Ratings based on 487 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend, OR

Great location in the French Quarter

Posted Feb 13, 2016
We loved the St Helene! Great location close to many good restaurants, a couple blocks from Bourbon St which is perfect--quieter for sleeping, but an easy walk to everything. We especially enjoyed the French Market for shopping and restaurants. The hotel staff is the best! All very helpful and friendly. We had a street-facing balcony room which I highly recommend! A courtyard facing balcony would be okay too, but the non-balcony rooms have high windows facing the interior hallway. All in all, a great place to stay--we will stay here again on our next trip to New Orleans!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Great French Quarter hotel!

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Great location within walking distance of the river front, French Market, and museums. Lots of cafes and shops. We had a balcony suite facing the street. The service access of the hotel across the street was very noisy starting at 5 am every morning. I wish the hotel association would get together with the city and design an ordinance for how early the noisy deliveries and construction can start. The patrons of the hotels are who provide the area with revenue. Other than the noise issue we had a great stay! We would definitely come back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Echo chamber

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Extremely noisy. Every sound echoed through the doors, windows and walls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for the French Quarter.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Be prepared to pay 40 a day for parking! Other than that everything was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

friendly, clean, great atmosphere!

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Cons: make the coffee stronger
Location: excellent location, near everything, but still quiet!
Only complaint is the coffee was weak… some rooms do not have windows to the outside, but rather to a skylit courtyard. we had one of those rooms… I thought I would not like it, but it was just fine. The women at the front desk were excellent! The whole place was nice and clean. no gross carpet. Very much enjoyed our stay, and a cute little courtyard with pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville FL

Nice hotel in a Convenient Location

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Location was great. Bed was comfortable. Great staff.
Cons: I'd hate to change anything. It was like home away from home.
Location: Awesome - near the Carnival parade routes, restaurants, Lafayette square - easy to walk from here to anywhere in the French Quarter
We stayed at this hotel for a weekend visit to New Orleans. We wanted to stay in the French Quarter, but not on Bourbon Street, so this fit the bill. We arrived early, but the front desk associate, I believe her name was Ashley, was very accommodating. Our room was already cleaned so she got us checked in right away. She also provided us with a map of the area and outlined some places for us to eat & shop. She was great! The room was a bit small, but had wood floors, modern decor and it was very comfortable and clean. The only issue was being on the third floor directly across from the main stairwell made things a bit noisy at night, but it wasn't terrible. No elevators, so if that's an issue for you be warned. There was a pool and a pretty courtyard,but it was the wrong time of year for swimming - only 32 degrees. We would stay here again for sure.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hot night in New Orleans

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Beautiful Room and courtyard.
Cons: If I was notified of how the air system worked It could have been better. Now I know to ask about the cooling system Before I get a room.
Location: Great Proximity
As soon I got in my room I set the thermostat to 66 Degrees and went out for the evening. Little did I know but the system for the entire hotel is set either to heat or to cool. I returned to my a room at 86°F. When I called down the staff only commented that it was an old building. It is in the French Quarter. They are all old buildings. I had to turn off the system and then leave my door open until 4:00 AM before it dropped down below 75°F. No compensation was offered except they said I could leave and get my money back. I live 45 minutes from the French Quarter. When I go I have a few drinks and I do not drive home. I told them that I wasn't going to do something illegal just to save a few dollars. I stay in the quarter 1 to 2 times a month. Eric Bankston
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Nice, quaint hotel located in the perfect area of the quarter. Has that old New Orleans charm to it. Friendly staff. Can't beat the price either!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis

Lovely room, cozy courtyard

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Our room (room 106) was on the ground level and opened right onto the courtyard / pool. It was quite nice. It felt like an oasis. The room itself was a nice size with a little nook for a couch. Hotel staff was nice and friendly and also helpful. Helene doesn't have its own parking but there are public lots nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Close to everything

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Old world charm............nice big balcony............nice courtyard to eat breakfast next to pool
Cons: This New Orleans.........it is noisy...............be accepting
Location: Walking distance from everything downtown.
Small hotel with simple amenities and wonderful, friendly staff.