Ratings based on 523 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great New Orleans hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Quiet and clean, comfortable bed
Location: For drivers entrance is not on Canal Street but around back on Common Street. Easy exit back on to I-10. Royal and Bourbon Streets, Jackson Square, al
Enjoyed a quiet stay at the JW while friends were at conference across the street in the bigger and noisier Marriott.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Old hotel, tiny bathrooms, poor F&B

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Location: Located on Canal St it is on the edge of French Quarter. Handy, but other hotels with CBD adresses were only a minute or so walk away.
The hotel is quite old. Has too few elevators = long delays. Bathrooms are tiny and items like the exhaust fan don't work. This was reported, but not fixed. Air-conditioning was intermittent. There is a bar and exec lounge (available for a fee) but no real in house restaurant. New Orleans offers much better for a lower price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New Orleans Trip

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Marriott Brand
Cons: More people at check in desks
Location: Right on Canel Street.....Heart of the French Quarter & all the fun
All Good, Everything was Great with our stay at the JW Marriott
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Hotel staff rude and no follow up

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Clean room and the doormen were the only staff who were friendly!
Cons: Service!
Location: Great location near shopping, food, and Bourbon Street!!
From the check in experience when the gentleman did not even say hello nor did he listen to my request to not be right next to the elevator with a 7 month old. I also asked him to merge my two different stays together so that we would not have to change rooms, he failed to do so. The first room we stayed in the bed was broken so we called 3x before someone came up to repair at which point they left several pieces on the floor and bed all accessible for my child to choke on. When I let the hotel staff know, they said thats not normal. The following day they said that I had failed to check out as the gentleman who checked us in failed to merge our two stays. We then had to re-pack everything and move into another room. The toilet and shower were both backed up in the 2nd room and had to call for service. This is not standard for JW and we were not impressed. Besides the room being cleaned daily and the great location, they have nothing going for them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Christmas at the JW. Nick and staff were awesome!

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Cons: There was one day that the breakfast was off and what we ordered didn't come and was cold. It was Christmas day and I'm sure they were short staffed.
Really liked the staff and although we were staying there over the holiday it was a great time even though most of the city was shut down. I'm sure I would recommend this place to friends and very convenient to walk to the french quarter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Well located, great staff

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Location: Don't buy ticket for street cars at Kiosks. Pay $3.00 for all day pass good on all metro lines (street cars and buses) in the city.
Good location. Close to red and green line street cars and within brief walking distance of French Quarter without the noise of late night revelers. Rooms are clean, nicely decorated and staff is friendly and helpful. Could use better tasting coffee option in hotel room. Have to ask for hairdryer. Typical hotel gym.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Great accommodations. Close to all activities. Staff was pleasant to all guests. Very knowledgeable of town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice suite more than expected

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Close to everything we want to see and do the concieire was excellent I wished I had gotten his name tall white gentleman just to nice very professonial
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: It's location
Cons: Noise
Location: Next to bourbon street
The room was clean but the issue was the noise from shutting the room doors and they were charging on wi-fi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Good hotel, great location, and a decent price

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The best thing about the hotel was the location.
Cons: The spa services were fine but not great for the price.
This hotel is right on the edge of the French Quarter and is a short walk/trolley ride to many other parts of the city. We were able to hop right on the trolley and make it to the Garden District in no time. The hotel is well maintained and the pool area was very decent. The staff was also great - very friendly and accommodating. The service really was great. The rooms were exactly what we expected.