Ratings based on 1,542 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My review

Posted Aug 24, 2016
The hotel was Very Quiet and close to everything I enjoyed it
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nola

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Intereting Hotel, Close to everything, I would stay here again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nouvelle Orleans

hotel accueillant, très bien situé

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: le personnel, l'emplacement, propreté
Cons: sortie de la clim juste au dessus du lit, ce qui est gênant la nuit. le petit déjeuner pourrait offrir plus de choix.
Location: quartier français, le plus animé de la Nouvelle-Orléans, galeries d'art, bars, restaurants, boites, café, jazz
hôtel agréable, propre, très bien situé. l'hôtel est situé dans une rue parallèle à la rue Bourbon, où se trouvent tous les bars, boites et beaucoup de restaurants du quartier français, et pourtant, la rue royale est calme, tranquille. les chambres de l'hôtel ne sont pas dérangées par l'activité extérieure de la ville. le personnel de l'hôtel est très agréable, accueillant, souriant, serviable. les chambres sont telles que décrites sur le site 2 points négatifs: sortie de la clim juste au dessus du lit, ce qui est gênant la nuit. le petit déjeuner pourrait offrir plus de choix.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Cozy, friendly, in the middle of everything

Posted Aug 16, 2016
The hotel rooms were very cute with southern charm.The courtyard was peaceful.Staff very friendly and skilled at their job.Eric is amazing has a answer for everything, looks out for guest, goes that extra mile.I read review before booking that said they would return just for Eric,my husband and I agree.Would suggest possible frig in rooms only draw back, but the location and staff well make up for lack of fridge.We just used ice bucket more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barcelona

Very typical, in the heart of the French quarter

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: central, typical
Cons: better insonorization of rooms
Location: NOLA
Very typical, in the heart of the French quarter, great value for a reasonable price
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, New Zealand

Fabulous location in the French Quarter

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Fabulous location, Fabulous staff, Fabulous room, couldn't ask for better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had to park 2 miles away

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Room was too small. There was no parking available. Had to park 2 miles away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Only a few blocks away from everything.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights at the end of July to celebrate both of our birthdays and our 17 year anniversary. When we first checked in to the Royal Balcony Suite, I was a little disappointed. All of the photos I'd seen online through various websites showed a refrigerator in the room. I also called them to confirm there was one, but this room in particular did not have one. I spoke to the young lady at the front desk and she kindof made out like "sorry, this isn't one of the rooms that has a refrigerator", and left it at that. Well the next day, we spoke with Eric, and he was more than helpful. He checked and the other rooms that had a refrigerator were occupied at the time, but would be open the next day. We were able to move to one of the other rooms and it was amazing! The entire time Eric was super helpful and accommodating. Overall, the staff was nice, and the room was clean. There did seem to be a shortage on wash cloths for some reason though. I loved our stay at the Hotel Royal and I would definitely stay again. Also, if you don't want to walk a lot of stairs, this is not the hotel for you. Pay attention to the other reviews. There is no elevator so don't complain when you get there if you didn't read the other reviews. Besides, the staff is more than happy to help you with your bags. Also, even though you're a block away from Bourbon St, there is still a lot of street noise. It's an old building so you'll be able to hear everything from outside.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northeast

Nice Quaint Hotel. Excellent Staff

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Location...close to French Market, Mona Lisa, Verti Market and Frenchman's St.
Cons: Tub/shower door while inventive did little to keep water off the bathroom floor. DEFINITELY could use a small room refrigerator too!
Location: One block from Bourbon if that's your thing. (not ours) but nicely situated near lot's of art shops, galleries and restaurants incl our fave Mona Lisa
Nice quaint hotel on Royal St. Room was cozy but nice. If you're expecting the Marriott this isn't for you. Small room with exposed brick was rustic and nice. Good basic amenities. Staff was genuinely friendly and very helpful. Good continental breakfast every day! Room refrigerator would have been a real plus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff - especially the bellman -Eric. He was very pleasant and energetic. The front desk staff was also very helpful.
Cons: It would have been helpful to have a bellman available on Thursday afternoon when we checked in.
Very pleasant experience in a hotel with character.