Ratings based on 2,072 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Value and Location

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The historic nature of the buildings, in keeping with the character of the French Quarter, was appealing to us.
Location: Great Location in the French Quarter. Jackson Square, the Riverfront Area, Bourbon Street and many excellent restaurants within easy walking distance
We were very pleased with out selection of the Hotel Provincial. Located in the French Quarter, just far enough away from the noise of Bourbon Street, the hotel is within easy walking distance of all the attractions within the French Quarter and the Riverfront area. The rooms were clean and the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. There is an excellent restaurant next door and a quaint bar in the lobby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great position..

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Position....friendly staff....bar
Cons: Making sure some rooms are aired or not let out.
Location: 2 blocks to Jackson Square and 3 blocks to Bourbon Street.
After checking in our room was very smelly (311). Contacted front desk and they apologised and gave us a free upgrade to a beautiful room. Very helpful staff and close to everything. Would recommend this Hotel but just check the room details first.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Lovely old hotel but no amenities unfortunately

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Its location and ambience
Cons: Having some water and coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Also, at night the shower was incredibly hot but very cold in the mornings.
Location: Not even 5 minutes to Jackson Square and very safe.
Beautiful old hotel with wonderful staff and a fantastic barman and a 3 hour Happy Hour from 3.00 - 6.00 pm daily. However, nothing in the room by way of water, coffee or tea making facilities which was a bit of a disappointment. Having said that, in walking distance of some great places to have breakfast and watch the world go by around Jackson Square. I would definitely recommend this hotel - if for no other reason than its location and its amazing and knowledgeable barman.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfy bed, ugly room and maybe haunted!

Posted Sep 3, 2016
This hotel had 5 buildings and 4 of them looked very cute with a lot of character. We stayed in the building that was very ugly and did not have any character at all. We had a view of the car park and the air con made a rattling noise every few minutes that actually woke us up most of the time. The room was generally pretty clean and the bed was comfy. The building had an odd smell but I guess that is to be expected as it is so old. My husband and I don't really give much thought about ghosts and they say that this hotel is haunted. We both on 2 occasions felt our bed shaking as if there was an earthquake and we checked and there were no earthquakes - maybe a ghost?? If it was they did not harm us and it was kinda cool and a bit spooky!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sesttle

Fantastic hotel close to French Quarter at a great

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Front desk extremely helpful and friendly. Jamie the bartender was great. I would stay here again in a flash. Highly recommend it
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

positioned nicely in the French Quarter

Posted Aug 31, 2016
When we arrived they put us in a rear building across the car park this was unacceptable as we had booked 4 months in advance and had requested a room with a balcony ,so we went back to the desk and requested to be moved ,they complied with our request and were put in a room next to the pool ,this made our stay at the Provincial exceptional.I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great stay ,and very central location to The french market ,Bourbon street ,Frenchman street ,Jackson square etc
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

It is in the best location!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We loved the location and the staff was awesome. It had almost all the comforts that you need! It was very clean and kept clean! Thank you for making our stay so memorable!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, Welcoming Staff

Posted Aug 26, 2016
All and all not a bad hotel. Very old and musty smelling, gave my asthma a hard time. No continental breakfast like all the websites state. Just coffee and tea served in the bar. Very good location. Extremely friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Captures the essence of the French Quarter

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: It was near everything, yet we could find peace and quite. The staff was staff was excellent providing us with such things tips on where to go locally
Cons: I really have no complaints
Location: This is in the heart of the French Quarter near the French Market were we enjoyed a meal and music. We had breakfast at Angeline which was excellent.
We only had a brief stay hear, but my wife and I loved it. The staff couldn't have been more charming and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Location was good. The staff was helpful and friendly.
Cons: I went to the front desk maybe 5 times during my stay and every time there was line of people in the lobby needing assistance from the front desk.
Hotel was nice. The staff was nice. The only thing I didn't like was that it had an older hotel smell to it. The kind of smell that you find in older buildings. The rooms are small too. Those are the only things negatively affected my experience there. The staff was great and helpful. The hotel was close to everything in the quarter. 2 blocks from Bourbon street. The staff recommendations for restaturants was lacking in my opinion. I would instead next time do an internet search for restaurants in the area and not depend on the staff recommendations. I asked two separate staff members on two separate occasions for a restaurant recommendation and both times I was disappointed.