Ratings based on 1,787 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for a convention

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Very friendly staff. Not in the best neighborhood but the convention center and Canal St. are located only a 10-15 minute walk. Plenty of restaurants around. Visible wear and tear in the room and the hotel as a whole feels dated, but very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Kyle Metzger, Hotel Management
Hello There! First I want to thank you for being part of our Hotel Modern Family. We are really going through an exciting time here as we prep for a beautiful renovation. I am glad you were able to find many of the NOLA Renown restaurants in our area! As always the feedback is instrumental in our growth and I appreciate you taking the time! All the Best
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix AZ

Reasonable Price

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: It was the cheapest hotel in walking distance to French Quarter and Hilton Riverside.
Cons: Wi-Fi connection
Location: WWII Musium, art musiums, street-car stop, restaurants, about 15 minutes to French Quarter, Riverwalk, etc
The room was very small, but it was clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only problem I had during my 5 days of stay was the internet connection was really bad. Almost every few minutes got disconnected every day. I advised the hotel but they could not help. I had to use up all my data.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Kyle Metzger, Hotel Management
Yikes on that Internet Miro.... Not ok at all. I am the new General Manager here and assure I am looking into this now. I hope you got to visit some of the awesome destinations you listed. The WWII Museum is one of the most engaging museums in the country and world for that matter! Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your stay! All the Best,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Location is close to every place I most want to go. Staff has always been very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Thermostat won't go lower than 60 (not a problem for me, but my girlfriend likes it arctic).
Location: Could not be closer to the World War II Museum. Lee Circle is an easy place to catch a streetcar.
This has become our preferred place for staying when we go to NOLA. Clean and convenient. Staff has always been great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Kyle Metzger, Hotel Management
What can I say but Thank You! Thank you for being a part of our Hotel Modern Family and for you feedback about our home! We truly enjoy being your go to spot and are so excited for all we have coming up as the year goes on! All the Best,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not sure it's worth the price

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Good location, good breakfast. Cons: Terrible wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for price!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
We stayed in what they called a large king size room...it was clean, quiet and close enough to the French Quarter you could either walk or take a streetcar for $1.50 each. They had a decent continental breakfast....I thought a great value for your dollar I would stay there again.especially if we bring our kids next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Not modern at all- the room is old the shower rods were rusty - carpet was stained The room is uncomfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good, not great

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Some light bulbs were burnt out. TV remote batteries were dead. Woke up with flea bites on my arm. The staff was accommodating and didn't mind that we checked out late. We promptly received more towels and pillows when requested.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So disappointed for a mere $275 a night...

Posted Mar 12, 2017
1. Parking lot poorly lit and as a woman alone I appreciated the male hotel customer recognizing that and waiting on me while I paid for parking. Short walk through the alley takes you to the front door. 2. Hotel bath walls so thin I considered offering toilet paper to the next room. 3. My room was 2nd floor over dumpster. I heard every homeless person that threw up the lid. 4. Room lacked enough pictures and all sound echoed. 5. Comforter was made of down and the down collected into clumps..very uncomfortable. 6. Breakfast equal to 2 star hotel with the flip a waffle and the 3 cereal dispenser. 7. "Hand picked curated" books as advertised as an amenity are behind the front desk and came directly from a local estate sale. 8. No inhouse restaurant so I had to order in wings and water after my long trip. 9. I went out for a walk in the morning and came back to rest for an hour before checking out only to find the cleaning lady in my room, angry I was there, and not willing to leave. I went down to the front desk to tell them and they checked me out rather than apologizing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
King Large room was not large. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was poor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oriental Asia

Nice budget hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
First room had faulty air-con, and staff were immediately to give a refund. Noticed that the first and second room differed quite a bit in quality, though both were clean and tidy. The first was older and worn down, second was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Kyle AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Lee, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the room you ended up in. I would like to share that we have a property-wide renovation set for this year that will include upgrading the amenities of all of our rooms. We hope you choose to stay with us again next time you visit New Orleans! Sincerely, Kyle Messer Assistant General Manager