Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Best place to stay in NOLA

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Great location & different from a hotel.
Cons: Have something that you could watch on TV that would tell you about the history of the place.
Location: great location walking distance to restaurants and trolley is close.
I only stayed there twice now & every time I will be visiting NOLA I will be staying here if available. Very quiet easy parking walking distance to restaurants safe area great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from baton rouge

Like staying at a rich friend's house

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Good rating on privacy and security. Great complimentary breakfast, snacks and water. Staff was friendly. Nice restaurant/bar downstairs. Awesome location. If you are a traveller and not a tourist, you'll like it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Had a fantastic stay. We were just a short walk from the st charles line so we were able to get around easily. The room was absolutely wonderful and the staff super friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Eccentric Hotel close to ST Charles St.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Very unique Hotel; exterior plantation with massive columns, interior fine antique furnishing's. Had enormous bed and claw foot tub, breakfast served daily, walking distance to WW II museum, and Blind Pelican!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Could of been nice. BUT...

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Very pretty, Owner and manager pleasant and informative and Restaurant excellent
Cons: Cleaning staff should know what rooms need to be made up and leave fresh towels daily , breakfast on time and supplied.
Location: In Garden District. Lovely to walk around in.
Was supposed to get lovely Moulin Rouge room with large bed. Was told damage in room. So our upgrade was a business suite which looked like a hotel room. Queen size bed was only furniture in bedroom due to size. Bath was tiny with shower, there wasn't even a toilet paper holder in it. First 2 nights NO one made up the room or gave towels.No one around so we learned to check for empty rooms (the very lovely ones we could of been offered). and take those clean towels. When I finally caught one of the girls to complain she was rude. Really I even had to ask for tissues. I also asked for fresh fruit for breakfast due to those grapes were close to being raisins.2 days later there were oranges. Breakfast was supposed to be a 8. We were lucky if it was set up by 8:30. Was told by owner, there is coffee 24/7 but never any Keurig cups, also told cookies and brownies. Not even a crumb for proof. The owner and manager were very nice. But didn't see them after first 2 days. So had to deal with the unpleasant staff. Best part: The restaurant below the mansion was Excellent, food was outstanding and staff awesome especially Angelle.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Disappointed Anniversary Weekend

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Not much.
Cons: The attentiveness to the A/C issue.
The mansion was nice, but would not recommend it to anyone. We arrived Friday afternoon and the room temp was warm. We complained to the staff, and they looked at it simply saying it would cool down. The bathroom did not have any toiletries, the walls had mold and the paint was peeling. It was not well kept. The temp did not cool down by the morning, our sleep was very uncomfortable. We went down stairs to notify the front office, no one was there, there was a post it note to call a specific number and leave a VM. We did, we arrived later in the day to talk to the office to find out if they worked on the air, only to find out no one heard the VM. Fortunately the room was a lot cooler, but by 5:30 in the morning it was warm again. I would not stay there again, I didn't have a pleasant stay as some of the other reviewers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dirty room, but charming location

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
I tried calling several times over multiple days to learn details and discuss bag drop-off. No one ever answered and no returned my messages. The room was extremely dirty. There were bugs, worms, and even a lizard in the room. The worms on the bathroom floor made it difficult to use the facilities. The bed was very old and rickety. The continental breakfast was very nice, and there were plenty of pastries and snacks during the breakfast time. The exterior of the building is very pretty and the neighborhood is wonderful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing experience but great location

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Disappointing service. No hot water for tea, blow drier didn't work, creepy towels, minimum toiletries, needs major upkeep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
This is the worst place I have ever stayed no breakfast couldn't control air conditioner froze was moved from booked room to a lesser by manager because of supposed sewer problem three other people said same thing happened to them but every room was full worst place I've ever stayed nothing but lies!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Great stay! Close to everything and highly recommend.