Ratings based on 658 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amish Country

Good hotel close to Bourbon Street

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Better maid service- a maid that would understand what you tell her.
Location: Best things are a nearby liquor store Vieux Carre and Johnny Po Bo's for breakfast or lunch.
Small pool and courtyard out back was enjoyable and kept clean. They kept the coffee supplied which was nice. Rooms were a nice size. We stayed in a middle room on the second floor, glad we didn't have a third floor! The problem we had was the noise that came from an adjoining room-just a door between us and them and you could hear everything. I would ask for a room that did not have that and it should be quieter. The maid hardly spoke English. She doesn't know how to make a bed! I have never stayed in a hotel that did not use a top sheet with the comforter. We told her how we wanted it made and she said yes but made it with just the comforter anyway. We ended up stealing a sheet off the maid's cart and making it ourselves! I would stay here again due to its location and amenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Give this one a hard pass

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: The location was convenient.
Cons: See my review above.
I was initially very excited to stay here, because their website boasts of some old world charm (it's an elegant old building that has supposedly been renovated) and included some lovely pictures. But sadly, this turned out to be little more than a sparse lobby and a minimally decorated, tiny room with a sorta lumpy bed. Also, the staff right off the bat accidentally charged me twice for my room -- and only corrected it after I pointed it out to them. The guy in the lobby was blasting music until I requested he turn it down, since I had to wake up early to leave town. I mean, my experience was probably not helped by the fact that my room was only two doors down from the lobby, so overall it was incredibly noisy at all hours and not relaxing at all. Also bummed that the pool, which had so captivated me in its picture, looked difficult to actually swim in. Besides the lobby and the courtyard and my room, there was nothing to look at in the hotel. Bottom line: Given just HOW MANY other places I could have chosen in the French Quarter, this was incredibly disappointing. Not a tragedy or anything, just very, very "meh." Will not be going there again or recommending it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Centrally located, spacious rooms, very French quarter, affordable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

easy check in

Posted May 9, 2017
Room was comfortable had a great balcony closer is smaller but served its purpose. Ice machine did not seem to be working the staff said it was due to the Jazz fevestval that they were out checked late Sunday and Monday morning ni ice. At about 2 am we received a call from the front desk inquiring if we would like a 2 pm late check out my husband said yes the agent then informs him of the extra fee he states we would be out at 11. Just found it weird why they would wake you at 2 am. Great location would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Great Hotel + Great Staff = Great Experience

Posted May 6, 2017
Super friendly staff, room was clean with nice bathroom. Try finding anything for $120 in the French Quarter period much less these very nice accommodations. Parking lot next to hotel has cheapest day rate and The Grill restaurant close by was awesome and I got a huge breakfast for $7. Hotel St. Helene is a goldmine and we will definetly Be returning!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Good characterful hotel in heart of French Quarter

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Warm welcome, pleasant environment. Hotel could make more of attractive back courtyard. No longer do breakfast though our booking offered it. We were disturbed most nights by noisy guests returning. Chartres St is safe & central. We enjoyed our stay very much.
5 out of 5
by Ronald

A great boutique hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic location, lovely, quiet courtyard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, Close to action!

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Clean, Bed Comfort, Location, Free Coffee, Nice pool.
Cons: Parking, it is literally surrounded by lots, but its a boutique hotel, so no parking included.
Location: Anything and everything is nearby! Bourbon, Frenchmen, The waterfront, bars etc I also recommend the Three Legged Dog on M-W-F at 6pm for Crawfish
Great little hotel, very close to all the action you could want in New Orleans. Right in the French Quarter and very walkable to Bourbon or Frenchmen Street. No complaints.
4 out of 5
by Mark

Old, quirky but nicely done

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
This is a beautiful old hotel that has been nicely restored. The room is small and quirky. There is no desk and the sofa is on a raised floor. But that's what you get with old architecture. My friends stayed at the more expensive Monteleone and I got a better deal. I can't say the desk staff is warm and fuzzy
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017
Thank you for reviewing the Hotel St Helene. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us while visiting the Crescent City. We pride ourselves in offering amazing service, and we are sorry to hear you did not find that during your visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Cute Hotel in the perfect location.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
This hotel is in the perfect location for visiting the French Quarter. It's in a central walking distance to any street you want to visit within the French Quarter. If you are looking for a quiet hotel room, this is not the one to pick. It was clean and cute but you can hear every guest or maid or maintenance person. The bed was old and not comfortable at all but it was clean and was perfect for all the sleeping we actually did.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Kenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy and take in the French Quarter.