Ratings based on 1,072 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as good as last year

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Although it's location next to a trolley car stop & numerous Garden District attractions this hotel has aged since last year. Parking rates and pricing is ridiculous for such an aged facility. This place definitely needs to be upgraded....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Staff was nice. But room was small and very dated. No extra comforts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Wonderful location. Friendly staff

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: The top location, very reasonable rates and cleanliness.
Cons: Staff knowledge of tours and activities.
Location: French Quarter - everything really
Some of the staff need to be a bit more careful about advising us about tours. Especially the swamp tour which I thought included Cajun swamps, not the Missippippi Delta. Also wrong times for a Natchez Dinner Cruise. Luckily we turned up early, otherwise we wouldve missed out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Quiet rooms and excellent breakfast.
Use this hotel before and after a cruise. Excellent location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, Washington

STAY AWAY!

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: ALL OF IT!
There was blood on the sheets, blood in the bathroom, and standing water in the bathroom, all found after housekeeping was in the rooms. Rat poop was all over the rooms. We booked 3 rooms and had 2 cars. Parking was $25 a night, advertised as $17 a night. It took them over an hour to respond to complaints of the blood. There were bed bugs in all the rooms. I was told the general manager would be reaching out to me, but never did.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Maison St. Charles Hotel and for taking the time to send a review of your stay however I must take exception with 2 of the issues that you raised. This hotel has an extensive pest control program with weekly spraying and treatments due to the nature of our setting with exterior corridors that open up onto multiple courtyard settings. There are no bedbugs in rooms at this hotel and certainly not in the 3 rooms that your group occupied. Additionally there was no evidence of any "rat poop" in any of the 3 rooms that you occupied. I am the General Manager of the Hotel and have searched for records of any attempts to reach out to me with these issues and have found none. You have raised some serious issues that we would respond to quickly and can find no evidence to support any of your claims. Yours in hospitality
5 out of 5
by Laura

Fab hotel!

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Family road trip. Had a great experience with the hotel. Staff were very polite and cheerful especially the lady at breakfast, who kept us well stocked with everything and a clean / tidy eating area. The beds were a little too soft for us and the shower wasn't brilliant in our room but it did the job. The hotel was well placed , close the #1 Lafayette cemetery where Anne Rice is buried and also some fabulous houses, etc if you like architecture. It took 15 minutes to walk into town but we could have caught the tram right outside the hotel. There are plenty of places close by to eat at of virtually any type of food required. There is also a Walgreens close by for incidentals. All in all very good value for money and would recommend to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Maison St. Charles Hotel and for taking the time to review your stay. Our talented and dedicated staff is truly the secret to our success and they go out of their was to deliver knock your socks off service to every guest every single day. Thanks for your time and we look forward to serving you on future visits to the heart of the New Orleans Garden District. Laissez les bon temps rouler!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2016
This place is nice. Close to everything. Nice breakfast and pool. I've stayed here 3 times with no problems each time. Will stay here again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Maison St. Charles Hotel and for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to serving you on future visits to the heart of the New Orleans Garden District. Laissez les bon temps rouler!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming and Convenient Hotel with Friendly Staff

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
This was my first stay in New Orleans with family members. The hotel was a nice quiet oasis with an inner courtyard and swimming pool next to a breakfast room. The location is very convenient to public transportation as there is a streetcar stop right in front of the hotel. We were able to take this streetcar from the Garden District to the French Quarter. The only disappointing part for my family and me was that our room was tucked into a dark corner so our only view was a wall instead of the courtyard. The room was clean overall but we did encounter a couple of roaches on our last day. With the negatives out of the way, however, the staff was wonderful and enhanced our stay a great deal. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, especially our parking valet, Thomas. While staying at this hotel, my car got a flat tire. Thomas made sure AAA was able to get to us and checked on us afterwards to make sure everything was OK. The free breakfast was adequate and located in a nicely decorated room that felt more like a restaurant. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Maison St. Charles Hotel. We are certainly proud of all of our offerings and love to show off our good old-fashioned Southern Hospitality. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to serving you on future visits to the Crescent City. Laissez les bon temps rouler!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Hotel Experience EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel has a hidden parking fee of $42/night or $50/night I can't remember which one."We don't have a public parking lot, so you either have to pay the nightly "valet" fee or find somewhere else to park. Our room was literally so small, everything was in 12 inches of something else. WiFi didn't work, hotel only provided two body towels, two face towels, and two medium sized towels for a two night stay with two guests booked, the bed was small, the closet was small, an old version of a microwave the hotel had in the room, shower has NO door, the toilet is six inches from the shower, no running hot water, the sink had two choices of water, either hot or hotter, some of the light bulbs in the light fixture above the mirror were out, and the decor was horrible. Definitely would never recommend this to a friend or anyone for that matter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Maison St. Charles Hotel and for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Many guests find our location and historic French Quarter Courtyards to be just the right setting for them in the New Orleans Garden District. We wish you all the best as your travels bring you back to the Big Easy. Laissez les bon temps rouler!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
Used credit card to secure room, but wanted to pay cash when I checked out & they wouldn't let me. Stayed there many times before. RIDUCLIOUS. ..manager was very cold & made me feel unwanted. Never smiled. Tried to charge me the 25.00 nite car storage, when I already got the 17.00 rate.at check iN.. also tried to charge me for 3 nites instead of 2. Room # 113. I might not stay there again .bathroom need some cleaning. Around bottom of toilet seat & tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Maison St. Charles Hotel and for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Unfortunately, on this stay because you had prepaid your reservation on the Hotels.com booking site, it was not possible for us to take cash from you and release your card which proved to be the issue at the Hotel. We appreciate your understanding and look forward to serving you again. Laissez les bon temps rouler!