Ratings based on 6,111 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over-rated local hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017
It was an absolutely horrible experience: First of all, they checked me in around 8pm about 5 hours after the time they were supposed to do, because they were behind the schedule for cleaning the room!!! It wasn't only me, many others were waiting in the lobby. Then, very rude/arrogant person at front desk (name:Brittany) without apologizing gave the key room to me with an angry face. No signs of trying to help the costumers. When I went to my room (# 526), it was smelling badly like paint, because they were renovating the some of the rooms around there, and the paint smell was all over that floor through the AC system. They said we don't change your room, because we have nothing available! I slept there and woke up with a very bad headache because of the paint smell. In the morning, despite their promises, they didn't change my room. I changed the hotel! The staff and the ladies at the front desk were the worst part of the story. I am surprised they have managed keeping their job there with such bad attitude!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel walking distance from the French Qtr

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Location and comfort
Although half of my floor was under renovation, the half in operation was in excellent shape. The hotel also has this cute tradition of offering PBJ sandwiches and coffee at 10PM in the lobby. You get to talk to other guests and enjoy a near midnight snack!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Good location, poor service,horrible bed

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Within walking distance to the French Quarter. Check-in was horrible, we stood at the counter waiting many minutes before anyone acknowledged us. Then was told to take one step to the right and the lady over there could check us in !! As she stood there the whole time we were waiting. Fire alarm went off the first night around 10pm. The auto message told us to go to the lobby and await further instructions. We waited 45 minutes in the lobby with all the other hotel guests and no one told us anything!!! The firemen came in and cleared the place, and only then were we told we could go back to our rooms. The lack of communication was unacceptable, there could have been an actual fire, we didn't know!!! Beds were uncomfortable and slopped away from the center. You actually rolled to the sides, must have not been turned for ages. Tried to call housekeeping multiple times, for towels or ice, and no one picked up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MS

Comfortable but not completely satisfied

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: I liked that they serve fresh PB&J sandwiches, fruit and hot chocolate every night at 10:00...kids and adults will love this!
Cons: Friendlier service in the front desk dept.,
Location: It is in a great location. It is within walking distance of great restaurants, the shops on Canal, the WWII museum, and the Audubon museums!
The day my family arrived, we were told that we couldn't check in even though it was 4:00 because the staff was not through cleaning the rooms from a big group that had recently checked out. Fortunately not long after I checked in they did get both of our rooms ready. The ladies at the front desk were not very accommodating nor were they very friendly. I did think the bell boy (Adam) was very helpful. When my husband and I got into our room and inspected it, overall it appeared to be clean and in order...until we inspected the toilet area more closely:( It had not been properly cleaned and still had the last occupants' fecal matter on it! Also they were obviously doing some renovations to the upper floors which caused some delays in water. Other than the initial encounter when we arrived, I was overall pleased with the location of the hotel and the accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Elegant New Orleans hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: European Old-World charm, very comfortable rooms, great staff
Cons: Room recently renovated, needed a few spots of touch-up paint in the bath. Drain was slow in tub. All attended to by the staff.
Our stay at Le Pavillon was memorable. It oozes Old World charm and elegance, with statues, crystal chandeliers, large portraits, and attentive and personable staff. The room was nicely appointed and recently renovated, and had easy chairs that were remarkably comfortable. The bed was high with a riser and thick mattress, and (for us who are shorter in stature) hard to get into, but once you're in, you don't want to get out... very comfortable. The restaurant is located in the ballroom on the main floor, and we spent a good amount of time just taking in the view of the large portraits and fine paintings all around us. We enjoyed the continental buffet breakfast, with tasty oatmeal, grits, fresh fruit, muffins and pastries (there were also custom-made omelets for those so inclined). The highlight of the meal was another couple who got up and danced on the ballroom floor to the Frank Sinatra songs playing on the sound system. The hotel is located on the edge of the business district and is convenient (with a little drive) to the Warehouse district and the French Quarter, and just down the street from the Superdome. They have valet parking, which is parked in a lot next door with 24-hour security. It also has friendly and knowledgeable concierge and front desk staff. Overall, a most enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend Le Pavillon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Beautiful Hotel by the Quarter

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Location: Very close to the French Quarter. Felt completely safe walking everywhere, even at night.
Great location and beautiful hotel. The staff was all very friendly and helpful, and the room was always kept clean. Only stayed for 3 nights, but wish I could have been there longer! The late night pb&j's with hot chocolate are a cute tradition. Definitely would return to this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach VA

Beauty and the Beast

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: The lobby décor and the bed was very comfortable
Cons: Water issues.
Location: Within blocks of Canal Street. Great location but again water issues are bad.
The hotel is beautiful and the staff very friendly. However, this hotel has some serious water issues. Morning of our first day the water was cut off and husband didn't even have a chance to take a shower before we went out. Even after the water came back on, there is little to no hot water, as it was lukewarm at best. We'll definitely be at another hotel when we stay in New Orleans again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
The PBJ at 10pm was really nice, didn't like that there was only two elevators. The parking was pricey.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The hotel is really old. My first day I didn't have hot water in a shower. In the last day I didn"t have a water at all! Overpriсing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO Hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Vintage, historical hotel. Comfy beds.
Cons: Front desk staff are very arrogant and unwilling to help. Our wait staff at the pool was wonderful!
Location: Close to everything and far away enough from Bourbon street noise.
Lot's of bogus charges on our account. The employees at the front desk are very difficult to work with.