Ratings based on 1,714 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great location in the French Quarter

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Location Breakfast Quaintness
Cons: Wash shower curtain, some mildew on it. Shower curtain came right to the top of the tub so the floor was wet after a shower. Clean the carpet.
Location: In the French Quarter and easy walking to the whole area.
Old quaint historical hotel in the French Quarter. Easy walk to Bourbon Street with none of the noise, felt safe walking back at night. Lobby is very nice and the breakfast is fine. Staff was very friendly. Toilet kept running and never fixed when reported. Pools looked inviting but were not used by us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pea Ridge, Arkansas, USA

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Last minute trip to the Quarter. Have stayed here several times, and have yet to have a bad experience. The hotel is relatively close walking distance to much in the Quarter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location near bourbon st and all the activit

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Liked the place but important details missing. Had no hooks in bathroom to hang robes or wet towels. Requested more towels and they never came. Non working reading lamp was not exchanged after a request. Otherwise breakfast in courtyard lovely . Staff was lovely. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Great location quiet rooms very comfortable . Short walk to a lot of attricationz
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was very helpful, gorgeous garden!

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Location: French Quarter, Mississippi River, Cafe Du Monde and the French Market.
Great location, close to the French Quarter and the staff is very helpful with the areas. Historical and the garden/pool area is beautiful. We hated to leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mathias WV

21st birthday trip for granddaughter!

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: history
Cons: Bathroom needs to be cleaner.
Location: great location in the French Quarter, easy walking distance to everything.
We loved the charm and history of the hotel, the room was small but we didn't mind that. The bathroom could have been cleaner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and nice

Posted Mar 8, 2017
This hotel is convenient for the French quarter. Nothing is too far a walk to go to. The walls are thin, so sometimes your neighbors can be a little loud. A hot breakfast is served which is a nice treat! Staff is friendly and helpful. Overall nice hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Vickie, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review and scores. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back with us soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So so

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Courtyard areas were lovely. Liked that there is no smoking allowed in the rooms. Very charming cottages.
Cons: Cleanliness could use some work in bathroom and carpeted areas especially. Beds need to be replaced as they are very uncomfortable.
Location: Location was excellent and yet quiet in courtyards when wanting out of the madness.
Beds were in terrible shape and very uncomfortable. Carpets were stained. Grout in bathroom dirty, supposed to be white. Feathers from boa everywhere when we arrived. Thinking room was not cleaned prior to our arrival. Staff were friendly and quick service. Courtyard areas were very nice to relax and meet new people in friendly but quitter atmosphere than on the street. Room next door on last night was very noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Vickie, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review! We passed along all of your comments to our management team for review. We appreciate all your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn NY

Cluster of historic buildings make lovely hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Lots of cozy outdoor areas; the jazz history artifacts; location
Cons: It pays to be very up front with staff about what you want. One day, trash was not removed from our room because my grandson said we only needed soap
Location: The location is quiet, but in a good spot for walking to Frenchmen or Bourbon, or over to the streetcar. The beautiful Madame John's Legacy is nearby
Staff were very kind to my grandchildren (9 & 13), and generally helpful. I enjoy this hotel because it is located in a residential section of the French Quarter and the rooms are located in a cluster of historic buildings. I always feel at home. It contains a jazz museum, with photos and artifacts. Louis Armstrong stayed here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Vickie, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review! We passed along all of your comments to our management team for review. We appreciate all your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Nice location but needs some attention

Posted Mar 2, 2017
We stayed here over Mardi Gras and it is the perfect location. It's near all the action but on a side street so it's not too crazy when you want to sleep. The exterior and lobby are very nice but the rooms could use a little love. They are very dated and extremely small. The bathrooms are remodeled and are the nicest part of the hotel! Breakfast was good for me... not too many choices but did include warm items such as bacon, eggs, sausage. The service staff here were amazing nice and friendly! The desk staff here were appalling!!!! They were rude snobby and when you asked a question such as what was their parking policy they would all give you different answers, then call you a liar when you called them out on it, and finally proceed to argue with you until you were really worked up about it! The manager was super nice so if her could manage and run the front desk I am sure it would go much smoother!!! He always saved the day when the desk staff was being rude! They tried to over charge us for our parking and while the two front desk staff continued to argue with me the manager fixed it right away. So nice location, a little expensive on rates/parking, nice breakfast, cute exterior and outdoor areas, small rooms that need some updating, nice bathrooms, amazing service personal, not nice front desk personal, great manager! Good luck!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Vickie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. We take pride in our service delivery and hotel standards, and it is quite apparent that we simply did not deliver on our customer service promise to you. Please know that we are addressing the issues you have detailed and are using this as a training tool for our staff. Thanks again and I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to serve you in the future.