Ratings based on 1,442 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seoul, South korea

great location, disappointing condition

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Great place and really nice stuff
Cons: Some rooms definitely need renovation
Location: Just grab a Uber or tram to French Quarter
The hotel is in great place, however if you're interested in French quarter it's a bit on a far side. The facilities are OK, however the lunch menu in a hotel restaurant deserves to be better. Rooms are clean and neat, but the furniture is well worn out, had a broken bathtub in our room and some lighting was not working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Modern chic hotel in perfect location to view Mari

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: location and staff
Cons: n/a
Location: perfect location for viewing mardi gras parades.
Staff were very professional, informative and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Stayed here during Mardi Gras. The location was very convenient to all the parades.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Clean, cheap, no frills room in a great area!

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Hotel Modern was a great place to rest our heads after long days exploring New Orleans. Per other reviews the rooms are very small and there are absolutely no frills but if you know what you're getting into you won't be disappointed. Staff were friendly and the hotel is in a perfect location (walking distance to French Quarter, museums, etc and right off the trolley route). Ask about their free bike rental! I called ahead and asked for an early check in and our room was ready when we arrived. We'd for sure go back for a very affordable but modest stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Well located between French Quarter & Garden Disit

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Great location, room was very small and poorly furnished, carpet and headboard were in poor shape. Overall - worth the price and quality for the location, just don't spend your trip in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Right in the thick of things.

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Location: WW2 Museum, French Quarter
Basically next door to WW2 museum, easy walk to both the Conference Center and Canal St. A few oddities. No microwave in the room, and the sink was strangely small. No deal breakers though!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful hotel.

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Ipaid 130.00 dollars for a large room, king sized bed for 2 guests. My fiancé and I were there because we wanted to celebrate our engagement by visiting a new city! When we got there- there was nobody at the desk and nobody to help us with our luggage. When the lady that works there finally arrived- she signed us in and gave me the room key. I asked for the luggage cart and loaded everything ourselves. We got to the room and it just looked a lot smaller than advertised, the closet had a bench and it was broken, the carpet was dirty and we notice that the bed was about a foot and a half to the side from the headboard. When we finally got into the bed- I got hives all over my arms and legs and my fiancé was sneezing and had an itchy throat. Once we noticed that we were having a bad reaction to the bedsheets or whatever it was- we asked to change rooms- the young man that was standing by the desk didn't look like he worked there at all, he didn't care about what happened and wasn't very apologetic. We changed rooms and it was much larger and roomy which is what I'm sure I reserved in the 1st place. Next morning, we put all of our stuff in the luggage cart- which seemed to be the only one available at this hotel and was falling apart. It was pretty hard to steer it and nobody that saw me offered to help me out- I got a very sarcastic remark by the front desk agent when I arrived with the cart ready to check out. cart ready to check out. "Nice cart" I want my money back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel within walking distance of The Quarter

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Very nice hotel within walking distance of The French Quarter. The rooms are extremely small but the hotel staff gave us a free room upgrade. Pet friendly hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Conveniently located-Minimalistic

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: This hotel is conveniently located to just about everything. The cable cars run right in front of the hotel and they can take you almost everywhere.
Cons: The housekeeping and staff could be greatly improved. The restaurant could definitely use better waitstaff and better selections,was told No Dessert
Location: Great location especially if you are interested in the fabulous WWII Museum. In walking distance to just about everywhere and trolley right outside
At first I was very disappointed in this hotel. But then I realized it was very clean and quite convenient to the trolley and other points of interest. The people here were very friendly and mostly helpful. I found the lack of towels and face cloths a problem. Also there is a Kuerig coffee pot in the room with coffee but often no cups to make it in. I was most disappointed in the restaurant. I found the waitstaff a bit rude and not very helpful. However there are many other restaurants around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Walking distance to many attractions.

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Pros: Good location. Good price.
Location: Everything is within walking distance.
We were told we would have a queen bed. Our room had only a double. Tiny room. No place to hang cloths. When we brought this to attention of the staff acknowledged their error and moved us to another room for the last 2 nights of our 5-day stay.