Ratings based on 1,839 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really Modern

Posted May 25, 2017
Within walking distance of Union Station Passenger Terminal. In a safe part of the city. Very good breakfast buffet*****. No ice machines that I could find. No ice bucket in the room. Bathroom very large. Very confusing floor plan. Courtious staff--let me stay extra time in room past checkout in order to catch a train. Would stay again and can recommend to travelers.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Kyle Metzger, Hotel Management
Hey There Friend! Thanks so much for letting us know about your stay... We are so glad you enjoyed and truly hope you got to experience the amazing city we are a part of! Very glad you enjoyed breakfast as well! Look forward to having you back soon! All the Best, Kyle Metzger
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place. Not to far a walk to Bourbon Street

Posted May 15, 2017
Hotel is nice. Staff was excellent!! The advertised free parking doesn't exist though. There is a parking lot behind the hotel but it cost $30 per day. Be aware of the parking fee! Other than the parking the hotel was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Kyle Metzger, Hotel Management
Hello Traveler! Thank you so much for the feedback! I am so sorry for the parking misinformation. I have reviewed the Expedia page and am having challenges locating the free parking info but will reach out to them to ensure this information is posted correctly. We truly enjoyed having you as well and hope to have you back again soon! All the Best, Kyle Metzger
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Really great location & such a unique hotel! Will stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Kyle Metzger, Hotel Management
Hey Traveler! Thank you so much for the review! We are glad you had a great time with us and look forward to you coming back soon! All the Best, Kyle Metzger
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice & clean hotel with reasonable price.

Posted May 12, 2017
Nice, clean hotel with friendly staff. However, please be aware daily parking fees are between $25-$30 per day. This cost is an additional cost I did not expect.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by Kyle Metzger, Hotel Management
Hey There Friend! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. So sorry about the valet surprise I know we try hard to make sure we get that information out there to all of our guests I will review all areas and make sure it is there. That's not a surprise I would want either. All the Best, Kyle Metzger
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice staff, nice free breakfast, a little worn-out

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Free breakfast, staff, location
Cons: Replace/clean the rugs. Better fly prevention. Get a better secured wi-fi network
Location: See above.
The staff is very very warm and friendly, the free breakfast is perfectly fine. Location-wise, it is very close to Harrah's casino, the museums, downtown, 25 minute walk from French quarter, (some of the streets around Lee Circle are a little dodgy, though, so be careful walking at night. It's a block away from the #11 bus down Camp/Magazine (which gets you to the lovely Garden, Lower Garden and Uptown Districts very quickly), and the #12 St. Lawrence trolley car goes right past it. The room was left very clean every day and the shower was fine. Only a few minor negatives: the hotel is very old so the carpets/walls in the rooms are a little musty/worn-down (there were some flies in my room the first night). Room was also a bit cramped, the bed stretches all the way to the desk! And if you're very worried about internet security (I am not), the password-protected Wifi is spotty so I had to use an unsecured network. But all in all, a great bargain, recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Kyle Metzger, Hotel Management
Hey Sam! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay... We will work hard to correct some of the items listed... I also want to let you know how grateful we are for so much feedback. It truly helps us and that you took the time is so very kind! Look forward to having you back soon! All the Best, Kyle Metzger
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento,CA

Nice budget hotel centrally located.

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: THE STAFF. Just great hospitality.
Location: The St. Charles streetcar line which takes you to French Quarter and also the Garden District is near by!
Our stay at hotel modern was great! Staff was very friendly. Hotel is a little dated, but it does the job and it's so close to the streetcar that takes you down to the French Quarter! A simple breakfast is included, nothing crazy, but COFFEE!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Kyle Metzger, Hotel Management
Hey There Maria! Thank you so much for a wonderful review we truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay... We are really excited to be heading into a renovation! You must come back and see us soon. All the Best, Kyle Metzger
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close access to most key locations in the city.

