Ratings based on 1,263 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from DE

GREAT first visit to New Orleans

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel was great, the best part was Andrew, the Concierge. He gave us ideas without selling us! Also Loved the robes in the room!!
Location: LOVE the location, great for walking or riding the trolley. We were close to the action, without all the craziness.
This was our first time to New Orleans and it was really good. We did the usual stuff, swap tour, WWII Museum, Carnival Museum, cemetery tour and used the Hop on Hop Off buss to get around. We did lots of walking and also used the trolley cars. We caught a couple free park concerts that were fun and gave us the feel for the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Iiiiiinterering!

Posted May 7, 2017
Expected a 4 star hotel. Ended up with a 2 star room. Walls dirty. Carpet near bathroom rotting and coming up. Staff friendly. Would not allow us to move to different room or hotel. Moved anyway to the Ritz which was beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Nice location to French Quarters. Nice accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Big Easy Comfort

Posted Apr 21, 2017
My husband and I spent 3 days in New Orleans celebrating our 30th anniversary. The JW Marriott staff was aware of our celebration and made our stay extra special! We were upgraded to a club level room with great view, and enjoyed the club lounge for refreshments and complimentary breakfast before touring. The AC in our room worked beautifully, but I like a fan for air movement, and my request for a fan was promptly honored. When we returned to our room the first night, we discovered a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room from the manager...lovely treat. The room was immaculate and comfortable. The location is excellent: right by Canal and St Charles streetcar lines, a couple minutes walk to Bourbon Street, a PJs Coffee next door, walkable to WW2 museum. We would definitely return. Thank you JW Marriott for a memorable stay in the Big Easy!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Comfortable stay

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Centralized location with intuitive and knowledgeable staff. Very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent location!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Location; housekeeping services are 5-star. Very quiet, even in the center of a lot of activity and inner-city attractions.
Cons: Decor update; quit nickel-and-dime-ing on Internet access, which is now as basic as a room telephone--and more important. Bring back mini bar!
Location: Superb. French Quarter, downtown/convention center, shopping, riverfront and easy transportation options are essentially just outside the door
Lovely lobby, excellent staff--esp. bellmen, concierge and housekeeping. Rooms need updates--carpet unattractive and torn, wall coverings old and dull. But super-clean. Just not the kind of accommodation one would expect at premium prices--and no free Internet even at hefty rates. All in all, it's a standard Marriott room--with the "JW" exclusivity noticeably absent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet spot in the heart of the action!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: comfortable beds
Cons: It seems there was a mistake on our last night and staff kept calling to verify if we had been asked to move. We hadn't . It was annoying.
Location: everything NOLA
respite during a very busy weekend in the quarter.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Mar 29, 2017
While this wants to be a premier hotel, I found it to be antiquated and overpriced. Allergic to the sheets and pillows, extensively cracked caulking in shower/bath, could hear the phone conversation in the next room including the voice on the other end of the line, and extra charges for basic internet access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located, nice rooms

Posted Mar 28, 2017
It is on Canal Street we easealy moved to French Quarter and the Riverside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati ohio

Had to change rooms due renovation noise

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Manager gave me a suite for my troubles the day shift Mr sofit and it was nice the room that is.