Ratings based on 3,070 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Location close to everything! Carousel bar was fun but always very crowded. Spa was small but had a great massage. No steam rooms or saunas though. Rooms also small but well appointed. Only issue was on our last night, someone must have been smoking in the building. We had a lot of cigarette smoke coming into our room from the bathroom vent. Staff and service are excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Feb 12, 2016
The hotel was in a perfect location, within walking distance of everything. It was very clean and well kept. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. This was my second stay at this hotel and I would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Break before convention

Posted Feb 12, 2016
One day stay before convention starts. Everything great, had room available at 10 when we got there. Location also a major reason to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great Mardi Gras location

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Pros: I liked the proximity to the Mardi Gras Parades. Also very central and close to the street car lines.
Location: Walking distance to many tourist locations - Garden District, River Walk, Jackson Square, French Quarter, Frenchmens St. So many restaurants & bars!!
The front office staff was very helpful. Gave me transportation info during Mardi Gras festivities. They were able to upgrade my reservation when my room type was not available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Great stay!

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Hotel was very nice and clean. Location was perfect. Walking distance to everthing. Staff was great. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Living IN not near the French Quarter

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Cons: I found the bed to be way too soft, but others might love it.
Location: Take the two hour cruise on the Natchez. The WWII museum is well laid out and comprehensive. The Whitney Plantation is well worth the one hour drive
This is a great hotel if you want to be close to the action. Street music will serenade you pretty much all the time during Mardi Gras season. The room was very well appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful. I'd go back in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Feb 10, 2016
This hotel is amazing, have stayed before, will stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Arthur, TX

Service, Comfort, Food & Fun at a Historic Locatio

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: comfort, service, food
Cons: nothing
Location: everything french quarter!
This property is an older historic hotel. I chose it for the incredible location and in house dining. Yes the rooms and bathrooms are small, however they are very luxurious. The bed is quite possibly the most comfortable of any hotel I have ever experienced. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel truly welcome. The food at Criollo is amazing. It may be the best in the city for the price point. The Carousel Bar is fun. You will quickly realize that The Monteleone has so much more to offer than the chain competition and at a very competitive price. Oh they have the best beignets in the city ... don't miss out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Seeing as it was Marti Gras, it was hard to get a seat at the hotel bar and we showed up Sat. pm at 9 and the restaurant hostess said there were no seats, but we could see them. The attendant who checked our wrist bands said it was because the kitchen was closing. As a guest, she should have just told us that. We would just plan better in the future. Nonetheless, we were able to go to our room where we got amazing room service. The food was really good and delivered fast and very courteously. The hotel staff are great. Front desk very smooth amid some rude, demanding guests. The concierge, Jose, was top notch. he helped us navigate a very short trip to maximize the highlights, made excellent restaurant suggestions, and even helped route us correctly to the outskirts to meet our car service. He was phenomenal. The hotel pool and rooftop we should have checked out when we first arrived. It wasn't until before we had to check out that we even got a chance (which was our fault as we had so little time) the pool was very clean and the view was amazing. The hotel is so centrally located and the hotel sign makes it easy to navigate. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Room, breakfast.
Nice stay. Room on 14th floor was very quite, no sleepless nights because of Mardi Gras. Bed was very comfortable and room was nicely updated.