Ratings based on 713 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bowmanville, ontario

small hotel web site pictures very mis-leading

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Nothing - no parking a real rip off - the car had to go to a lot for $40 per night extra.
Cons: Tear it down and re-build it needs a complete reno We are use to more quality type hotels
Location: great location and lots to do
hotel pictures very mis-leading, the room was a concreate box out side the main part of the hotel. Two French doors to the room from a very tired , dirty patio. The room was so small, the bath room you could sit on the toilet, put your face in the sink and have your feet in the shower. Very nice room for TINY people
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaverhausen

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Really love this hotel! My only complaint is that because this was an old house, the rooms are chopped up in a way that makes them super small and therefore difficult to move around in with more than one person. Fortunately, our room was one that was off the back porch, so there was extra space to walk around. Other than that, the staff is great and the room was clean. If you like history and appreciate old architecture, this hotel is great for that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

right in French quarter

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: proximity to Bourbon St.
Cons: n/a
smelly street, closest parking 3 and a half blocks away, PICTURES ARE DECIEVING>
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to everything we wanted

Posted Mar 4, 2017
My husband and I was happy with staff. They were very helpful. We had a bit of a problem with our room and staff made sure we were accommodated with another room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Lovely hotel, quite small rooms but didn't spend much time there. Really close to everything but not in the centre of the French quarter so nice and quiet at night. Lovely staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good stay

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Clean, nice place. Excellent customer service. Highly recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, very close to the markets

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Duane was the first impression as we walked into the hotel to get checked in and it was a very pleasant greeting. Duane ensured we were looked after and showed us how to get to some of the hot spots for dining and markets. Duane's excitement and positive attitude help set the mood for the trip :-) The hotel was a beautiful representation of a French Quarters home and it gave a historical feeling to our stay. We will definitely be coming back! Alex & Jonathan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
This place was in a great location, close to all the parts that you want to see. 5 min walk to Anywhere in the French Quarter. Parking is the only pain, but that is all of NOLA.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from YYC

Older French Quarter Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Location and friendliness of the staff
Cons: Cleanliness. Not sure what can be done about the very thin walls
Location: French Quarter and near all the action of Bourbon Street and the area in general
My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for three nights. It is an older converted building. Our room was quite small, however was very nicely renovated. Our room was on the third floor and there is no elevator (I wondered if Expedia bookings were put on this floor?). The stairs are narrow and quite long so it was a bit awkward getting our suitcases up (we were packed for a cruise). My wife was recovering from a broken ankle so the stairs were a minor nuisance. The ceiling for part of our room was slanted and as a result the one window was in a dormer low to the ground. We did not try to open it and the blinds were broken. The area around the window had obviously not been cleaned in some time although the rest of the room was small. There was only a tiny closet and no drawer unit to speak of so we lived out of our suitcases which was a bit awkward given the small area. The wall between our room and the next was not well sound proofed. The snoring from the next room kept my wife up for much of our first night (I can sleep through almost anything) and we purchased ear plugs the next day. We could clearly hear conversations from the next room. Front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. The location is great - about three blocks from Bourbon Street and around five blocks from Jackson Square. There was no apparent parking for the hotel and the French Quarter is very dense so I would not recommend staying here if you are driving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle area, WA

Heart of the French Quarter

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: I loved the history. Our room was above an interior courtyard in the old home of Madame Laveau and was charming.
Cons: A woman who stayed on the ground level near the street told of hearing the security gate slam all night. We did not have that experience.
Location: Great setting to take advantage of what the French Quarter has to offer, two blocks from Bourbon St., next to the streetcar and Louis Armstrong Park.
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Shout outs to Dwayne, Heidi, and Johnny in particular! Recommendation of Club Desire on Bourbon Street for a light dinner of gumbo proved to be right on. The gumbo was excellent and service was great. History of the Inn--brothel and home of voodoo queen Madame Laveau--was fun and insightful. Great hotel if you want to experience the heart of the Quarter in an original building that has been cleaned up to offer maximum comfort.