Very nice staff.
Cons: TV remote for room 21!!
Location: Nice location, however, parking is a problem.
I liked the hotel. However, the TV remote was missing. I asked three staff members to get a remote to no avail. The TV was such it did not work without a remote. The room was clean and was pleasant. The towel racks and door peep hole were very high. I do not recoment anyone staying in room 21. Parking was in short supply. (no fault of the hotel.) I was contantly worried about my vehicle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Cons: The attitude of the guy that welcomed us. He wasn't very welcoming.
Location: Good restaurants around. Near Garden district and french quarter.
Didn't stay more than two days so don't have much to say
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs galore

Posted Apr 9, 2016
While the location was good for my purposes, I've been diagnosed with bed bug bites.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Not good

Posted Apr 4, 2016
The door to my room dragged on the floor and the lock was a major struggle. The bed was old and saggy. The ac was antique and I had to go in the front door , down the hall, outside and into a gangway to get to the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Great location, great staff!

Posted Mar 18, 2016
This hotel was in the perfect location with the st charles street car right out the front doorstep! The room was nice enough, everything you need. Mattress wasnt the most comfortable ive ever slept on and the sheets made me feel a bit itchy, but i was not in new orleans to sleep in my bed all day! The staff were really friendly and helpful, came with a free breakfast which was good. Overall i would recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: close to restaurants and trolley
I arrived at the hotel only to find the door locked because staff had left to go grab lunch. This was understandable, however imagine my concern knowing this hotel was not highly rated and I arrive to find the door locked. After waiting about 10 minutes, staff arrived and check in went smoothly. Keep in mind this is a renovated home so be sure to request first floor if you can't handle the stairs. This was a nice location, near restaurants (great pizza place next door) and trolley stop is right out front so getting around downtown is very convenient. My major complaint was the maid service. During my one week stay, maid service was only provided once and toiletries were never replenished. You put a sign on the door if you need service. Service was not provided on the days I put out the sign and the one day that I did not put the sign out (because I was rushed and left out my iPad, etc), maid service showed up. By maid service, I mean they made the bed and left towels - nothing else was done.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly and charming

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Pros: Staff was great
Location: Right next a street car stop, only a five minute ride to the French quarter.
Glinda checked us in and she was extremely nice and friendly. She gave us great recommendations for places to go.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London uk

Good location.

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: Location was good.
Cons: List too long
Location: Location was very good,the streetcars to French Quarter, Business,Garden district and port run past. The attractions are within walking distance too.
Our room was grubby and in a bad state of repair but We were tired after a long journey did not complain or ask for another room. The room might suit students.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Funky historic hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2016
This is a funky older hotel, about 20 minutes on foot from the Convention Center. The streetcar stops right in front if you want to travel elsewhere. Next door is the VooDoo BBQ, which is good food at bargain prices, if you like rice, beans, and gumbo. The staff was very nice, giving good advice about local transport. The room was reasonably clean, the bed was solid, there is a space heater (which I needed), and the shower was very good. They do not make up the room daily, but breakfast (included) is pretty good, going beyond packaged rolls. For the price, I was quite satisfied, and would stay there again.