Posted May 9, 2017
The hotel is located right on the street car system. In just a few minutes, you can be in the French Quarter or Garden District. It is a safe location so walking to either location is very easy. The accommodations are nice. While the rooms are small, the bed is comfortable and the bathroom is clean. The only complaint is the current inconsistency with working wifi. The hotel management does share that will be improved with the upcoming renovation.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Kyle Metzger, Hotel Management
Hey There Friend! Thank you so much for the review and letting us know about your stay! We are almost done doing work on our Wifi system to hold over until the renovation in the next few weeks. At that point a brand new state of the art wifi system will be put in place! Thank you again so much for being part of our family here we truly appreciate it! All the Best, Kyle Metzger
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new mexico

Great hotel, good price

Posted May 9, 2017
Hotels were expensive the weekend we were going to NOLA but the Hotel Modern was very inexpensive which had me hesitant. I'm so glad I booked! Hotel was revamped with chic modern designs and furniture. It was also super quiet. I actually didn't see many guests around until breakfast (which is complimentary). I got the "Large Room" but it was kind of small so I'm not sure how the other rooms stack up, but I was happy. Bed was comfy, TVs had a lot of channels, bathroom was great. No complaints. Location is a long walk to Canal street, but you can catch a taxi/Uber easily ($8 to Bourbon). There is a street car station right across the street so you can ride that for ($1.50 on way). Overall, is book again so please don't worry about others reviews. It's a cool hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Kyle Metzger, Hotel Management
Hey there Lisa, You are really to kind... I am very appreciative that you not only took the time here to tell us about your stay but on other social media outlets to. Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to provide us feedback and for being so detailed. We can not express enough appreciation! Thank you truly! All the Best, Kyle Metzger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Great Stay/Some Beyond control

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Location, parking and convenience...WWII Museum one block away.
Cons: Upgrades and updated...location a plus and also a detriment due to Lee Circle activity.
Location: WWII Museum one block...easy access to St Charles cable cars and restaurants
Staff and cleanliness excellent...location very convenient..parking is an NOLA problem but very convenient and more reasonable than most at $30/day.. excellent location that has current activity at Lee Circle...some protests..shut down car and cable car traffic. Easy access to cable cars and all day passess make very convenient. Upgrades and remodels start within 30 days but we were pleased with room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Kyle Metzger, Hotel Management
Hey Ray! Thanks so much for the feedback we truly appreciate this! And you couldn't have said it better, you know us too well lol. Thanks again for being part of our Hotel Modern Family! We truly appreciate you and cant wait to have you back with us soon!!! All the Best, Kyle Metzger
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central, SC

Great central location

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Wonderful staff and clean facilities.
Cons: Need MUCH better wifi...more nodes on each floor and a better overall connection.
Location: Located on Lee Circle right on the St. Charles streetcar line...convenient to the Vieux Carre and Garden District.
Had a great stay in NOLA...hotel is right on St. Charles streetcar line and about a 15 minute walk from the convention center. Wifi unfortunately was unreliable and very spotty. My iPad could not connect at all and my computer would blue screen anytime a connection was made, so I was unable to work. The only other minor inconvenience was the fact that to get ice, you had to call the front desk and either have it delivered or pick it up yourself. The front desk staff were all wonderful and very willing to help in any way. Had a great conversation about good local eateries and was given several great suggestions for inexpensive and very tasty restaurants that the locals like. There was a tasty breakfast every morning. Might suggest a few more "hot" options for breakfast, i.e. proteins, as the breakfast fare was extremely carb heavy; but it was very good and very convenient each morning. Overall it was a very good stay with clean facilities and great staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Kyle Metzger, Hotel Management
Hey Angie! Thank you so much for taking time out of you day to let us and other know about your stay.... Your details are exactly what we look for to know how to improve and grow. I am so honored you chose to stay with us and I truly hope as we begin the renovation you come back to see our amazing new product in a few months!!! Thank you again we deeply appreciate it! All the Best, Kyle Metzger