Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Not what I expected

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The location was fantastic! I did enjoy the ambiance of the hotel, even though we didn't stay in the main house. The manager was very nice.
Cons: Offering more refreshments (at least water in the water cooler).
Location: Magazine street just 10-15 min away: French quarter was a 30 min walk away. Beautiful garden district!!!!
The location of this hotel was fabulous! We were within walking distance (we like to walk a lot) of nearly everything we wanted to visit in town. The room itself (a courtyard room) was simply ok. I booked through expedia, and was unaware that it automatically booked us for the courtyard room, which is outside in the "old servants quarters." While the room was somewhat quaint, it was not was expected or worth what I paid for. I definitely felt separated from the house, and at times truly felt like we were truly in the servants quarters--employees often sat at the patio table outside of our room for breaks/to smoke, etc. The air conditioner in our room did not go below 78 (and it was a warm/humid time), and while we brought it to the attention of the hotel staff it did not get fixed. Breakfasts were mediocre, some pastries from a local bakery, but not a pleasurable assortment. Coffee and OJ only for refreshment--the water cooler was out of water during our entire 4 day stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Great house in an awesome location, but starting to need a bit of repair. The staff was nice enough, but not being owner-operators, they lacked the warmth of traditional B&B. Oh and breakfast was lackluster -- bagels and instant grits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great staff!! Awesome rooms!!!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Awesome time in NOLA!! Quiet for sleep but close enough to have fun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Magnolia Mansion, fun experience

Posted Mar 6, 2017
We had a great time. The Mansion is close to street car access. No need to drive down town. Parking was nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Little Rock AR / Bordeaux FR

Historical place without quality expected

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Hotel in an old mansion and well located near St Charles tram with an easy access to downtown. Easy to park in the neighborhood. The mansion is beautiful and well preserved. Our room #14-4 was located in an extension on 1st floor near the restaurant kitchen ... with the smells, the trash and some times the noise. Access to the room was not cleaned and not welcomed ( cleaned the day after) The room is poorly equipped with no class (chair needed to be screwed what I have done, no lamp on a side of the bed (if you want to read ... need to negotiate with your body), no place in the bathroom to put your staff, ...). No information about this room in the web site ... but a lot of photos of beautiful other ones. Breakfast very limited in choice (a few better on Saturday). We travel a lot and it was the 4th time we went to NO and we tried a place out the classic hotel brands ... bad choice !!!
4 out of 5
by Jacob

Nice location

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
We got a courtyard room to save some money and I wish I would have paid the little extra. The rooms out there are like an after thought and very poorly executed. The room had not been swept and beds were okay. The thermostat is perhaps wired backwards. The house itself is gorgeous and the location is great. The staff was friendly and overall my stay was good.
5 out of 5
by Mrz Peachez from South Carolina

Nice Mansion

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
It was OK but there was no parking and it was pouring down raining we walked 2blocks and was hungry Cuz we didn't was to move again
3 out of 5
by Robin

Good location.

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful grand building ... 1857. Room in mansion itself spacious but quirky -- weird decor, designer tub impractical. We are spoiled by conveniences of least of the chains in comparison. Private owners trying hard but old building a challenge. Room lights so dim we had to use phones light to see, seriously. But it was an experience. We got free bkfast and free parking. Convenient to St Charles trolley. Neighborhood very safe for walking. That's ok for 2 nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Room was without water glasses to use the "free tap water"! As indicated by receptionist.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Best place to stay in NOLA

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Great location & different from a hotel.
Cons: Have something that you could watch on TV that would tell you about the history of the place.
Location: great location walking distance to restaurants and trolley is close.
I only stayed there twice now & every time I will be visiting NOLA I will be staying here if available. Very quiet easy parking walking distance to restaurants safe area great location.