Ratings based on 840 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Close to bars and food

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Stayed two nites and went on Frenchman st to bars and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great accommodations in the French Quarter!

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Clean & spacious!
We enjoyed the ease and convenience of parking our vehicle close by, as well as the fact that it was gated. Not to mention that the fee was very reasonable! The staff were very helpful with suggestions of great places to eat! The availability of fresh fruit was a nice touch!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Great location. Friendly staff. Pretty courtyard.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, room, courtyard.
Cons: Soundproofing between floors.
Location: Restaurants & bars 1 block East on Frenchmen St. Short walk to streetcar & bus lines.
Charming old building & courtyard. Loved the downstairs room with cypress floors until someone moved in above wearing hard sole shoes. Sounded like a horse walking around. Probably common with most old buildings. Decent flat screen tv with great channel listing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Would have preferred to stay on the main property

Posted Jan 30, 2017
This was our first time visiting New Orleans and we have been told multiple times that the French Quarter can be a scary place, so we were very nervous. We chose Lamothe House because it was beautiful, close to everything we wanted to visit, and offered gated parking (only $20 per night). We also chose this hotel based on some of the reviews that had mentioned that there was a secure gate all around the property only accessible by guests with keys, which is true for the main property. When we booked our stay we were unaware that there was a possibility that we could get placed in a building across the street & behind the main hotel. If we would have known, we would have definitely requested to stay in the front area. The building across the street that we stayed in had a gate around it, but they were not enclosed, anyone off the street would have been able to walk right up to our bedroom door. Being a first timer to the area this made me feel very unsafe. If you are uncomfortable with this, I would recommend calling and requesting to be placed differently. The main entrance to the hotel and courtyard area are absolutely beautiful, you can tell that this place has history! The pool area was lovely. The staff was extremely friendly, and very helpful and accommodating. The rooms were charming and appeared to be clean. Over all we really enjoyed our stay at Lamothe House. I will definitely consider staying there again, but will be requesting to stay on the main property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Amazing and adorable! I would stay here again. The beds are super cozy!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Located in the French Quarter

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The hotel is a renovated old house. Not only it's beautiful, it is also well kept. Rooms are spotless and staff super nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Quiet/pleasant hotel close distance to attractions

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Private and quiet space
Cons: N/A
Location: I researched that there is the U.S. Mint nearby and an Art museum, unfortunately did not have a chance to visit. The busy french quarter area is close
I stayed at the Lamothe House Hotel for 3 days and really liked the calm and quiet atmosphere in this particular location. The hotel is walkable distance to attractions in the French Quarter areas- i.e. Bourbon Street etc, but since it was really cold the particular weekend I was visiting I used lyft and uber to navigate. The garden area with the water fountain and lounging chairs were quaint, unfortunately due to the cold weather I was not able to take advantage of the outdoor grounds. I loved the history behind the hotel, the grandeur room with the high ceilings and simplistic design, and the quaint and quiet atmosphere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The street noise made the vacation disappointing

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Nice staff
Cons: Could not even speculate
Street musicians and an open-air night club produced extremely loud music until 3 and 4 am and there was no respite from it. Had the costs associated with returning home earlier than planned not been cost-prohibitive, we would have let the hotel. When i telephoned to ask if the hotel was "quiet" i was assured that it was; while the hotel was not noisy, we should have been informed about the disruption in such close proximity (our rooms literally shook from the horns and drums beneath our sleeping area)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Historical hotel close to the French quarter.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
The hotel is an old house converted into a hotel. The feeling is like staying in a historical house with the amenities of a hotel. The room was big with tall ceilings and the bathroom was newly remodeled but the size of back them (big enough for one people at a time). In general the experience was great, but is not your regular Marriott or Best Western. Check the pictures before making a reservation. If you're looking for a flavourful hotel with a pass, this is a great choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Terrific location

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Location: Jazz!
Nice hotel with a New Orleans ambiance. A little worn at the edges, but all was very pleasing. The service was great and the location unbeatable. We were a stone's throw from Frenchmen's Street and terrific jazz and very close to the French Quarter as well. I would definitely go back and recommend to others.