Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose

Charming hotel on St Charles Street

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Charming, comfortable bed, across the street fro a St Charles St trolley
Cons: Dual pane glass windows would be nice and faster wifi.
Location: Great location.
We visited NOLA for a short stay. The Lafayette Hotel was near trolley car and food. NOLA is a great place to visit for food and music. We'll be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
I stayed here while attending meetings elsewhere in town. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westerville OH

Easily accessible to all areas

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Easily accessible to all the tourist and fun areas, as well as the trolley and bus transportation. Great price for our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frederick, MD

Nice location, close to the French Quarter

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: The rooms, staff, hotel condition, and restaurant were all very good.
Location: It's New Orleans - if you can't find something to do nearby then you must be in a coma :-)
I suppose the best thing about our stay at the Lafayette Hotel was that we got a free upgrade to a suite based on my Expedia status. Even without considering that, we had a wonderful stay. This is a smaller hotel and an older building, but it is very well maintained and has a comfortable 'old world elegance' to it. The suite was exceptionally comfortable and spacious, but I'm not sure about the size of the regular rooms. The restaurant downstairs is a highly respected steak house on it's own - a bit expensive, but top notch food and service. I really enjoyed the location of The Lafayette, it's only about a ten minute walk from the French Quarter (on the way to the Garden District) so it's close and convenient, yet far enough away to be quiet and peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Lovely hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The staff, my room, the location
Location: Many restaurants, a grocery store, a CVS, WWII Museum, easy walk to convention center.
This was my first stay at the Lafayette Hotel. The location is great - I was able to walk to many different places. The hotel is an older hotel, but I found it to be very charming. I loved my room! It was very spacious and clean, the bed was very comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful - particularly the bellmen/women. The staff went out of their way to make my stay pleasant and successful. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The price is right

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Nice restaurant down stairs and in walking distance
Cons: It would have been nice to have water bottles in the room and/or a mini fridge to store drinks or snacks
Location: It was close enough to everything but not crowded with people.
Very comfortable and clean. Can walk to the convention center or Bourbon Street in 15-20 minutes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Lobby needs update

Posted Jan 26, 2017
First impressions matter - hotel lobby and check in left us wondering if the room would meet our expectations. the lobby definetly needs an upgrade - paint & new furniture - just looked old and run down. Staff did not offer to take our luggage up to our room. Restaurant / bar not open. Otherwise our room was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Kyla B, Hotel Management
Hi Lisa, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to exceed the expectations of our guests, but we apologize if that was not the case during your stay. Please know that your comments have been shared with management. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in New Orleans.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Historic hotel in a great location!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Location: Walking distance - 5 blocks or so from the convention center.
We loved the hotel's location. The restaurant had delicious food and a reasonable happy hour. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was that we are from Florida and for some reason, the hallways of the hotel were seriously as cold as a meatlocker! We wore our jackets out to an event thinking it was cold, but it was not cold outside. It was just freezing in our hallway. The rooms were very spacious and clean, just a bit on the damp side. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Location is convenient. Restaurant and bar seemed nice although we did not try them. Hotel is generally a bit outdated. Bathroom was not very convenient with no counter space. Overall an ok experience for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MA

Incredibly friendly and helpful staff!

Posted Jan 19, 2017
The staff was incredibly kind and helpful! The hotel itself is cozy and clean. We stayed here for a week and have no complaints at all!